We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read here for the size of the Ecclesborne sauna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dannah Farm Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Read here for the size of the Ecclesborne sauna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely time, lovely room, lovely situation, it would have been nice to stay longer to do a little more other than enjoy the room - apparently there are circular walks from the farm and you can take the dogs for a walk, sounds lovely. Nice suggestions for days out too. We knew this would be the place for us as previous bad reviews criticised the 'hands off' management. Indeed we were left in peace on our lovely romantic weekend exactly as we hoped. That is not to say that we didn't receive a warm welcome, and the owner enquired at breakfast if all was going well, so we had ample opportunity to ask for anything we needed. There is also a phone in your room to ring with requests. Why people would need more was a mystery to me!

One thing I wanted to know before our visit and couldn't find in other reviews was the size of the Ecclesborne sauna. Described as 'bijou' I was worried it would be a squeeze. But it's comfortable for one, you can't lie down but can sit with your feet up and your back against the wall. Two can fit side by side if you know each other well ^^ Not much room to move but it's cosy. We are quite large too so smaller types should have no bother :D

This is a very expensive place for us (they almost lost a star for price but I couldn't do it in the end!) but if I were rich I would not stop until I'd tried every room. We had a lovely weekend and will almost certainly be back, but might be a few years before we can save up again. The breakfasts are splendid and will last any person of normal appetite for lunch as well. Very much recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Ecclesborne is a good bet as already contains a sauna and very relaxing spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    38
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
209
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked 7 of the rooms here for us and our families for the nights before and after our wedding in May. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive and the rooms were traditionally 'farmhouse' yet beautifully appointed.

My brother and sister in law had The Red Room and there was plenty of space for their children to sleep on camp beds in the room. Myself and my husband had The Granary which was stunning and it was lovely being able to relax in our private hot tub!

The food was superb. There was a vegetarian, a vegan and 4 coeliacs amongst us and the choice at breakfast for all of us was brilliant. The gluten free sausages were the best we've had! We also ordered the evening platter, expecting some cold meats, cheeses and some salad but what was provided was so much more- beautiful homemade lasagne, lovely fruity salads, fresh bread, prawns to name but a few things.

All 17 of us that stayed had a lovely time and it was a great way to spend the days after our wedding. We shall certainly be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KN190211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from spending a very relaxing night in the Studio Hideaway. Very cosy with a lounge area with spiral staircase leading to a low beamed bedroom. Very clean and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble from the booking, to tea and scones being offered on our arrival that we enjoyed on our private decking area in the sunshine. The stunning supper platter was amazing served with homemade bread an assortment of meats, prawns, cheese, pasta salad, olives, green salad and fruit. The private hot tub was a lovely way to enjoy a drink whilst the sun went down and even though it rained on us it didn't put the dampeners on the experience. The bed was so comfortable and the full English breakfast was incredible and served in a lovely dining room.
Beautiful location, very remote with stunning views as you travel down the neighbouring lanes.
Would certainly recommend and would love to return for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Studio hideaway is lovely for a night or possibly a weekend may be a bit small for longer period, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked three nights at Dannah Farm after our wedding this May and we had the most fantastic time. We stayed in the Ecclesborne Suite and also booked the spa cabin as part of a three night package, which gave us that added luxury perfect for a honeymoon! The champagne and chocolate strawberries were an added treat and made the perfect accompaniment to opening all our lovely wedding cards and gifts.

The suite was so comfortable and the location of the farm is so picturesque surrounded by small country lanes, perfect for a nice walk in the sunshine. The breakfasts are immense, with a range of options and the portions will leave you stuffed until dinner!

If you are looking for things to do in the area the owners have provided a host of information on local walks and wildlife as well as places to eat and drink. We fully recommend a walk around Carsington water, a real ale in the Bulls Head and dinner at the Italian restaurant that was recommended in the guest information- hands down the best pasta dishes i have had in a long time!

Thanks for everything,
Nina & Paul

Room Tip: The Ecclesbourne Suite was a great option as the Red Suite was not available when we booked. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from 2nt romantic break booked for our 10th Wedding anniversary. On arrival we were shown to our suite, the Ecclesbourne, and made to feel welcome and relaxed straight away. We were brought coffee and cakes (scone, lemon drizzle, shortbread) on arrival which were still warm and delicious. The room was everything we thought it would be and more. The bed was so comfortable and for the first time I managed to have a good nights sleep (never sleep well when away usually). We had a private sauna which we didn't use but it was a nice addition to the room. The spa bath was amazing and well used during our stay and my only gripe is that I don't have one at home. Everything was so clean and well equipped. All needs were catered for. We had the option of sitting in one of the two sitting rooms downstairs, one with an lit open fire which was lovely after being out in the rain on the Friday evening. Breakfast was the best we have ever eaten when being away from home. All local produce of the highest quality with homemade breads and preserves. Ample amounts to the point of bursting :). We booked the evening meal on Saturday from one of the recommendations from their site, Angelo's New Inn, Milford and again that was one of my favourite meals to date.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough for a romantic break and will definitely be making a return visit. Go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If they are all like the one we had then there will be no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieMackie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband booked the Granary Suite for our anniversary as a surprise.
The suite was stunning, with private hot tub, a huge jet bath and walk in wet room.
We had champagne on ice on arrival which was nice. The place was spotless!
The people were very friendly and managed to make us a "Supper Platter" at very short notice. This was delivered to our room, dead on the time we asked for. When it arrived, we were both stunned, homemade bread, a beautiful selection of all different meats, cheeses and pasta dishes at a reasonable price.
We had an amazing time, they house is stunning and the grounds are fabulous.
I never wanted to leave, wether we were in the hot tub, big bath or the super comfy bed, it was just aaaaaah-mazing! Feeling very relaxed and spoilt!
Will be booking for another romantic trip away again soon, i hope!
Needless to say this venue comes with the best rating I could possibly give.

Room Tip: Granary Suite came with private hot tub, recommended !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay at Dannah Farm was wonderfully luxurious without being remotely pretentious. We stayed in the Chatsworth suite which was perfect for us travelling with an 11 year old (who was delighted with her room and 'princess' worthy dressing table alcove). Our room had an extremely comfortable bed and a fabulous en suite bathroom. The lounge was great for hunkering down and watching dvds.
We went for a walk on arrival (helpful maps provided), and had tea and home baked cake brought to our room when we got back. We had the supper platter delivered to our room in the evening which was an absolute must have - gorgeous salads, cheese and meats and freshly baked bread.
The breakfast was great as well, all freshly cooked and local produce - the apple juice and damson jam from the farm were a lovely addition.
Everyone we met was extremely friendly, helpful and approachable - including a couple of farm cats and the pigs!
Even though we were only away for one night, and it was a local trip for us as Derbyshire residents we felt like we had a really good break away from the daily grind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulalou39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shottle
4.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
14.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
10.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Property: Dannah Farm Country House
Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle
Dannah Farm Country House Shottle, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing