We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel, and not bad price for location,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Certificate of Excellence
Sennybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel, and not bad price for location,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very good hotel i do not stay im many but most that i do are not as happy and freindly as here. Meals were very good and filling and the atmosfere was excelent due to the staff, even tho it was busy weekend . I was down for the fia truck racing and book quiet late was glad to get the room
.
Will definatly stop again and recomend to freinds

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    31
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
47
34
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the WSBK weekend and were really pleased to get booked up so close to the race track at short notice. We soon discovered why. On arrival we were ushered through the back offices as there was a wedding party. Food was only served Friday and Saturday evenings.On arrival we booked to eat at the hotel on the Saturday nignt. Food was adequate, but during the course of the evening we were asked to move seats twice as they were so disorganised with bookings. Considering they would have known it would be a busy weekend they had made no provisions for this which resulted in very poor customer service. We paid £120 a night and were made to feel like an inconvenience,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobaypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmerIsleyWalton, Manager at Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted that our next door neighbours, Donington Park have begun race meetings again. On Saturday night, I have to admit that our small kitchen and Aga were overwhelmed, and we will certainly put some improvements in place for the next big event. We do have bar snacks available each day from lunchtime and the full dinner menu from 6pm each evening. I can only apologise that you didn’t enjoy your stay, and that we were not better prepared for the huge volume of people in our farmhouse dining room. Rest assured, we'll be ready next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed her for one night as part of a wedding party in February 2011. The venue was great for the wedding with a good meal and a great hog roast in the evening…. My main areas of concern relate to the bedroom which for £140 I would expect in clean, fresh room t. Although my room was clean and very large (perhaps a refurb would make it in to 2 rooms), it was dated and definitely in need of a refurbishment. You are kept awake by planes taking off from East Midlands airport as the hotel is directly under the flight path..
There are very nice hotels in the vicinity, some are cheaper but most are up to date. Unless you’re using Donnington race course I would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank east9489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

The room was large with a lovely view across fields, though the furnishings are dated. However a comfortable bed and the aircraft noise is not frequent or too loud, even when sleeping with the window open. Breakfast was in a lovely room, plentiful food, extra toast not a problem and a bonus for me was the availiabilty of soya milk and gluten free bread. A real pleasure not to have to worry if there would be food i could eat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonemouse081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

This hotel is perfect location if you are attending the Donnington Park races or a stay over for a flight next day. Only a mile or so away. On driving through the main gates my immediate thoughts were lovely and rural, it felt like I was on a working farm. The hotel itself is a typical Farmhouse type hotel with a log fire, bar etc, their are a number of rooms in the hotel part and the remainder are annexes across the farm. My room was large, in the hotel part with a nice view of the Courtyard below, it also had a seperate sofa, the standard was quite dated (70s type furniture) but clean, bed was comfy. Breakfast was good, full English and my evening of meal of steak was very nice. The downside for me was because it was so close to the airport you get allot of plane noise, so on this basis I would only stay for a stop over and not a weekend break away with my partner. For other people this may not bother them, but been a light sleeper I struggled to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda7Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham south yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Stayed her for one night on 31st August, room was in need of refurbishment.. breakfast was a full English which we had to wait half an hour for, no cloths, napkins or cutlery on table... we had to request it after our breakfast had already arrived, the food was swimming in oil....at £130 per night it was a poor show! you are kept awake by planes taking off from East Midlands airport as the hotel is directly under the flight path..
Some friends stayed in campsite and found that too was expensive at £20 per night.. plus £1 for a shower!! there is nothing on the site to warrant this price..
There are very nice hotels in the vicinity far cheaper and up to date .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

After 10+ years in the international hotel / events industry it has been hard work finding a venue for our wedding that would satisfy my pickiness! We wanted somewhere which would give a 'personal' feel for our upcoming wedding and wouldn't be the same old bland conference room that many other venues offer. The Parkfarmhouse is the perfect wedding venue for us!

We also needed to ensure that we would be confident recommending this venue to our guests as a good place to eat and sleep as there are a couple of poor reviews on this website. So we checked out several rooms - all were of a high standard, rooms were very clean, the towels very fluffy, the beds were comfy, original features of the barn have been preserved in the bedrooms making it very unique. We didn't give advance warning that we were coming to do a spot-check so feel that what we were shown was the common standard.

We also had a fantastic 3 course evening meal (definitely recommend the smoked venison / steak) for a very reasonable price and would well recommend the food too. Staff are also incredible - polite and courteous to the end.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleycatNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isley Walton
1.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Address: Melbourne Road, Isley Walton DE74 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Isley Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run farmhouse hotel, set in 20 acres of beautiful land. Nineteen character, en-suite guest rooms. Free-to-use wireless internet. Log Fires in Winter, farmhouse suppers and bar meals. Licensed wedding venue and meeting rooms. Local produce used where possible, including Venison from own herd of deer. Park and Fly Packages available for East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel Isley Walton, Derbyshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing