We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great service, lovely location and well thought out nicely decorated rooms, tasteful. Would recommend, very romantic although quite pricey nice for a one off, breakfast nice and all organic. Hot tubs amazing and really comfortable beds, such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    38
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
212
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just got back from one night at this luxury B&B. Went there for our second anniversary. we had a day at the Spa cabin then stayed in the gorses room over night.

The Spa cabin had everything you needed for a relaxing day, the food platter didnt look massive but we couldnt finish it and it tasted amazing..

The bedroom had a 4 post bed and was pure luxury... Breakfast was great as well.

to the neigh sayers. yes its expense and i wouldnt go every year but if you want to treat yourself or someone you love there is no better place.

Ps staff are great as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

After a lot of hoping we got lucky with Last Minuit booking at Dannah in the ecclebourne room for the weekend
The room was amazing the staff were friendly and it's still the best breckie I've ever had! :)
Can't wait to return again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Dannah farm is a real gem.
Although, it was a little tricky to find- Dannah Farm was a brilliant hotel.
We stayed in "the Gorses" - which had a georgeous four poster bed, a sofa, two televisions, a coffee machine and a bunch of other cute things that made it cosy, homely as well as unique.
We were greeted on our arrival by a lovely lady who welcomed us so kindly and offered us any local information that we may need.
We were also able to watch a DVD from the hotel's DVD collection.
A massive highlight was the breakfast. The food was simply divine. The home made bread was just perfect and the fried bread was out of this world. All the ingredients were locally farmed and delicious. The portions were also very generous.
The service was also impeccable.
Well worth a visit. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMyer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked the Red Room at Dannah farm for a last minute overnight stay on the 11th July. The girl I spoke to whilst making the booking (Laura, I believe) was very helpful and friendly.

Dannah Farm is in a great location; we went to Dovedale the next day whiich was not far so it is great to use as a base. We found Dannah Farm easy to find and received a very warm welcome. I had arranged for a bottle of bubbly to be placed in the room and it was with plenty of ice and two glasses which was a great treat.

The room was lovely, clean, well furnished with a fantastic bathroom. I have noticed other comments regarding beds being too soft which I must admit is not a problem with the Red Room. I don't like a soft mattress either so would recommend this room for anyone with reservations.

The breakfast was lovely; we are vegetarian and there was plenty of choice.

I would seriously recommend Dannah Farm to anyone and we will most certainly be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just got back from our second stay at Dannah Farm. Last time we stayed in the Granary Suite (with it's own hot tub) this time it was the Wilderbrook room a real delight.

The bathroom in the Wilderbrook came complete with a huge jaccuzzi bath, a cute hideaway shower and even had the decadence of a tv!!
The bedroom was wonderfully cosy and the bed very comfortable and the separate lounge had two huge sofas, gorgeous table and fireplace and a feeling of complete luxury.

We ordered a platter each of the evenings we were there and as before found the food plentiful and delicious with lots of lovely little side dishes to add to the cheeses, cold meats and lovely warm bread.

We loved the attitude of the staff and owners who were friendly without being intrusive. On arrival we noticed there was a couple of litters of kittens just outside the kitchen area. We were encouraged to play with the kittens as much as we wanted and there was lots of friendly banter about whether we would take one home or not (sadly we were sensible and decided to decline the offer...hoping the last little black kitten would find a home soon!!)

So many other lovely aspects, far too many to mention, but these include huge and tasty breakfasts, beautiful scenery, plenty of DVDs, books and a fab selection of local information are a few of the things we loved.

Please ignore the negative comments on here this a truly wonderful place and you will not regret booking a visit here. We will be back as soon as we possibly can. It's a real gem.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were excellent. The Granary Suite has a fabulous hot tub that is not overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarePhillips42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed last night in the Studio Hideaway at Dannah Farm, what beautiful accomodation and the hot tub is the bees knees. This morning the veggie breakfast was to die for! Highly recommend Le Mistral restaurant in Wirksworth too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenie060175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shottle
4.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
964 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
262 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
187 reviews
14.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,299 reviews
6.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Property: Dannah Farm Country House
Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle
Dannah Farm Country House Shottle, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing