We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful quirky cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shottle, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EssieLou
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful quirky cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in May as a couple plus dog! This cottage is absolutely beautiful, immaculately clean and full of great little touches and all the mod cons you'd ever need. The huge round bed was very comfortable, the views over the fields were amazing and the garden out back was lovely. We had a great few days here and would thoroughly recommend it! Short drive to village supplies and great position for loads of lovely walks (and walking guides provided too!) Very friendly owner, we hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rotherham
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ipswich
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HARROGATE
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LintonWoo...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic little barn conversion.”
Reviewed 24 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We chose Spout Barn for our annual February mini break because it is within 40 miles of our home and pet friendly. We initially booked for three nights but managed to arrange an extra night at the last minute after a change of plans and paid cash on arrival. The cottage really isn’t difficult to find if you don’t panic. Head out of Belper towards Ashbourne on the A517, after about 2 miles turn right on Lambhouse Lane (narrow) towards Shottle, drive through the village and carry on for another mile or two and you will encounter a clutch of farm buildings and you are there! Look for a small sign in the hedge of a two storey building on your left.

On arrival we were impressed at how well appointed and clean the cottage is. Everything is open plan and modern. The kitchen has everything you need, including a washing machine. Downstairs there is a small dining area, TV with freeview, local tourist maps/books, free Wifi and a comfy sofa. Upstairs is an unusual round bed, wardrobe/drawers and a bathroom with shower, loo and a bath big enough for two! There is also a cd player with excellent acoustics due to the high ceiling. There is an enclosed back garden but be wary because a pioneering pooch will escape without too much difficulty. There is under floor heating and radiators but can be a little cool when the heating is off. We found a thermostat but no way of controlling the timing.

In terms of a base, Spout Barn is ideal to explore the southern Dales, Matlock, Bakewell etc. Wirksworth is only a short drive and from there you can access all major routes. There are supermarkets at Belper (Morrisons/Co-Op), Matlock (Sainsbury) and Ashbourne (Waitrose/Co-Op). There are many pubs and restaurants within easy reach if you prefer to eat out. We were happy to go on a long walk each day, return at around 4pm and prepare a nice meal ourselves before settling down for an evening of relaxation.

All-in-all, we would recommend Spout Barn to all walkers and dog lovers who want a comfortable base for a break of 3 – 7 nights. We even took our cat and she was quite happy!! Spout Barn does have its own website so you can book direct if you prefer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banham Norfolk
Reviewed 6 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing