We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, especially the birds of prey attraction”

Rosliston Forestry Centre
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Swadlincote
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place, especially the birds of prey attraction”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have attended twice recently and used the restaurant which is fine for regular food and drinks. The best bit was taking my son to see the Birds of Prey experience - superb and very professionally done by James. He knows his stuff and involves everyone present. There is a good variety of birds which usually culminates with the superb Golden Eagle. I recommend a visit to those who enjoy the outdoors or who would like to get close up to and learn more about birds of prey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanMartin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    90
    34
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent venue to walk of the sunday lunch”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Called in on passing and walked round the forestry, Lovely setting and sitting by the lake on a sunny afternoon was very relaxing
The cafe offered a variety of food and coffees
Will be making a return visit very shortly

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to take a picnic for Father's Day, we sat down near the children's play area so my two daughters could go and play. Unfortunately my youngest daughter wouldn't even go near the park due to the noise of two strimmers coming from it. At times it was like the children trying to play, were in the way of the community payback people who was cutting the grass! The noise was ridiculously loud so decided to leave. we had to walk past a chap cutting the grass as he was by the entrance, he didn't stop what he was doing but carried on strimming the grass! This really frightened my daughters because of the noise. We complained at reception about our visit as we felt the children's play area would be better maintained during the week, but the feedback we received was that community payback maintained the forestry centre every weekend and although it was inappropriate that they were doing the children's play area on a Sunday afternoon this is unlikely to change anytime soon! So if you want to take your children to a safe play area at the weekend this isn't the place! We will not be returning!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What an amazing place our daughter booked Falconery Experince for me and my husband the lady in charge of all these birds of prey so knowledgable. We were all able to feed and handle a collection of owls and hawks to include the newest 'trainee' Gomez can recommend this experience to anyone. The centre set in nice grounds with a cafe and play area for kids check out the summer activities well worth a visit ,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nocamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely place to go with the family nice walk great for dogs park for kids and indoor ball park. Birds of prey and herb garden. Also have fishing and lodges to stay in nice restaurant too very relaxing place well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosliston Forestry Centre also viewed

Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rosliston Forestry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing