We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peak Perfection!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Markeygate Cottages
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Booked both the Cottage and Barn in December for a Family get together. Firstly we had a great welcome from the owner who spent time with us and give us the 'local knowledge' tips.
The two cottages (one is called The Barn, the other Cottage- not the greatest of names!) are very different. The Barn is more recently refurbished and is decked out in boutique hotel style and very spacious with an upstairs galley over looking a private courtyard. The bedrooms are very separate -one upstairs and one downstairs which was helpful for our older members of the party! The kitchen is large and very well appointed with washing machine etc.
The Cottage is very different being styled as a more traditional cottage with beamed ceiling, wood burning stove (which was brill) and a small kitchen.Having rented both cottages for our large family gathering meant that we kept spending time in both cottages since they are positioned right next door to each other.
Both cottages were exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming.
The location is fantastic - right in the centre of the village of Tideswell and very private.Tideswell is in the centre of the National Park so is ideal to get to just about everything in the peaks.
We booked the cottages on the recommendations of friends who had also stayed at the Cottage.
The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a good time. We borrowed bikes from them (and they would not take any money) and the owners daughter even baby sat for us on one evening!
Overall I would highly recommend both cottages with my favourite the Barn.

Room Tip: Ask the owners where to eat - their local knowledge was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coverdrive356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. My daughter also enjoyed meeting your fabulous children as well. Love to see you back in Tideswell with us again. David & Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

We recently stayed at Markeygate Cottage for 3 nights. It is clear that the owners refurbished the property to a high standard a few years ago, but it now feels as though they have become complacent and not maintained their own high standards.

Two of us found the cottage to be adequate, but we feel that a family might find it cramped. The double bedroom in particular is small (about 6ft by 9ft). We used the twin room as a dressing room as there was little room to stand and dress in the double.

All in all we would rate the cottage as average, but it does have scope for improvement with more attention given to details by the owners

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank mercury28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for your comments which we take on board. Since your review we have invested in new furniture and paid more attendtion to the details as you described. We are cuurently in the process of changing the lights and will have plans to invest in the kitchen shortly. Having traded for over 17 years at Markeygate Cottage I know that customers appreciate an 'upgrade' so this is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I've just had a 3 day stay at Markeygate Barn with a friend and would not return. The building is beautiful, located in the middle of the village and very convenient with essential shopping nearby. The conversion in general is a nice one with a bedroom and bathroom on each of the 2 floors. The entry is into the kitchen which looks very nice at first glance.

These are the problems in my opinion. Firstly, the place appears clean but just don't look too closely. Secondly, the accommodation seems to be a dumping ground for the family castoffs which is not to say it's all bad. But the kitchen TV, microwave and toaster seem quite old, the upstairs mattress is lumpy and broken down and as is often the case I've found with UK furnishing style there is so much furniture one can hardly move. It could lose about a third of the items and be more comfortable. The downstairs shower was drain was blocked. As has been mentioned in another review the welcome consisted largely of warnings about what we should not do to avoid damage, what was already damaged from a recent leak, and which gate we were allowed to use. It was unclear why we could use 1 gate and not the other. I suspect a serious control issue.

I cannot recommend the accommodation and will look for another next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markeygate, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Thank you for your comments which we will take on board. Firstly I totally agree that the Barn is beautiful with a fabulous location with instant access to the village and the facilities. In terms of the Barn being clean we will again work with our cleaners to improve matters. We personally inspect the Barn well before guests arrive and in 16 years of providing a 4 star cottage and servicing hundreds of customers we have not had cleaning problems and in fact many guest comment on how spotlessly clean the Barn is. A clean cottage is of paramount importance to us!

In tems of the Barn being a 'dumping ground' for furniture we again take on board your comments and will re-visit the interior decoration. Again this is personal taste and most visitors/guests comment on how delightful the furniture is and how comforable the chairs/sofa/bed are. We only put top quality funtiture in the Barn and I am disappointed that you felt it represents a dumping ground. Take a look at the website photos and judge for yourself!
Finally the downstairs shower blockage problem has now been sorted and which gate you use to get access to the Barn is not an issue!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

A lovely warm welcome from friendly owner, Melanie, who showed us to our home for the week - Markeygate Barn - a beautiful cottage tucked away in a peaceful court yard in the heart of Tideswell. We were very impressed with the cottage - tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy – a restful retreat in the Heart of the Peak District! Accessed from a pretty courtyard … Downstairs - a well equipped kitchen-diner and a spacious twin bedroom with en-suite with fabulous shower! Upstairs – a cosy lounge with gas fire, perfect for relaxing after a day in the dales, bathroom with sky light windows and master bedroom with plenty of storage space and a very comfy bed! Outside space – an ample sized courtyard, shared with Markeygate Cottage next door. March weather didn’t lend itself to al fresco dining but am sure this would be a very sociable outdoor dining space during the summer months. All furnishings are very tasteful and in keeping with a country cottage – clearly a lot of thought has gone into making Markeygate Barn a real home from home.
The cottage is located just minutes away from the centre of the village - supermarket, post office, bakery, butchers all close to hand – perfect for self catering! … or if you’d rather eat out there a number of cafes and pubs to try - we recommend the Vanilla Kitchen Café lovely for brunch and The Red Lion at Litton (just a 15 minute walk away) - a fabulous olde worlde pub atmosphere, open fires, real ales and great food!
Tideswell is a perfect spot for exploring the Peak District, lots of walks off the doorstep … Millers Dale, Monsal trail, Limestone Way to name but few. Local bus links are brilliant too, Buxton and Bakewell only 25 minutes away.
A fantastic week in the Peak, we will definitely return to Markeygate Barn and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break in the Heart of the Peak District.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_n_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Markeygate Cottages are small but very nice. Too small for permanent living but great for few days holiday and couldn’t fault the decor, very tasteful and appropriate. The biggest general issue we had, especially during the summer months, is the “limited” outdoor space. There is an outdoor area, a small closed courtyard shared with the other rented out accommodation, but also with the owners. When on a holiday we love dining outdoors but we didn’t feel comfortable doing so, despite the lovely weather we had during our stay. This would always have been an issue for us but was made even worse because as we had two (paying) dogs with us.

The Markeygate Cottages accepts (paying) dogs but in our opinion shouldn’t because they are not welcomed. One of the first thing the owner told us was that her daughter was not only afraid of dogs, but seriously afraid! Which sure put us in our place (and of any hope of enjoying the shared outdoor area). This also means there is no area for dogs to relive themselves except taking them on a lead for some walk. Actually Tideswell is not very dog easy, it is not easy to find area where dogs could safely relive themselves. Most owners ended up taking them to the church garden (the old cemetery), which was obviously very “uncomfortable” solution for the dog owners.

The Markeygate Cottages charges small fee for dogs, which not uncommon, but they don’t mention it on their website. They request full payment by cheque for the accommodation (minus dog fee) in advance. When we arrived and payed for the dogs also by cheque, they expected cash!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markeygate, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2010

Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. The private courtyard is exclusively available for cottage guests and is not used at all by us the onwers since we have another private area away from the courtyard. Although the courtyard is shared by the other cottage the courtyard is large enough to have individual space to enjoy the tranquil environment of an active peak district village.
Dogs are very welcome and have been for the past 15 years! My daughter is nervous of large dogs but being a farmers daughter I can assure you that dogs are no problem and are very welcome. The dogs can obviosuly use the courtyard which is totally secure with gates on both entrances. I am sorry you felt that you could not let your dog use the courtyard - you certainly mis-understood me.
We have many guests who return year on year with dogs so we certainly see ourselves as dog friendly.
Tideswell is also an ideal location for dogs - you are in the middle of the Peak District National Park with over 555 sq miles of countryside - I could not think of a better location to bring a dog for walks and runs. The Village has a massive expanse of walking areas suitable for dogs and thanks to your comments we certainly tell new guests great places to go straight from our front door!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

A really relaxing weekend away for me and my family. Melanie and David and their children made us feel so welcome at their beautiful cottages. Everything you could possibly need whilst away, was at hand and if it wasn't (I'd forgotten to say I needed a cot) it was not a problem and sorted instantly! Markeygate cottage was beautifully furnished and the beds were very comfy! Tideswell makes a great place from which to explore the Peak District from. We will certainly be back to Markeygate.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthYorksPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

A much needed weekend away for myself and my wife, was added to by Melanie and David who made us feel so welcome at their beautiful cottages. Everything you could possibly need whilst away, was at hand plus their friendliness and local knowledge made for a great break. The cottage was warm and well furnished, the style of which fitted perfectly with its rural surroundings. We will certainly be back to Markeygate in the very near future. The Black Sheep ale at the local pub, is a must!

NMC - Buckingham

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tideswell hotels
0.1 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tideswell
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockingham Lodge
Rockingham Lodge
#5 of 7 in Tideswell
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Horse and Jockey
The Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage B&B
The Old Vicarage B&B
#2 of 3 in Tideswell
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markeygate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markeygate Cottages

Address: Bank Square, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tideswell
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering cottages located in the heart of the Peak District National Park, Derbyshire, UK. Fitted with all modern conveniences and superb location to explore the great outdoors, Chatsworth and many attractions. Home-away-from-home experience, 4 star English Tourist Board listed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing