We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2014 stay at Harpur's of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harpur's of Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easter 2014 stay at Harpur's of Melbourne”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Melbourne is a pretty little market town very conveniently situated only a few minutes drive from East Midlands Airport. Harpur's is in the centre of the town and has free parking which is handy. It is a pub with accommodation overhead. Everything was clean and comfortable, a very comfy bed and lovely fresh bed linen. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had fish and chips on one of the evenings while I was staying there and it was delicious. The breakfast was fine, nothing special but fine.
There is regular livce music at weekends and there was a good atmosphere in the bar at night. There are some really nice places to eat in Melbourne and it's situated in lovely countryside, all in all a place well worth visiting and ideally situated for a most enjoyable break, be it for some shopping, nice food and drink, walks in the surrounding countryside or a combination of all these things.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    41
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
34
63
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent bar stroke restaurant in the heart of the village.

No particular highs or lows other than to say that the food is consistently very good unlike other local establishments. It does what it does extremely well and has a good mix of local regulars and out of town visitors.

Have just had a Sunday lunch with a group of 10 and the price, service and quality would be hard to match on the whole.

It's the place to be when visiting melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossminsterCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Many thanks, come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There was eighteen of us came for a meal to celebrate our Dads eightieth birthday on Saturday 18th January 2014.Although we had a good night as a family get together and enjoyed the food i have to say it could have been hotter,and the rest of our group was disappointed in the soup coming out without the rolls and we only had two dishes of veg for us all which we did have to wait for until we asked for more,by this time we had pretty much eaten our mains.I have to say there was three of us came for a meal Tues January 21 and it really was excellent.We will come again i just wonder if maybe getting the food up to the table quicker and the veg and rolls came out with the soup and mains it would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Lardos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Decided to take my husband for a champagne breakfast to celebrate his birthday. Have been to various restaurants in Derby in the past for champagne breakfasts and Harpurs is, without doubt, the best. From the imaginative and creative fruit starter to the locally sourced ingredients for the English breakfast this four course breakfast with champagne is exceptional. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your review, look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This review is a little late! I came with my family for Sunday lunch, 27th October (see what I mean) and we had a fantastic meal, couldn't fault it, we do come in regularly to eat and drink as live locally and love the place. The only thing I would say is, we were sat downstairs and our table was near the bar, it got quite busy with drinkers and they were stood right next to our table in fact trying to put drinks on our table. We felt it would have been better if the staff had shut to double doors so that diners were just in this area as there was loads of room in the bar for people just drinking, just needed the bar staff a bit more alert maybe. But our overall experience was Fab.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you Ruth, yes agree sometimes we do get busy and the bar can overspill onto the downstairs area, please let us know next time and we can seat you upstairs in the restaurant -
01332 862134
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We ate at Harpurs as part of a large family meal which took up three big tables. Due to numbers we had ordered meals in advance and the choices were fairly limited as could be expected but plenty of variation offered to cover all requirements.

The starters were fairly small in quantity but the sauce on my mushroom was very tasty indeed.

Mains were served quite promptly after we had finished the starters and I got chance to see all items on the offer. I had the platter which was a selection of meats with beef, pork and turkey. It was accompanied by a couple of roast potatoes and a large Yorkshire pudding. Vegetables were served separately in a bowl and were brussel sprouts, parsnips, carrot and leeks. They were prepared looking 'natural' and just lightly cooked. They were fine for me but for those that prefer softer veg it wasn't so pleasing.

Desserts were excellent and I had opted for the stem ginger pudding which was accompanied by a flat piece of brandy snap. Adventurous and very tasty!

As it was a few days before Christmas we were visited by Father Christmas and a very attractive female elf! We all got chocolate coins and then sang a few carols to him to put us in the Christmas spirit. After he departed we played a great game where we sang 'The twelve days of Christmas' with pairs of people singing each section.

A great event and a fantastic start to what we hope will be a wonderful Christmas and the start to a great new year. A place I would be more than happy to go again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks Mark for your kind review, hopefully see you over Christmas for a pint or two????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had heard very good reviews from close friends about Harpurs regarding the quality of the food and the accommodation, I believe there is also live music most weekends. The rooms were very clean and modern and the food was excellent. We combined the break with a 5 mile walk picking up coffee shops and public houses on route whilst enjoying looking in the many gift/craft shops in the centre. Harpers seemed very popular with a nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend Harpurs

Room Tip: Read reviews regarding noise from the bar, I used room 4 on the very top floor and had a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanshep, Manager at Harpur's of Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks Pete, come and stop with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
124 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
753 reviews
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
3.9 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
309 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpur's of Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpur's of Melbourne

Property: Harpur's of Melbourne
Address: 2 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England (Formerly The Melbourne Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harpur's of Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harpur's of Melbourne is situated in the heart of Melbourne in South Derbyshire close to East Midlands, Donington Park and the M1, M6, M42 network. The warm welcome from our staff will ensure your experience will be one to remember. If you are looking for accommodation our rooms are modern, warm with a decor that will make your stay feel like a special occasion. See rooms for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Harpur's of Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harpur`s Of Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Harpur's Of Melbourne Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing