We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Markeygate Cottages
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

On first glance the cottage was lovely and well furnished. Small but with enough space for a holiday. However it was not clean. Many items in the kitchen were dirty, in the corners the floor was covered in dog hairs and for some reason we had been left a stained bathroom towel to use and the toothbrush holder had not been cleaned for a while. I agree with the review which says the owners have seemingly become complacent about the cottage, that it once was nice, but the attention is now lacking. As far as equipment goes, we were provided with the bare minimum e.g. a CD player with broken radio, four dinner sets as it sleeps four, no flannels, heating timings set for the minimum so we were mostly cold.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvo186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your comments - feedback is always welcome and we usually get to speak to and meet guests since our house is located next to the Cottages. Firstly let me aplogise about the left towel which was my fault and I have spoken to the cleaner about your complaints which we are obviosuly disappointed about. We have hundreds of guest and I can assure you that our standards are not slipping- the guest who left before you left us a very nice present (from High Grove) with the words 'thank you for a very speacial stay - the cottage was warm cosy and welcoming' They did not however write a Trip Advier review! If we are occassional not around to ensure the cleaning is not 100% things may not be as we demand. It was unfortunate that your visit occurred one the very odd occassion when I was not around to serve you.I have again spoken to the cleaner and can assure all visitors that cleanliness is our top priority.
In terms of the heating - it was set for the previous guests who enjoyed window open and fresh air. All you needed to do was ask and we could have changed the timing for your needs. You did not ask us - the heating is avilable for your personal requirements - all you needed to do was ask.
It is disappointing to read this poor review when it could have been so easily rectified if you were to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have just spent 6 nights with my two sons staying in the cottage which we found very comfortable.
The owner, Melanie, was very helpful in answering questions I had before coming on holiday and very welcoming when we arrived. I felt we had all we needed there and it was good value for money.
The cottage is central to the village which has a lot of facilities and very well placed for visiting many attractions and places of interest. A great location and a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Booked both the Cottage and Barn in December for a Family get together. Firstly we had a great welcome from the owner who spent time with us and give us the 'local knowledge' tips.
The two cottages (one is called The Barn, the other Cottage- not the greatest of names!) are very different. The Barn is more recently refurbished and is decked out in boutique hotel style and very spacious with an upstairs galley over looking a private courtyard. The bedrooms are very separate -one upstairs and one downstairs which was helpful for our older members of the party! The kitchen is large and very well appointed with washing machine etc.
The Cottage is very different being styled as a more traditional cottage with beamed ceiling, wood burning stove (which was brill) and a small kitchen.Having rented both cottages for our large family gathering meant that we kept spending time in both cottages since they are positioned right next door to each other.
Both cottages were exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming.
The location is fantastic - right in the centre of the village of Tideswell and very private.Tideswell is in the centre of the National Park so is ideal to get to just about everything in the peaks.
We booked the cottages on the recommendations of friends who had also stayed at the Cottage.
The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a good time. We borrowed bikes from them (and they would not take any money) and the owners daughter even baby sat for us on one evening!
Overall I would highly recommend both cottages with my favourite the Barn.

Room Tip: Ask the owners where to eat - their local knowledge was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coverdrive356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. My daughter also enjoyed meeting your fabulous children as well. Love to see you back in Tideswell with us again. David & Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We recently stayed at Markeygate Cottage for 3 nights. It is clear that the owners refurbished the property to a high standard a few years ago, but it now feels as though they have become complacent and not maintained their own high standards.

Two of us found the cottage to be adequate, but we feel that a family might find it cramped. The double bedroom in particular is small (about 6ft by 9ft). We used the twin room as a dressing room as there was little room to stand and dress in the double.

All in all we would rate the cottage as average, but it does have scope for improvement with more attention given to details by the owners

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mercury28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your comments which we take on board. Since your review we have invested in new furniture and paid more attendtion to the details as you described. We are cuurently in the process of changing the lights and will have plans to invest in the kitchen shortly. Having traded for over 17 years at Markeygate Cottage I know that customers appreciate an 'upgrade' so this is our priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I've just had a 3 day stay at Markeygate Barn with a friend and would not return. The building is beautiful, located in the middle of the village and very convenient with essential shopping nearby. The conversion in general is a nice one with a bedroom and bathroom on each of the 2 floors. The entry is into the kitchen which looks very nice at first glance.

These are the problems in my opinion. Firstly, the place appears clean but just don't look too closely. Secondly, the accommodation seems to be a dumping ground for the family castoffs which is not to say it's all bad. But the kitchen TV, microwave and toaster seem quite old, the upstairs mattress is lumpy and broken down and as is often the case I've found with UK furnishing style there is so much furniture one can hardly move. It could lose about a third of the items and be more comfortable. The downstairs shower was drain was blocked. As has been mentioned in another review the welcome consisted largely of warnings about what we should not do to avoid damage, what was already damaged from a recent leak, and which gate we were allowed to use. It was unclear why we could use 1 gate and not the other. I suspect a serious control issue.

I cannot recommend the accommodation and will look for another next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markeygate, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your comments which we will take on board. Firstly I totally agree that the Barn is beautiful with a fabulous location with instant access to the village and the facilities. In terms of the Barn being clean we will again work with our cleaners to improve matters. We personally inspect the Barn well before guests arrive and in 16 years of providing a 4 star cottage and servicing hundreds of customers we have not had cleaning problems and in fact many guest comment on how spotlessly clean the Barn is. A clean cottage is of paramount importance to us!

In tems of the Barn being a 'dumping ground' for furniture we again take on board your comments and will re-visit the interior decoration. Again this is personal taste and most visitors/guests comment on how delightful the furniture is and how comforable the chairs/sofa/bed are. We only put top quality funtiture in the Barn and I am disappointed that you felt it represents a dumping ground. Take a look at the website photos and judge for yourself!
Finally the downstairs shower blockage problem has now been sorted and which gate you use to get access to the Barn is not an issue!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

A lovely warm welcome from friendly owner, Melanie, who showed us to our home for the week - Markeygate Barn - a beautiful cottage tucked away in a peaceful court yard in the heart of Tideswell. We were very impressed with the cottage - tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy – a restful retreat in the Heart of the Peak District! Accessed from a pretty courtyard … Downstairs - a well equipped kitchen-diner and a spacious twin bedroom with en-suite with fabulous shower! Upstairs – a cosy lounge with gas fire, perfect for relaxing after a day in the dales, bathroom with sky light windows and master bedroom with plenty of storage space and a very comfy bed! Outside space – an ample sized courtyard, shared with Markeygate Cottage next door. March weather didn’t lend itself to al fresco dining but am sure this would be a very sociable outdoor dining space during the summer months. All furnishings are very tasteful and in keeping with a country cottage – clearly a lot of thought has gone into making Markeygate Barn a real home from home.
The cottage is located just minutes away from the centre of the village - supermarket, post office, bakery, butchers all close to hand – perfect for self catering! … or if you’d rather eat out there a number of cafes and pubs to try - we recommend the Vanilla Kitchen Café lovely for brunch and The Red Lion at Litton (just a 15 minute walk away) - a fabulous olde worlde pub atmosphere, open fires, real ales and great food!
Tideswell is a perfect spot for exploring the Peak District, lots of walks off the doorstep … Millers Dale, Monsal trail, Limestone Way to name but few. Local bus links are brilliant too, Buxton and Bakewell only 25 minutes away.
A fantastic week in the Peak, we will definitely return to Markeygate Barn and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break in the Heart of the Peak District.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_n_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Markeygate Cottages are small but very nice. Too small for permanent living but great for few days holiday and couldn’t fault the decor, very tasteful and appropriate. The biggest general issue we had, especially during the summer months, is the “limited” outdoor space. There is an outdoor area, a small closed courtyard shared with the other rented out accommodation, but also with the owners. When on a holiday we love dining outdoors but we didn’t feel comfortable doing so, despite the lovely weather we had during our stay. This would always have been an issue for us but was made even worse because as we had two (paying) dogs with us.

The Markeygate Cottages accepts (paying) dogs but in our opinion shouldn’t because they are not welcomed. One of the first thing the owner told us was that her daughter was not only afraid of dogs, but seriously afraid! Which sure put us in our place (and of any hope of enjoying the shared outdoor area). This also means there is no area for dogs to relive themselves except taking them on a lead for some walk. Actually Tideswell is not very dog easy, it is not easy to find area where dogs could safely relive themselves. Most owners ended up taking them to the church garden (the old cemetery), which was obviously very “uncomfortable” solution for the dog owners.

The Markeygate Cottages charges small fee for dogs, which not uncommon, but they don’t mention it on their website. They request full payment by cheque for the accommodation (minus dog fee) in advance. When we arrived and payed for the dogs also by cheque, they expected cash!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markeygate, Owner at Markeygate Cottages, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. The private courtyard is exclusively available for cottage guests and is not used at all by us the onwers since we have another private area away from the courtyard. Although the courtyard is shared by the other cottage the courtyard is large enough to have individual space to enjoy the tranquil environment of an active peak district village.
Dogs are very welcome and have been for the past 15 years! My daughter is nervous of large dogs but being a farmers daughter I can assure you that dogs are no problem and are very welcome. The dogs can obviosuly use the courtyard which is totally secure with gates on both entrances. I am sorry you felt that you could not let your dog use the courtyard - you certainly mis-understood me.
We have many guests who return year on year with dogs so we certainly see ourselves as dog friendly.
Tideswell is also an ideal location for dogs - you are in the middle of the Peak District National Park with over 555 sq miles of countryside - I could not think of a better location to bring a dog for walks and runs. The Village has a massive expanse of walking areas suitable for dogs and thanks to your comments we certainly tell new guests great places to go straight from our front door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tideswell hotels
0.1 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tideswell
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockingham Lodge
Rockingham Lodge
#5 of 7 in Tideswell
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage B&B
The Old Vicarage B&B
#2 of 3 in Tideswell
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markeygate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markeygate Cottages

Property: Markeygate Cottages
Address: Bank Square, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering cottages located in the heart of the Peak District National Park, Derbyshire, UK. Fitted with all modern conveniences and superb location to explore the great outdoors, Chatsworth and many attractions. Home-away-from-home experience, 4 star English Tourist Board listed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing