We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Ranked #2 of 3 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

50p for a glass of tap water. Landlord said we had to pay for the water as a service charge (for washing the glasses) and because we had read his newspapers and say by his fire for free. We were sitting outside during a fine June evening with no papers and no fire! Ladies toilets were dirty, per on the floor in three out of the four cubicles.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Ripoff210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnThompsonInn, Owner at The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
After more than 20 years in the licensed trade, there are now very few “firsts”. Regrettably, your visit on Saturday evening was such an event!

As you were made aware from the outset, complimentary tap water is available at the bar, at all times, for our customers. However, individuals are not permitted to make use of our facilities for several hours, repeatedly demanding complimentary tap water, with ice & fruit garnish, without at some stage purchasing something from the bar.

Further to your written complaint to South Derbyshire Licensing Division and my subsequent conversation with them, I trust you have now been fully advised by the authorities of your ignorant conduct.

To gain entitlement to:
1) Make use of our property for numerous hours,
2) Raise your voices at our team,
3) Bark out your demands,
4) Protest your dissatisfaction with our service in the presence of other guests,
5) Write highly critical reviews on the internet,
Individuals must first show some intent of purchasing something from the business.

My reference at the weekend, in attempting to diffuse your conflict, to “newspapers & fires” was metaphorical. I suggest you look that up in a dictionary for future reference.

Regarding our toilets, you were at the premises for many hours, on a sunny Saturday evening, with a busy pub and an additional private function for 40 guests. I fully accept your reprimand for some wetness on the toilet floor. Had you complained about that also, we would have remedied immediately, regardless of our earlier “stand off”.

In conclusion, the business, its grounds & facilities (including complimentary tap water) are for the sole use of its customers. To qualify as a Customer, an individual is required to buy something from the bar!

I note this is your inaugural review on TripAdvisor, may I take this opportunity to welcome you to the on-line community.

Nick Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    25
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The John Thompson is an attractive family run pub located in lovely surroundings by the river Trent. It has a large car park, well manicured lawns and chalets for those who want to extend their stay.. Inside it is pleasantly decorated with plenty of seating spread throughout the establishment avoiding the feeling of being overcrowded. There is a good selection of beer, including some brewed on-site, and a good well priced menu. Our small party, including a young child all found something to their liking on the menu and thoroughly enjoyed the food. The Carvery was particularly praised for its ingredients and for being hot !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Been today for lunch absolutely fantastic food in a great friendly relaxing atmosphere Land lady and all the staff very friendly food is to die for . We have been several times and it's always good . The bread and butter pudding gosh yummiest ever tasted .
But this place is a secret so don't go telling everyone where it is . Must go again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've decided to 'add a review' about this place as we've enjoyed the John Thompson for quite some time now.
The pub is out in the countryside next to The River Trent.
It lends itself to really good walks if you fancy that kind of thing.
Both beer and food have always been 'spot on', whether its a carvery or a 'sandwich with chips' which for more often than not, is what we go for.
Staff are always 'on the ball', always welcoming and polite.
The brass shines, the fires burn and the general ambience of this place makes it one you want to return to time and again.
Keep it up

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodville derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Try to visit 2/3 times a week the best friendly public house for miles,my wife and I mostly have the roast beef carvery for lunch,great atmosphere great welcome from nick ann john,cannot be many places left that keep to this standard

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We are an ex-pat Derby couple who return to visit family and friends on a regular basis. How lucky for us that we found the JT. We love it and cannot speak highly enough of the standard, service and the cost of the cabins. We are almost made to feel like one of the family by JT, Anne and Nick. We will be returning in June/July 2014 for our fifth visit. The JT is our home when we travel back to the UK from NZ Thanks Nick and team.

Room Tip: Cabin is better than a hotel room. Like a little house with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've been going here for a long time now, mainly on Sunday nights to drink the place dry, but occasionally we'll pop over for lunch which we did last Friday. We knew that the lunchtime food is of very high quality and good value, and, of course, it was.

What always impresses us about the JT is how attentive and efficient the staff are. Nick has drilled a very tight and efficient staff team, we saw his Dad sawing the logs for the fires, that have the customer as the sole focus. No staff standing idly behind a bar here, and when serving you they don't talk to each other ignoring you as some local pubs that we have visited tend to do.

Food service was very quick and the whole emphasis is on consistent customer service, some other pubs could well take note of how well this place is run.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
2.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
8.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Staff of Life
The Staff of Life
#1 of 2 in Ticknall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Thompson Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Property: The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE73 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Melbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing