We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshingly different to usual chain hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kegworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kegworth House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kegworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different to usual chain hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here very recently after a last minute booking to find a hotel in the area.

This is such a delightful place and far better than the chain hotels near by.

The welcome was warm and friendly. Very helpful.

My room was truly lovely and well appointed with all you would need. Amazing view into the walled garden, which was delightful.

I thought the breakfast 'farmhouse' style was great and especially when you're a line traveller was nice to chat with similar lone travellers.

Breakfast was super with a huge array to choose from and tailored to what you wanted.

Highly recommend especially over chain hotels close by.

A-rated service and 5* accommodation. Will definitely book if staying in the area again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juliana101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
79
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The welcome was warm the rooms unique. A lovely old building with character and style. We had a mix up with the booking where we were a 2 rooms short for one night, but the way the owners handled the problem is why I can not fault this guest house, everything was sorted with alternative accommodation in the town and we were not left out of pocket.
The breakfast is like sitting in a farmhouse kitchen where all guests sit around the same large table and you can pretty much have whatever you want, cooked right next to you.

If I am ever in the area I will be looking to stay here before anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Small and comfortable. Lovely greeting when we arrived, and a quick response to an email enquiry before our stay. We had one of the junior suites, nice room. Some noise from the traffic - but we are used to a very quite neighbourhood. Some noise from overhead planes going into land at the airport, but not really a problem. The hotel has an arrangement with the hotel around the corner so that we were able to use their gym, pool and spa facilities. We arrived at Keyworth House late morning before check in time - collected a key and then went to the spa for the afternoon - very relaxing sitting in the pool area. We also had use of this facility after we checked out and so spent the next day relaxing - the pool and spa were great. Breakfast was very good, excellent service and all freshly cooked - could not fault the service. The hotel does not offer evening meals, but there was a list of local restaurants - plenty to choose from. Unfortunately many of the restaurants we tried were fully booked and so it is probably worth making a reservation before going to the hotel. We ended up going to The Cottage in Keyworth, a rather average experience. Overall a very good stay in a hotel with real character, excellent service and lovely food, I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mickmickmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely small hotel, each of the rooms are decorated individually and thoughtfully, and were very clean, though not all have a bath. Nice touches included towelling dressing gowns, plenty of toiletries, and very yummy border biscuits.
The breakfast was plentiful and varied, with cooked breakfasts cooked to order. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms were very warm, and quite noisy with aircraft noise at night.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I hardly ever give 5 stars, 4 is my normal for excellent, but this has to be 5. Friendy, really clean, wonderful decor, fabulous breakfast cooked in front of you, a swimming pool 200 m down the road to use and a real ale pub with 7 different beers 100 m in the other direction ! Shame that I have only just stumbled across this after all my trips to this part of the world.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Supergrumpyoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice little place off a not so busy road (about 5 cars every 2 minutes).

Friendly place, got there early evening back in September 2013 the young adults said give us your order for breakfast as it is done fresh. so once in the room over looking the main road, my wife wrote it out and that was it!.

We went out in the evening and there is a security gate cool! when I got out the car to press the number a big gate was coming back help! I got back in my car and managed to get into reverse before the gate hit my car wow that was fun!

But enjoyed it! in a nice way.

Room with on en suite well I think more work can be done on that room as the on suit does not go straight up looks a little strange if your looking from my point of view.

We noticed planes coming over every 2 minutes late in the evening I must say 1 sounded like it was coming straight for us! but again did not bother me as when your asleep! your away anyway!.

In the morning the French chef with a young lady helper said 2 English breakfast !No we asked for smoked salmon with scrambled eggs! like to know where our sheet with our items went!.

Nice little breakfast room you all seat on 1 large table (being back at school!).
But it was a large table.

Opposite shelf was packed with plates and tea pots very decorative.

we were there 2 nights and was not far from the very small town and a nice bread shop opposite if your still hungry!

Nice place.

Room Tip: If you want a gym the guest house I think said it will be free and you can go down the road., I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, & had high expectations based on reviews on here. I was not disappointed!
I parked in the ample secure car park and was warmly greeted. I was shown to my room (room 1 I think). The room was warm and very obviously clean. There was tea / coffee making facilities and the wifi worked!
The owners pointed me in the right direction for eating and recommended local pubs. The recommendations were spot on.
the bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was followed by a freshly cooked breakfast! (Chain hotels take note!).
The service by everyone at Kegworth house was friendly without being OTT.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 :) - large comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kegworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kegworth House

Property: Kegworth House
Address: 42 High Street, Kegworth DE74 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kegworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kegworth House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kegworth House is a small Georgian townhouse, located within a small market village in the heart of the East Midlands. Conveniently situated just 5 miles from East Midlands Airport, East Midlands Parkway Railway Station and and 2 miles from J24 M1/A42/A50 and A453 enabling an easy commute to Nottingham, Derby and Loughborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kegworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kegworth House Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing