We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$202
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$246
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,525)
Filter reviews
1,524 results
Traveller rating
703
522
192
75
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
522
192
75
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyew lodgeeast midlands airportspa breakmarco pierrespa facilitiesan early flightmarco's restaurantflight pathsteam roomcourse meallovely hotelhealth clubexecutive roomboth morningsfollowing morningwaiting staffpark and fly
Filter
Updating list...
1,488 - 1,493 of 1,524 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My partner and I have just returned from Yew Lodge, having taken advantage of their Easter weekend package, comprising three nights' bed and breakfast (Fri to Sun inclusive), dinner on Friday and Saturday and Sunday lunch. Although living reasonably locally, we saw the break advertised a few weeks ago when visiitng the hotel for lunch and decided that it was such good value that it would be cheaper than staying at home. We were not disappointed.

It is rare these days to find such a well-run establishment unless you are prepared to pay easily four or five times as much as we did. Everything from the courtesy and efficiency at check-in to the availability of a willing porter, the fact that staff would invariably stand aside to let you pass, and above all the efficiency of the tireless bar and restaurant staff was a credit to the hotel.

Our room was spacious and well-appointed with a king-size bed. The shower was a little less powerful than I would have liked, and it would have been helpful if the TV had had teletext so that I could keep abreast of the football and rugby scores, but that's nit-picking to be honest.

The restaurant menu was extensive and varied, with a competitvely-priced wine list, and we were offered the full menu despite effectively being on a bargain break. The standard of the food was very good and the service was prompt, obliging and courteous. Breakfast was a self-service buffet with a good choice of hot and cold food, which was regularly replenished so that nothing ever ran out even though the hotel was busy, and prompt service of tea, coffee and toast (which is where a lot of hotels fall down in my experience).

The hotel also boasts an impressive and immaculate leisure complex comprising gym, pool and spa, which we used on a couple of occasions.

We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Unfortunately, the fact that we only live a few miles away means that we are unlikely to become regular residents, but we'll probably go to eat there more often in the future as a result of enjoying our stay so much, and will certainly be on the look out for more deals that are too good to miss!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wykeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed here with my husband and our extended family to celebrate my sister's birthday. The rooms were a lovely size and nicely decorated and we found the food to be fantastic. The leisure facilities must have been refurbished recently - they are some of the best I've seen in a 4 star hotel - there was a large suana, large steam room, foot baths, pool and sitting area. The breakfast was really nice too.
We were allowed to bring our dog which we surprised at! - don't let this put you off though as the hotel is very well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_foulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

The hotel is dated. Generally used for company groups which resulted in the bar and restaurant being crowded in the evening. We arrived on Sunday evening and it was a lot quieter.
Food in the restaurant was excellent especially for the price, and the service by the staff was very good.
internet access at a reasonable price too.
We were travelling with our dog and were sent to the top floor, with a choice of only 4 rooms. The beds were terrible, we moved on the second night . Not much better. All in all, we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chill0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

A great hotel - fab service, clean and friendly.
The spa was just divine - pool great, jacuzzi soothing, steam room and sauna nice treat too. Towels given to you and roomy lockers. There is a spinner for your swimming stuff and bags to put them in too. Hairdryers and sockets in the changing room too for those who need them!
The food is delicious - but would not recommend for younger children. We did walk in to the village which was like stepping back in time. There are a few pubs and a restaurant called The Cottage which has an old fashioned menu but the food is great - well worth a try. The couple who run it are very helpful and make you very welcome.
The only downside was the lack of teabags in the room - but just ask and they will give you more.

Would totally recommend this hotel for all year - and the Christmas festivities were just lovely.

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheifpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This was my second stay at the Yew Lodge Hotel. The first stay was to celebrate a birthday and the second (this time) was to attend a ‘Grease’ night.

I’ll first write about the ‘Grease’ night for those that may be looking at attending that. I think the hotel could have done A LOT more for the £18 per person it cost to attend!
The food wasn’t the best and had very odd combinations (For example, the buffet main course consisted of Lasagne, Pasta, Chicken etc but no Chips/Potatoes or anything else to compliment!)
There was only a couple of Grease songs that played and most of these were whilst we were eating, not dancing.
The room wasn’t decorated at all, I was expecting it to be decorated like the hall in the film or something similar but apart from the 40% of people in fancy dress – you wouldn’t have known!
In summary, I would save your money and not attend this night.

Back to the hotel…

Positives – Rooms well equipped, flat screen TV, dressing table, trouser press, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, shower gels, sewing kit etc
Traditional/Quaint touches through the corridors

Negatives – Bed was quite hard, lighting in the room was too dim making it difficult to apply make up – even the bath room spotlights were too soft
Drinks prices at the bar were quite expensive
The staff seemed quite robotic

Overall I would rate this hotel and my stay 6/10

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews