We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donington Den

Double Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double Bedroom
Kitchen from Dining Room Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Double Bedroom
Kitchen from Dining Room
Bathroom
Lounge
View from rear garden
Designer Wardrobe
Dining Room
Conservatory
Bathroom
Front of Donington Den
Corner view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill A
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay at Donington Den. Our first impressions of the property, were that it was clean and modern and had everything we needed for our short stay there. We visited Nottingham, Burton On Trent & Ashby de la Zouch whilst we were there. Nottingham is brilliant! we will definately be going back there again on a future visit. We didn't manage to do the wheel (like the london eye) as it was school hol's and very busy, but that's on our 'to do' list next time. Thanks also for the welcome pack on our arrival, much appreciated. We will be back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzycroc
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay. We spent 5 weeks here in November and December whilst visiting family and friends. The owners were so accommodating and helpful. The bungalow was spotless on our arrival with a widespread amount of kitchen equipment, crockery etc. The addition of Christmas decorations over the festive season was such a thoughtful touch. It was quiet but close to the beautiful village of Melbourne. I would not hesitate to recommend Donington Den nor to stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
575Gerry
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely modern, comfortable place to stay within easy reach of many places of interest. every amenity for a short or extended stay. as ours was.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamBevan2...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“A clean, comfortable home-from-home”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owners are lovely to deal with, really accommodating and welcoming.
The house was great, with lots of the things included that make it easy to settle in (washing up liquid, loo paper, shower gel, tea bags ect) It was also spotless with useful storage space. As a family of four, it was perfect for us and we had a very low-stress holiday!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos119...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely lovely cottage, very relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Melbourne is a lovely little village, very good chip shop, some lovely walks, and a decent pub. Cottage was perfect could not fault it, very quiet area apart from the planes but even they were not too bad. Definately will return to Derbyshire, lovely part of England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely little garden to sit in, my dog loved this
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLPerr
Chelmsford
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Donnington Den with our two young children aged 1 and 2. The property had everything we needed, was very comfortable, clean and attractive. We planned to use the property as a 'base' and go out every day, with a big trip to Cbeebies Land at Alton Towers (which is 50mins away). We hadn't realised how beautiful Melbourne was and used one of our days walking around the quaint shops and tea rooms, looking at historic buildings and viewing the gorgeous gardens at Melbourne Hall. All within walking distance of the property. There is also a mini supermarket less than 5 minutes walk which came in very handy!
A pleasant stay in a lovely property in beautiful Melbourne. We hope to return again and would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluejoni2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We had to cancel but the service was Excellent”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Truly appreciated the wonderful way in which our cancelation was handled and that the owners really tried their hardest toensure they could refund us as much as possible and with no fuss at all.

It was so disappointed to cancel our holiday but dealing with owners like this is so nice and we hope to be able to stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing