We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break with dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I found this lovely country inn on Google, as I wanted somewhere to go for a short Christmas break where I could take my dog, and where as a single person, I wouldn't feel out of place. From the afternoon cream tea on arrival, to the excellent full English breakfast on my last day, I had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and made sure all the guests felt at home. Dogs were not just accepted, but welcomed - there were ten assorted breeds during my three days there. The food was superb. The rooms were chalets in the grounds of the inn, and the snow and ice made the approach to the reception and restaurant area a bit slippery so the shoes I had taken with me never got worn, it was boots all the time! Nevertheless I would thoroughly recommend the Dog and Partridge for their Christmas break, and will probably go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank armitageh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2010

We needed a place to stay nearby Alton Towers so we could make an early start and found this to be ideal. Our chalet had enough space and beds to sleep our group of 7 without feeling cramped in a mixture of double, single and bunk beds. The staff were very helpful at booking us in and showing where to park next to our chalet. The bar area is traditional and relaxing with a good variety of beer and wine. We had an evening meal here and found the menu choice good and table service for our party of 7 was attentive but not overly. The food was well cooked and nicely presented. If that wasn't enough we had breakfast next morning (included with our room) and this was once again well cooked and plentiful.

Overall this hotel suited our need for a one night stop over as it had a nice bar and restaurant which meant we all found something to eat for everyone in our party so once booked in, we didn't have to venture out again to find an eatery. It has a very homely and warm feel so would recommend it for anyone looking for a place that has a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxburgh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We travelled to the Dog & Partridge after a long day in Alton Towers, was very pleased with our room lovely decor, room was warm and beds were comfortable, really nice breakfast set us up for another day at alton towers,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank church1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Alton Towers with our 4 children (ages 8-16).

The Positives...
- Great location near to Alton Towers and the beautiful Dove Dale and the rest of the Peak District National Park
- They take dogs willingly AND are willing to walk them for you whilst you are out. This is a great service and one I have never come across in a hotel before. We had booked our dog into local kennels but would have taken advantage of this great offer had we known.
- The staff are generally happy and helpful
- The breakfasts are good, especially the 'continental' offering with smoothies and fresh fruit and a great range of cereals. The cooked breakfasts are a bit greasy though.
- Rooms which accomodate large families. Other than the very pricey Alton Towers hotels there are not any other local alternatives for families.

The Negatives...
- Our 2 rooms (1xdouble and 1x4-bedded) above the pub were tired and in need of updating.
- The rooms were also noisy with us hearing the clattering of breakfast being prepared before 7.00 am and the rattle of dinners being managed till gone 10.00 pm.
- the rooms were not ensuite, instead having a shared bathroom off the landing, albeit exclusively for the use of the two rooms. But one toilet is not adequate for 6 people.
- the only shower was attached to the bath taps with no wall holder nor shower screen, so no chance of having a shower.
- the food in the restaurent is very expensive (£11+ for a pizza or a curry, more for other dishes) and not great quality, though portions are reasonable. It is average pub fare at high restaurent prices.
- The rooms, given the quality, are expensive. We paid £175 for the two dated rooms with shared bathroom. Factor in the pricey food menu and it is an expensive date for average conditions.

If you have a dog this could be ideal given the lack of dog-friendly alternatives.
If you want to stay near Alton Towers there are few alternative options, especially if you have a large family.

However, unless you are visiting Alton Towers with a large family or are looking to stay in the Peak District with your dog, I would avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midlander222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The Dog and Partridge is a lovely, old fashioned English Inn off the main road just about 6 miles from Alton Towers. We arrived late at night after a full day at the park and although we were the Inn's final guests for the evening we were greeted as warmly as if we had been their first.

Despite our late arrival our hosts still offered us a delicious selection of soup and sandwiches from the bar menu and I have to say, did not hurry us at all to finish even though they must have been itching to get off to bed themselves.

We stayed in one of the chalets, two adults and two teenage boys. The room easily accommodated us all. Beds comfortable; bathroom lovely together with, the before mentioned, fluffy towels. Flat screen TV on the wall; tea and coffee making facilities; everyone was happy.

We all loved the decor of the main bar and restaurant - a welcome change from the usual corporate chic blandness of modern hotels.

As part of an Alton Towers package we couldn't fault it and would definitely choose to come back another time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The courtesy received when booking our short break continued when we arrived at the Dog & Partridge.

We were shown to our "chalet" behind the main building, the large bedroom (complete with double and single beds) was fit for purpose - plenty of room for two adults and our two Labradors. The bathroom, complete with shower, was perfectly adequate - no water pressure problems experienced.

We ate in the bar on the first evening, the meal was plentiful and well cooked although some items on the menu were pricey. The major disappointment was that only one real ale was available - a beer available nationally; so for the rest of the stay we ate and drank elsewhere.

Internet is not available in the rooms but only in the main building; also there are a number of steps to be climbed from the back of the building to the bar/restaurant areas.

The bed was comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room. Towels were change daily and the bedding was changed half way through our break.

Breakfasts were superb, a choice of cooked breakfasts together with fruit juices, yoghurt, cereals, toast and preserves. The staff were courteous and dealt promptly with any question/query.

The location is quiet but not isolated; I'd certainly recommend this dog friendly establishment to one and all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

When I drove past the Dog & Partridge I thought "oh NO!" It looked a bit run down.... How wrong was I? It was like entering an entirely different world when we crossed the threshold... The staff were friendly and very helpful. The interior very tasteful. The adjoining rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was an absolute feast of food and an optional cooked breakfast if desired (though it wasn't necessary to bulk up!) It is within 10 mins drive from Alton Towers and a perfect spot to eat and relax after a hectic day in the park.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Dog & Partridge.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Daff2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
1.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.9 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
16.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
2.3 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel

Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel Swinscoe, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing