We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dannah Farm Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spa Cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The Spa Cabin can be hired by the day while staying there or, if available, by non-residents like us.
Really good: private with sun loungers, hot tub, sauna, shower and lounge with TV etc
Lovely location, great service and delightful cold platter (extra).
A great anniversary treat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smotyndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    38
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
209
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My beautiful wife and I spent our 10th wedding anniversary with the wonderful team at Dannah Farm and what a lovely time we have had. I would strongly advise all guests to order the Supper Platter for your arrival as it is amazing and filling.....the breakfast is to die for with fresh bread made on the day....our little piece of paradise is the Studio Hideaway with the hot tub on the decking.

Thank you Dannah Farm team for wonderful hospitality and service.

Kevin and Alicia

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinCoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A beautiful working farm, where my wife and I were made most welcome by all. Fantastic scenery around the farm which is located down small quite country lanes. We stayed in the Studio Hideaway a lovely clean comfortable room with a private spa bath. I would recommend this place to all that want a leisurely relaxing few days away and heartily recommend the wonderful breakfast. The people are lovely, the area beautiful and the rooms comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanTaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

There is much to like and enjoy here, but what are they actually selling?

Farmhouse B&B? Well no, not really what one might reasonably expect. Yes, the local countryside is stunning and it is a farm, the business is primarily located in their old farm buildings. But it lacks the personal, friendly quality of such a B&B. They seem to employ masses of staff, but no sign of the owner.

On the other hand the rooms are of a standard you might expect to find in a "boutique" country house hotel and it's definitely not that either!! Yes, the prices are what such an establishment based in the Cotswolds would charge, but, ummm, actually it's based on a really rather scruffy farm yard, NOT a lovely little manor house or some such. Whilst they have excelled in decorating the rooms, they are dark and lack any views. No pretty garden or outside seating. Very limited, inadequate hospitality tray in the room. Yes, we were offered tea and cake on arrival, but weren't told it would be charged at £4.75 extra over and above the £220+per night of the room. They offer an honesty bar, but no complimentary water in the rooms! Yes, there are some very limited spa facilities, but there's also a substantial charge for their use. (By comparison, at my local lovely country house hotel, use of the very well equipped spa and pool is complimentary if you're staying there).

Breakfast? Well, again lots to like and just what you would expect from a nice farm B&B at half the price. At the rate charged, it just wasn't good enough. A help yourself table with juice, but not freshly squeezed/pressed, cereals, etc. Tinned grapefruit segments on display and a tired fruit bowl hidden at the other end of the room. A standard English breakfast, well cooked and use of excellent local ingredients. But for the price I feel they should be offering full service and a much wider menu choice (Egg's Benedict, Kedgeree, Pancakes, etc?) and such extras as pastries, croissants, fresh juices and fruit platters, homemade preserves on the table (not sticky jars on the side table) a much better choice of yogurts, etc, etc!

I would definitely visit the area again, but would not recommend Dannah Farm. The owners have created some beautifully decorated and well equipped rooms, but their charges do not accurately reflect what they're actually selling. This is a farm B&B with glamorous, but misleadingly well photographed bedrooms.

To give some perspective on my comments, we went on to stay at a Middlethorpe Hall, a National Trust Historic House Hotel at York. It was a quite exceptionally good experience at every level - accommodation, service, facilities and breakfast were all fabulous - and we were charged £160 for bed, breakfast and use of their spa. Which was £60 LESS than Dannah Farm Country House!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensett, Owner at Dannah Farm Country House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Oh dear - we do really try to make all our guests stays memorable and enjoyable, but have so obviously failed here, and can only apologise that your stay was not at all to your liking.
I do think that such an unhappy review needs a detailed reply and so here goes!

Firstly, I am so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful county and it is such a pity that you do not seem to have noticed our large beautiful gardens, packed full of herbacious plants in the cottage garden style with arbour and seating - and also our orchard with lovely views down the valley and again seating where guests often enjoy their complimentary tea/coffee and cake on arrival. The key word is complimentary - we NEVER, EVER charge for our welcome tray. (If guests later on in their stay order afternoon tea and cakes we charge £4.75 per person, but there is never a charge for the welcome tray).

Martin and I are - what you could call - "hands on" owners. The lady in the kitchen cooking breakfast is not staff - its me, the chap sat on the mower - mowing our extensive gardens (!!) - is Martin. As we haven't been away this year at all we must have been around on your visit. Having said that, as you have noticed - we do employ a lot of staff in order to keep our standards exceptionally high - all our "Dannah Farmers" are local and, as anyone running a business will tell you - staff is very expensive. I'm really sorry if you thought we were not "at home" but we definately would have been.

We are not, as you have mentioned - a "lovely little manor house" in the Cotswolds. We are a working farm and, although we try our best to keep the farm tidy, farms do come with machinery, farm buildings and occasionally even weeds and mud! However, this is, hopefully, balanced out by the fact that we sit amidst 150 acres of beautiful countryside, with lots of beautiful footpaths, idyllic walking - and large, lovely, carefully maintained gardens!

Most of our rooms are, in fact, in the main house. The ones in the converted buildings though tend to be the most popular as they are more "unique". The pictures on our website, do, I thikk, give a fairly accurate idea of what guests can expect in the rooms. They are all deliberately different as everyones taste varies.

I think, what for me stood out on this review was the comments on the hospitality trays we put in the rooms and the breakfast table with TINNED GRAPEFRUIT! Firstly, as a 61 year old I can honestly say I have never bought a tin of grapefruit in my life. We painstakingly fillet red and white grapefruit and oranges fresh for our breakfast table.

Personally I don't care for miscellaneous preserves that I don't know the origin of. I like to see a named jar of preserve so I know what I am eating. At the moment we have Duchy organic srawberry preserve, two varieties of Frank Coopers marmalade, Mackays Scottish raspberry preserve, Tiptree blackcurrant conserve, etc., etc, as well as two varieties of local honey and also Manuka honey on the breakfast table. I do also make my own jam but the damson has all been eaten and when I went up to the orchard on Monday to pick the blackcurrants for jamming, the blackbirds had stripped the lot! We use local "Langley Farm" yoghurt and this morning had - vanilla, mandarin, hazelnut, blueberry, rhubarb, black cherry, srtawberry and blackcurrant, as well as natural and a bowl of greek yoghurt.

Now to the "inadequate" hospitality trays. (Sorry but I am a bit niggled). I have just been into one of the rooms and the tray consists of: Wrapped T bags; breakfast tea, peppermint, camomile, green tea, decaf tea and a wide vaiiety of fruit teas. Sticks of Nescafe coffee plus decaf coffee, sachets of hot chocolate and horlicks, sticks of demerara and white sugar and also individually wrapped sweetener and biscuit. Also, each room has a Tassimo for fresh coffee with pods of Columbian and medium roast coffee. The milk is UHT, although guests can ask for fresh milk if they prefer. I'm not sure what else we could put on there?

Middlethorpe Hall looks stunning - but - their tariff for a double ranges from £199 to £499 so I would say bagging a room at £160 was an absolute bargain - let me know how you did it? The spa also looks brilliant but is, of course, for all guests to use. Our spa cabin is £99 for EXCLUSIVE use for the day, 12.30-9pm. It is set in its own grounds, has a large hot tub, Finnish Sauna, double steam shower, living space with flat screen TV, honesty bar, etc., etc. Guests love it as it is completely private, once booked, NO ONE ELSE can use it, hence the price charged.

To sum up and answer your original question, I believe we are selling a - hopefully - relaxing , unique stay in an un-fussy environment, amidst beautiful countryside on a working farm with stunning rooms and excellent food - and carefully maintained gardens - at a realistic price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room we booked was luxurious and comfortable. After watching television from the comfort of the jacuzzi bath we lounged about on comfy sofas and enjoyed the peace and quiet . The breakfast was gorgeous as was the platter we ordered in the evening. The staff were all very friendly and I fully intend to return to experience all the luxuries in each of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely time, lovely room, lovely situation, it would have been nice to stay longer to do a little more other than enjoy the room - apparently there are circular walks from the farm and you can take the dogs for a walk, sounds lovely. Nice suggestions for days out too. We knew this would be the place for us as previous bad reviews criticised the 'hands off' management. Indeed we were left in peace on our lovely romantic weekend exactly as we hoped. That is not to say that we didn't receive a warm welcome, and the owner enquired at breakfast if all was going well, so we had ample opportunity to ask for anything we needed. There is also a phone in your room to ring with requests. Why people would need more was a mystery to me!

One thing I wanted to know before our visit and couldn't find in other reviews was the size of the Ecclesborne sauna. Described as 'bijou' I was worried it would be a squeeze. But it's comfortable for one, you can't lie down but can sit with your feet up and your back against the wall. Two can fit side by side if you know each other well ^^ Not much room to move but it's cosy. We are quite large too so smaller types should have no bother :D

This is a very expensive place for us (they almost lost a star for price but I couldn't do it in the end!) but if I were rich I would not stop until I'd tried every room. We had a lovely weekend and will almost certainly be back, but might be a few years before we can save up again. The breakfasts are splendid and will last any person of normal appetite for lunch as well. Very much recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Ecclesborne is a good bet as already contains a sauna and very relaxing spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked 7 of the rooms here for us and our families for the nights before and after our wedding in May. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive and the rooms were traditionally 'farmhouse' yet beautifully appointed.

My brother and sister in law had The Red Room and there was plenty of space for their children to sleep on camp beds in the room. Myself and my husband had The Granary which was stunning and it was lovely being able to relax in our private hot tub!

The food was superb. There was a vegetarian, a vegan and 4 coeliacs amongst us and the choice at breakfast for all of us was brilliant. The gluten free sausages were the best we've had! We also ordered the evening platter, expecting some cold meats, cheeses and some salad but what was provided was so much more- beautiful homemade lasagne, lovely fruity salads, fresh bread, prawns to name but a few things.

All 17 of us that stayed had a lovely time and it was a great way to spend the days after our wedding. We shall certainly be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KN190211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shottle
4.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
14.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
10.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Property: Dannah Farm Country House
Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle
Dannah Farm Country House Shottle, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing