We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun Snotubing”

Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Swadlincote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a large leisure facility & dry ski slope providing Skiing, Snowboarding, Toboggan and Sno-tubing with a fully licensed bar and restaurant. We also have a brand new activity 'The Viper Slide' opening July 2012. We offer Lessons, Open Practice Sessions, Ski and Snowboard Clubs, Birthday Parties, Weddings, Christening and much more! Call our friendly and helpful staff for more details.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Fun Snotubing”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

4 of us visited here as part of a joint tobogganing and snotubing Groupon offer. We were given extra runs on the toboggan due to the climb up the hill for snotubing. Toboggan was fun but 3 - 4 runs is enough as its quite isolated and not great as a group activity. The run does go fast and does take a couple of runs to get your full confidence and go down at full speed. The snotubing is fantastic. Really good fun as a group. We went down all 4 linked, in 2's and individually. It is fast and the tubes spin so not for the queezy. Also the climb back to the top is steep so be aware of this. All in all worth the money we paid on Groupon but if we went back I wouldn't do the toboggan run again, would rather pay for the snotubing.

Final note, all the staff are very friendly and make you really welcome

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lozel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, great to see you had a good time at the centre and we hope to see you again soon. Keep an eye on our website for more offers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    80
    17
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Reasonably priced ski lessons made more affordable by joining their yearly membership scheme. Good teaching staff. Can get very busy at peak times and the building could do with a little updating but the kids enjoyed it and it was a good starting block for school ski trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Assistant Manger at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Hi Julie,

Thank you for your review! We are starting to give everywhere a lick of paint to freshen the place up.

I hope your children had a great school ski trip!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Girly day”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Took my 9 year old for a freestyle practice session. We had the majority of the nursery slope to ourselves as we timed it to avoid the student snowboarders having lessons!! Just like being abroad as the snow was thick and the sky blue. Who said dry slopes are no authentic. Fab hour with some proper mother and daughter bonding. Lunch was yummy and home cooked and the hot chocalates to die for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Assistant Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great you came when we had the real thing too!

Hope to see you again soon.

Remember Friday nights are half price from 6pm for open practice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked to go on the Family Fun Day which cost £26 per person. For this we had two and a half hours of skiing lessons in a group of 7 (5 of whom were our family), half an hour of tubing, half an hour on the viper and and an hour and a half of tobogganing. Lunch was included in the price as were the boots and skis. The staff were excellent; they were friendly and helpful. A great day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GNDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Assistant Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review.

Please to hear you had a great time on our fundays! We offer the same day for the next levels should you wish to progress further with your skiing!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great value and great fun! (Website lets them down though).”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We visited at the start of our half term last week and had a great time. They had a special offer on, £20 for half an hour of sno-tubing, 4 toboggan rides and a one hour ski lesson. It was very good value for money. We pre-ordered our lunch so that it was ready between our activity sessions and off we went. We had a fun-filled day there. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was good and reasonably priced too.
The only negative point is their website which is not worth having. No session times listed, just a number to ring. When planning an outing, it's nice to be able to look up the times and prices of activities so that you can plan your day. I appreciate that they don't want people to turn up and be disappointed if their chosen activity is all booked up but really........this is 2013......most places give the times available and the option of online booking.
That being said.....this is a great place for a family day out and we will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolocomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Assistant Mananger at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Hi

Thank you for your detailed review of our centre.

Febuary Half Term was the first time we had ran the Ski Combos you mentioned. They were extremly successful and hope as they develop further we will be able to add more details to the website. We are happy that you enjoyed your day so much and will centainly take your comments on board.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing