We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. The location is beautiful, the rooms are perfect and the owners are so freindly and helpful. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juni0r78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

My partner and I took a very last minute break and telephoned to book a room here for 1 night. We were looked after really well. Our room including the en suite was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bed was fab also. Breakfast was excellent. Hopefully we will be back one day!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertieb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and recommendations. It's always nice to hear when we do things right. Thanks again. Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I loved this place. The service was great, the price was extremely reasonable and the rooms were spacious, clean and very modern. Melbourne is a great city to visit and this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Coach House. Melbourne certainly is a great please to visit although it is more of a small town than a city. Thank you for the review and kind comments. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Excellent room, excellent breakfast, and a more than excellent welcome, and, at a great rate. Happy to concur with the rest of the reviews on Tripadvisor which quite rightly puts this up there as the best accommodation in the area. The Indian just down the road (Zeerah), and the Mileburne of course, also come highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrbowlerhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite correct, Melbourne has some great restaurants to choose from all within walking distance. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Myself,My Son & A FreindStayed Here for 1 night for the TOURING CARS AT DONNINGTON in April. I was so impressed I Brought my wife for our wedding anniversary & stayed for 2 nights good value very clean & superb breakfast Beverley is very welcoming. THIS PUTS MANY LARGE HOTELS TO SHAME! WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GloucesterPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and kind review. We are nice and close to Donington Park and so very handy if you are attending an event. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

me & my friend live miles apart & ever so often we look for a small hotel to meet up at,this means we both have so far to travel & the hotel has to be a reasonable distance for both of us, where we spend the weekend together do a lot of catching up.we go out for a couple of meals. this hotel lived up to our expectations & beyond,its clean, friendly the owners are more than happy to help you in any way they can.the rooms are a reasonable size & well fitted out.they have lots of info on places to visit.& places were you can go to eat at night.i can not really say anymore but would have no problem with telling anyone to stay there. excellent

Room Tip: they do weekend special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank punto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Being right in the middle of the country and with good road connections Melbourne is a great place to meet up. Here at The Coach House we have lots of ideas for things to do in the area as well as maps and walks for those that are interested. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We have never been to Melbourne before but will be going back for sure, the Coach House is an excellent place central to the whole town, plenty to see and do.

A very warm welcome is guaranteed.

Mr & Mrs White.

PS Already recommended to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r-white30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and also for the recommendation which you have already passed on. We are always pleased with word of mouth recommendations. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melbourne View Hotel
Melbourne View Hotel
#2 of 3 in Melbourne
256 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
6.6 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.5 mi away
Forest Court
Forest Court
#2 of 3 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular 4 star Guest House offering great value comfortable ensuite rooms and fabulous English breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Situated in historic Melbourne, just a short walk from excellent pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Located in The National Forest, we are close to 3 outstanding National Trust houses, Nottingham, Chatsworth, Twycross Zoo, EMA and Royal Crown Derby. Free wireless broadband and parking. Personally managed ensuring your stay is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Melbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing