We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good friendly welcome from Beverley - very helpful information given and available from leaflets etc. Stayed for four nights - Monday to Friday - good room, huge King bed (Room 2) - all you need is provided, plenty of drinks and biscuits in the room, we were even given fresh milk in place of the provided UHT milk. Huge fluffy towels and loads of little extras. Usual trimmings for breakfast and cooked breakfast provided to order with lovely fresh ingredients - scrumptious and filling.

Melbourne is a lovely historic town and worth exploring. Also a good base to visit many places around the area. A stay here is highly recommended. Wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 2 - huge King bed. On main road - no significant road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and kind comments. We aim to offer our guests a great Derbyshire welcome so that they keep coming back. There is a great deal to see in this area. Thank you again for taking the time to let others know about The Coach House. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
36
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and 9 other family members stayed here for my brothers wedding which was just down the road. To start of with Melbourne it's self is a lovely village. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Beverly (the owner) was very helpful and cooked the most amazing breakfast I've had in a long time ( especially the bacon ). They were also great with my 3 yr old daughter , toys to play with, her own little cutlery and Peter rabbit crockery at breakfast, all small touches but this is what made it great. Would highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozzawozza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your great review and kind comments. I always love getting out the Peter rabbit crockery and special chair when we have younger guests ( and wasn't she very good that weekend!) I'm so pleased that your special weekend went so well. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We came across this hotel because of delays at East Midlands airport. The hotel is close near by and the welcome, even booking at the last minute, was very warm and friendly. The service was excellent and the breakfast first class. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the coach house at Melbourne!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that we could accommodate you when the airport was closed down for 24 hours. So pleased you enjoyed your sort stay with us. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here on an assignment for a few weeks- and absolutely loved it!

Hardware is lovely- room is well appointed, bed is cozy and amenities are generous. Guests are welcomed to use the breakfast room anytime which saved the day on many evenings. However the real gem is Beverley the host- You know you're in good hands when the only complaint is she has given you too much food! She is always welcoming, accommodating every need and always going out of the way to be helpful whenever her help is needed.

Would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5x24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Well what can I say!!! Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do go for the home from home style. I really do enjoy my job! Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel was easy to find and a few minutes from the track. Beverley was very kind and a downstairs room made all the difference to me as I have mobility issues. Clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Would I stay again - indeed I would!

Room Tip: My son's room at the top front was a little noisy as the bus-stop was outside and people gathere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relationtothepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We do have 3 ground floor rooms and these can be useful for those less able as our stairs are a little steeper than some. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your break at The Coach House. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Fab B and B recommend by friends. Easy to find, located on the main road.

Very clean and comfortable, with nice touches: Good quality tea, coffee, biscuits and bathroom toiletries.

Owner welcoming, without being overbearing.

Yummy breakfast....would definitely recommend to others or stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also nice when people recommend us, word of mouth is a great asset to a small place like the Coach House. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came across the Coach House on Trip Advisor. Melbourne is a nice place and about 10 minutes from Calke Abbey. Donington race circuit and East Midlands Airport are also very close by. Anyhow, Beverly, the owner, is lovely and has lots of information to hand. The room was clean, comfortable and bed lovely. Just wish we could have stayed longer, next time will make it 2 nights. Finally, breakfast was good and filling, made with fresh good quality ingredients. Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WiccanWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. I am always pleased when people have enjoyed their stay with us. We aim for that home from home approach to keep you coming back. Thanks again. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular 4 star Guest House offering great value comfortable ensuite rooms and fabulous English breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Situated in historic Melbourne, just a short walk from excellent pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Located in The National Forest, we are close to 3 outstanding National Trust houses, Nottingham, Chatsworth, Twycross Zoo, EMA and Royal Crown Derby. Free wireless broadband and parking. Personally managed ensuring your stay is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Melbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing