We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Rockingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockingham Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a trip through the Peak District. Gill welcomed us and gave us some ideas on where to eat. We went to the Horse and Jockey, lovely food and friendly staff.
The room we stayed in at Rockingham Lodge was very airy, clean and newly re furbished. Nice touches such as toiletries, tea and coffee facilities and bottle water. The bed was nice and soft and we had a lovely sash style window to look into the village.
Breakfast was very filling with a choice of cereals, and full English.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecciS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The two of us planned to do some walking in the Peak District, and needed a place for one night. We liked the look of Tideswell, because we wanted a quiet village, not a town, and we chose Rockingham Lodge because it looked like it had character. We were right on both counts.

I can highly recommend Tideswell, it's charming, quiet, and there are plenty of places for good dining. I also highly recommend Rockingham Lodge. It's not large, there are three rooms available, but it's comfortable, has all the amenities, including wifi, easy walking distance from the shops, plenty of parking, and it's a good price.

Each of the three rooms is different, so I don't know whether ours was the smallest, the largest, or in the middle. But it was large enough. There wasn't that cramped or crowded feeling you get with some B&Bs. Our room had a good sized double bed and modern en suite. There was no chair in the room, but the Lodge does better that that. There is a separate sitting room for guests downstairs, with sofas etc, a selection of maps, books and walking guides, a very nice add-on for a B&B.

Breakfast was the traditional full English, well cooked, and with cereal, orange juice, toast and coffee or tea. You simply check off the items you want, and they are prepared for you ready at the time you selected.

All in all, a very worthwhile place to stay. We'll go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rockingham lodge has just had a refurb and the rooms look lovely, very light and airy.
It is a short walk to restaurants, pubs and tea rooms with the country walks right around the corner.
We had a very pleasant stay finishing with a tasty breakfast, definitely plan to come back with friends in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed with two friends at this hotel and didn't feel that the owner was very welcoming and talkative to us during our stay. The double bedroom hardly had any room to walk round the bed to get to the bathroom, and you had to turn side-ways to get past the end of the bed, taking care not to stub your toes on the gas pipe that was coming out of the radiator. The shower and toilet flush were very low pressure. The windows were dripping with condensation in both the bathroom and bedroom each morning. At breakfast, we felt that we were given the toast after the cereal as the cooked breakfasts were not ready, although they were pre-ordered the day before, and the norm is to eat the toast last.
It was not as we had expected after reading the reviews of the place.
On the plus side, we had toiletries and bottled water as well as tea and coffee in the room. The bed and pillows were comfortable and warm. We went out exploring Tideswell village and found a nice pub 2 minutes walk away where we ate our evening meal and were made most welcome.
The village is very quiet with just a few shops, but it was quaint and in a beautiful part of the Peak District.

Room Tip: Choose the twin bedroom as there's far more room than in the double bed room. Bedrooms are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellagio080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinghamlodge, Owner at Rockingham Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Following extensive alterations and refurbishments this room is no longer used as a B&B room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while on a walking holiday. The hostess Jill was very welcoming and friendly. She gave some good advice on where to eat in the village (we ate at the Horse and Jockey, good food, good portions). Room had everything we needed, slightly tight around the foot of the bed, but not an issue. Jill left us a jug of milk In our room so we could have a hot drink with fresh milk when we returned in the evening. Breakfast was very good. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We rented all three rooms at Rockingham Lodge for the night whilst on a walking holiday. All three rooms were lovely,clean, warm and comfortable.
Gill the owner and her friend did all that they could to make a lovely stay.
Breakfast in the morning was superb.
Tideswell is a lovely village but would recommend the mile walk to the Red Lion in Litton for the food and atmosphere.
This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Rockingham is everything a B&B should be. It has a lovely homely feel and is in no way pretentious. Our room had a huge and very comfortable bed. We were impressed at the nice touches - good toiletries, bottled water and biscuits. The hair dryer was so good I wanted to take it home. Very, very good value. A really nice 'extra' is the guest sitting room - so lovely not to be confined to your bedroom to relax. We also appreciated the walking books and the OS maps - much used during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthdaytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
6.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockingham Lodge

Property: Rockingham Lodge
Address: Market Square, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockingham Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rockingham Lodge ideally located for walkers or cyclists Rockingham Lodge is an Eighteenth Century former Inn Bed and Breakfast.There is a comfortable guest lounge, where wi-fi is available. A full english breakfast is included in the price or if you prefer lighter/vegetarian options are also available.All rooms have televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and most rooms have free wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rockingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing