We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed children!”

Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Swadlincote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a large leisure facility & dry ski slope providing Skiing, Snowboarding, Toboggan and Sno-tubing with a fully licensed bar and restaurant. We also have a brand new activity 'The Viper Slide' opening July 2012. We offer Lessons, Open Practice Sessions, Ski and Snowboard Clubs, Birthday Parties, Weddings, Christening and much more! Call our friendly and helpful staff for more details.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed children!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We took our two boys back today at lunchtime and when we got to reception were told that we were limited to 2 runs each on the toboggan as it was busy! There were approximately 10 people waiting in front of us ( when you compare this to queues at Alton towers this is nothing!!). We had arranged to meet our friends there who have 3 children. When they got to reception they were told no more tickets were being sold for the toboggan as it was busy!!! (Approximately 3 people were behind us),So we forwent our two adult tickets to enable two of their children to have a go, leaving one very upset child!! My husband then went to enquire about the snow tubes and was told they were sold out for two weeks!!!!!!! There were approximately 10 people onthe tubes!!!,I would have thought businesses like this could not afford to turn down money in today's economic climate. I can't imagine how many people they must have turned away!!! If that's what they call BUSY then I dread to think what misery summer must bring. This experience of disinterested staff and dirty facilities make for a no go in the future. On the plus side it is great value for money if it's not too busy!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit on Saturday. Although the toboggan may have seemed relatively quite, all tubing was booked on Saturday which meant at least another 15 people heading down there within the next 15 minutes.

We try and make sure that pre-booked groups are not waiting too long down the toboggan and so limit or stop public toboganning at certain times. We did publish on our website last week that the centre was busy and to ring and check availability in advance.

All sno-tubing is fully booked until after 23rd February which is full to our capacity in line with health and safety restrictions and risk assessments although I appreciate we are not in the realms of Alton Tower queues.

I am sorry you felt our staff were not as friendly or helpful as you would expect, we generally get very good reports on staff through thr Trip Advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    80
    17
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent toboggan run for young children”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

It had been a couple of years since I had visited this venue, but it would recommend it for a short afternoon out. I took my kids, 4 and 6, for a couple of runs on the toboggan. They loved it! As along as you are wrapped up, for the outdoors, it is fine in the winter.

We were told to expect a long wait at reception, but the staff were efficient and we didn't wait long. The kids, and adults, loved it.

I would recommend it for a group of friends, or families as it is good value and relatively low key

Food is good, so you could book a meal package also

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a positive review about the centre. Please check our website and facebook site for future offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire, uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic flexible function venue with great staff and service”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I booked the Alpine Lodge function room for a 40th birthday party after looking extensively for somewhere with ample space and no catering tie that wasn't a village hall and was affordable. This was definitely the right choice. The space is perfect for a large party or reception with flexible seating and plenty of space to clear a dance floor. From the first time we went to look round til the wee hours after our party ended Gemma and her team were friendly, helpful and hard working. They helped us decorate, provided extra things we'd forgotten for our buffet like serving spoons, and were on hand at all times (both before via email and on the day) to assist.

You will go a long way in our area without finding a space this nice and with it's own bar and staff that you can bring your own buffet to rather than having to pay per head (although they do offer catering options if you prefer).

I'm so glad I found this place. It'll be my party venue of choice from now on!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fivenaughtycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our function room at the centre. Please think of us for future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tobogganing with Cub Scouts”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We took a pack of 26 Cub Scouts to use the toboggan that surrounds the dry ski slope. What great fun it was. The kids and the leaders loved it. We were going to book the tobogganing and food package but the restaurant had been already been booked out. This didn't deter us and worked out better for us. Will be definitely do this again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Annette,

Great to hear you all loved the toboggan, sorry we couldn't fit you in for the meal option this time around! Hope to see you back this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Toboggan run”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I come here around three times a year to use the toboggan that surrounds the dry ski slope. The children love it. The children can sit on your lap for you to take them on the toboggan if they are small enough (the staff will tell you if they are allowed on with you) The kids can not get enough of it. I cannot comment on the actual dry ski slope as I cannot ski, but there are a lot that can and they seem to enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-w20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Trevor,

Great review from you thank you! We have an open day on January 26th where toboggan is just £1.00 per ride and all other activities are also discounted! Hope you can all make it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing