We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After ten years ....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harpur's of Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harpur's of Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“After ten years ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

3 ex-work colleagues met up in Tonge nearby to do some catching up.

The friend who lives in Tonge wasn't sure where to take us for lunch. But Harpours was open so we decided to give it a go.

A good choice and although they stop serving lunch at 2.30 and it was nearly that time, lunch for 3 was no problem.

We had main courses of 2 pasta dishes and haddock fish cakes - all were lovely. Staff were asked if they could change the menu to exclude the ciabattas with the pasta, one for a salad and one for vegetables. This was done without any problem.

The bill with drinks and coffee came to around £16 each.

The dining area wasn't busy but I imagine in the evening it has a real buzz.

For those who need to know - disabled access was fine, access to the smart toilets (ladies) was without steps and had an automatic lighting system. I can't tell you about the gents!

Decor is very smart and the staff are lovely and very attentive without being intrusive.

We sat on for some time with our coffees and there was no rush to get rid of us.

A lovely relaxed lunch catching up with old friends.

I'd certainly go back - and wont leave visiting Melbourne for so long next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, delighted you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
34
62
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Went in last Monday to try the £5 pizza night and have to say it was worth the travel. The pizza's we're all really tasty and although they didn't have tiger prawns, the lady who was serving us came straight out and said sorry and offered us normal prawns and they would just put more of them on, there was no need as the pizza was great just the way it was! I will recommend this place not just for pizza but for the whole menu!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Delighted you enjoyed the pizza, please keep an eye out for our forthcoming events, November 14th is our first Jazz Supper, great live music and food for only £15
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We went to the Harpurs for a late lunch and were unlucky as they were just about to stop serving their lunch time menu. However the staff were great and managed to squeeze us in. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and the food was great. We look forward to coming back for an evening meal sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpurs, Owner at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks, always happy to get everyone fed even if we are busy, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I cannot praise this place enough! We had a fantastic evening last week... the staff were all very accommodating and happy to deal with some very fussy eaters in our party. The chef created some mouth watering food that blew us all away once again! The atmosphere was very lively and we had a very enjoyable drink in the bar before being seated. Cannot wait to return to the Melbourne for a family meal and show all my family what a gem of a restaurant that I have stumbled across in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpurs, Owner at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for your continued support, see you on Steak night on the 26th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner and I were celebrating our anniversary and so decided that we would eat at Harpurs. Having visited once before we were looking forward to our return visit but had high expectations considering that our first trip was so good.
After a quick drink downstairs in the bar which was lively and cheerful we went upstairs to the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and were able to seat us in the corner (as we had requested) in order for us to have a little more of an intimate evening. The ambiance was fantastic, the music playing seemed was subtle and perfect and the candle lit lighting seemed to make our evening even better. Despite being out of the way the staff never once neglected us, making sure that we had everything that we needed. I have to comment on the drinks, the bar man defiantly deserves a pat on the back because he more than surpassed our expectations when we ordered cocktails!!!
When the food arrived it was simply delicious, we both ordered the steak and it was just a fantastic cut of meat cooked to perfection. I cannot praise the chef highly enough!!!
After the beautiful deserts we went back to the bar for one last drink which was a perfect end to the evening sitting in the relaxed bar.
Over all the whole evening was superb, the staff seemed determined to make our experience on our special occasion as lovely as possible. Their attention to detail was fantastic and the food was delicious.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a romantic evening as it is one of the most romantic restaurants i have ever been too. We will certainly be returning, defiantly for our next anniversary. Thank you so much to the Harpurs staff, you made our night unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thanks for your review, delighted you enjoyed your evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We were having a nice Sunday roasted in this restaurant. Foods were in decent portion, good flavour and in good price too.

I had the chicken liver parfait for starter, although it was slightly over seasoning, but the parfait was in fine texture! The portion of 3 selection meats of Sunday roasted could be more generous a lil bit as the additional supplement charges have already applied! Vegetables could have more varieties instead of the carrot/leeks/potato ! We had the Chinese leaf, sweet potato, parsnip, char etc served in others Sunday roasted before.
I had spring berries brûlée for deserted and it was beautifully done as the caramelised sugar on top and soft bottom.

Truly enjoyed eating integrity restaurant and staff were friendly!

Check my pictures :D

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SummerHeat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Many thanks, great pics too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went here for something to eat. The decor was modern and had a nice warm feeling. The staff were friendly. The food was nice and very well presented. I had the broccoli soup for starter which was nice, if had been broccoli and stilton it would have been better. For the main I had the roast beef which was very nice. The selection of veg in the side dish got with the meal could have been better not much choice. For pudding I had the lemon sponge and vanilla custard which was very nice. Overall the meal was very nice and worth the price. The atmosphere was good.

I would recommend going here if your in the area and looking for food

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Great review, see you again soon hopefully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
10.0 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.3 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpur's of Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpur's of Melbourne

Property: Harpur's of Melbourne
Address: 2 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England (Formerly The Melbourne Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harpur's of Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harpur's of Melbourne is situated in the heart of Melbourne in South Derbyshire close to East Midlands, Donington Park and the M1, M6, M42 network. The warm welcome from our staff will ensure your experience will be one to remember. If you are looking for accommodation our rooms are modern, warm with a decor that will make your stay feel like a special occasion. See rooms for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harpur's of Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harpur`s Of Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Harpur's Of Melbourne Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing