We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went the extra mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“went the extra mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and myself and a colleague stayed here for 3 nights. As we were attending the nearby Hill Head quarry exhibition as exhibitors we had to be on the on the road by 08:00. Although breakfast isn't normally served until 08:00 our land lady accommodated us beautifully and served early. And what a wide ranging breakfast it was...Wow. She even packed up a breakfast for our colleague on the last morning so he could leave at 07:00
The rooms are lovely and she couldn't have been more helpful. We shall be back in 2 years when the exhibition runs again

Room Tip: The location is at the top of a hill in the village (which is stunningly beautiful) but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
143
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My wifey took me to merman barn for my 60th birthday weekend.What a brilliant choice she made.This place is superb & run really well by Linda & Andrew (mainly Linda lol). Could not believe how clean everything was it almost looked brand new. Bedroom we had was very large with the biggest bed I,'ve ever seen & so comfortable. Breakfast was superb 1st morning I had full English 2nd morning I had smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toasted muffin, best scrambled egg in the world (compliments to the chef. Linda). Absolutely loved the peak district & didn't want to go back to brum.So all in all thoroughly my weekend & will be returning next birthday weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevielee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just come back from Merman Barn after a 2 night break in the Peaks.What a lovley stay we had...Linda and Andrew made us very welcome. Our room was huge...and everything and more was there. Breakfasts are fabulous , lots of choice all cooked to order. Nothing was a problem. A pot of tea and home made shortbread welcomed us after our long drive. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Visited family in Tideswell with four other friends all staying here. Three rooms available, King double, double and twin. Stayed two nights in the double room with all facilities and spotless throughout . All rooms decorated to high standard in this tranquil setting. Linda a perfect host and serves an excellent breakfast of your choice enough to last you all day. A must for short or long stay. Private secluded parking for the 3 bed roomed guests. A car is useful due to location on slight hill but nice peaceful walk to Tideswell village. One of the nicest B & B we have stayed at, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smiffys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just come back after spending 2 nights at The Merman,don't know what can be said that hasn't been said before, but here goes. Nothing was to much trouble for Our wonderful hostess. Place was spotless,welcoming and very comfortable, real home from home. Room (2)was very roomy and the bed was enormous; walk in wardrobe was great. Fridge in room was a great touch for keeping things fresh,especially as We were lucky enough to have a hot weekend. Breakfast was wonderful,My Hubby said His Scrambled egg and salmon, was the best He's ever tasted, I tried the Oatcake for the first time,Very tasty.I would definitely recommend this B&B,and wouldn't hesitate to go back . Thank You Linda and Andrew for making Us feel so welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nettylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely, well decorated B&B with own parking. Our room had a huge walk in wardrobe (really useful), en suite shower room, massive comfy bed and a small fridge for fresh milk. Small garden for guests as well. Folder with lots of walking suggestions provided for guests. Friendly and attentive host.

Generous breakfast (usual English breakfast choices, cereal, yogurt, fruit juice etc), almost too large! Well located for walking - regular bus service to Bakewell, Litton & Hope for linear walks. Walking distance from Tideswell centre and pubs for evening meal - ask the hosts for recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just stayed for two nights at Merman barn. Linda is a most charming host who has thought of everything to make one's stay very comfortable. Slept like tops in the very comfortable superking room and enjoyed a delicious breakfast including a Derbyshire oatcake which was new to us (similar to an savoury pancake)....Linda recommended a local taxi firm (Chris) who was great and also a lovely supper at The Horse and Jockey pub down the hill in Tideswell - homemade steak and stilton pie which was delicious. It must be lovely to spend more than a few days there, a very unspoilt area, beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy5422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing