We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for that special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from spending a very relaxing night in the Studio Hideaway. Very cosy with a lounge area with spiral staircase leading to a low beamed bedroom. Very clean and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble from the booking, to tea and scones being offered on our arrival that we enjoyed on our private decking area in the sunshine. The stunning supper platter was amazing served with homemade bread an assortment of meats, prawns, cheese, pasta salad, olives, green salad and fruit. The private hot tub was a lovely way to enjoy a drink whilst the sun went down and even though it rained on us it didn't put the dampeners on the experience. The bed was so comfortable and the full English breakfast was incredible and served in a lovely dining room.
Beautiful location, very remote with stunning views as you travel down the neighbouring lanes.
Would certainly recommend and would love to return for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Studio hideaway is lovely for a night or possibly a weekend may be a bit small for longer period, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked three nights at Dannah Farm after our wedding this May and we had the most fantastic time. We stayed in the Ecclesborne Suite and also booked the spa cabin as part of a three night package, which gave us that added luxury perfect for a honeymoon! The champagne and chocolate strawberries were an added treat and made the perfect accompaniment to opening all our lovely wedding cards and gifts.

The suite was so comfortable and the location of the farm is so picturesque surrounded by small country lanes, perfect for a nice walk in the sunshine. The breakfasts are immense, with a range of options and the portions will leave you stuffed until dinner!

If you are looking for things to do in the area the owners have provided a host of information on local walks and wildlife as well as places to eat and drink. We fully recommend a walk around Carsington water, a real ale in the Bulls Head and dinner at the Italian restaurant that was recommended in the guest information- hands down the best pasta dishes i have had in a long time!

Thanks for everything,
Nina & Paul

Room Tip: The Ecclesbourne Suite was a great option as the Red Suite was not available when we booked. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from 2nt romantic break booked for our 10th Wedding anniversary. On arrival we were shown to our suite, the Ecclesbourne, and made to feel welcome and relaxed straight away. We were brought coffee and cakes (scone, lemon drizzle, shortbread) on arrival which were still warm and delicious. The room was everything we thought it would be and more. The bed was so comfortable and for the first time I managed to have a good nights sleep (never sleep well when away usually). We had a private sauna which we didn't use but it was a nice addition to the room. The spa bath was amazing and well used during our stay and my only gripe is that I don't have one at home. Everything was so clean and well equipped. All needs were catered for. We had the option of sitting in one of the two sitting rooms downstairs, one with an lit open fire which was lovely after being out in the rain on the Friday evening. Breakfast was the best we have ever eaten when being away from home. All local produce of the highest quality with homemade breads and preserves. Ample amounts to the point of bursting :). We booked the evening meal on Saturday from one of the recommendations from their site, Angelo's New Inn, Milford and again that was one of my favourite meals to date.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough for a romantic break and will definitely be making a return visit. Go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If they are all like the one we had then there will be no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieMackie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband booked the Granary Suite for our anniversary as a surprise.
The suite was stunning, with private hot tub, a huge jet bath and walk in wet room.
We had champagne on ice on arrival which was nice. The place was spotless!
The people were very friendly and managed to make us a "Supper Platter" at very short notice. This was delivered to our room, dead on the time we asked for. When it arrived, we were both stunned, homemade bread, a beautiful selection of all different meats, cheeses and pasta dishes at a reasonable price.
We had an amazing time, they house is stunning and the grounds are fabulous.
I never wanted to leave, wether we were in the hot tub, big bath or the super comfy bed, it was just aaaaaah-mazing! Feeling very relaxed and spoilt!
Will be booking for another romantic trip away again soon, i hope!
Needless to say this venue comes with the best rating I could possibly give.

Room Tip: Granary Suite came with private hot tub, recommended !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay at Dannah Farm was wonderfully luxurious without being remotely pretentious. We stayed in the Chatsworth suite which was perfect for us travelling with an 11 year old (who was delighted with her room and 'princess' worthy dressing table alcove). Our room had an extremely comfortable bed and a fabulous en suite bathroom. The lounge was great for hunkering down and watching dvds.
We went for a walk on arrival (helpful maps provided), and had tea and home baked cake brought to our room when we got back. We had the supper platter delivered to our room in the evening which was an absolute must have - gorgeous salads, cheese and meats and freshly baked bread.
The breakfast was great as well, all freshly cooked and local produce - the apple juice and damson jam from the farm were a lovely addition.
Everyone we met was extremely friendly, helpful and approachable - including a couple of farm cats and the pigs!
Even though we were only away for one night, and it was a local trip for us as Derbyshire residents we felt like we had a really good break away from the daily grind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulalou39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Fantastic stay in the Studio Hideaway. Incredibly comfortable bed, amazing breakfast and beautiful surroundings. We ordered the Platter for the first evening, it was absolutely delicious... many thanks to Jean. I can't recommend highly enough for a chilled relaxing break. I just wish I had remembered to ask where they got the reed diffuser's from... they had a lovely aroma.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

considering I knew nothing of this trip my better half had organised for my birthday it was a delight to spend time there, the only downside was we had to leave.
The staff were very helpful, nothing being too much trouble, Kay mentioned on being showed around the apartment that she thought the hot tub was indoors, within minutes of Joanne checking us in she rang the phone asking if we needed to be relocated into another suite. Spending time later in the tub in the pouring rain under an umbrella was the best most surreal birthday experience I have had,brilliant.Food platter brought to our room was more than enough, quality and well presented. Breakfast in most places I have stayed seems to be either quantity or quality never both, well this place is the exception, I wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone, and if you are the sort of person who likes to surround yourself in a relaxing homely environment with lovely people with good wholesome food then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: from my observations all rooms are good but I promise to return and book a different rome and advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbeerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price Range: £174 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle
Dannah Farm Country House Shottle, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing