We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting & wonderful hosts”
Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helperthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil setting & wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As visitors from Australia it was wonderful to receive such a warm welcome from Linda. The accommodation suited our needs, in the beautiful village of Tideswell in the Peak District. The breakfast menu was generous and the food was scumptious. Our hosts were most obliging and helpful and this made our 3 night stay most pleasurable. If we ever travel this way again we will certainly make use of Linda & Andrew's accommodation at Merman Barn. Helen & Bruce Hardy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhardy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
147
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we stayed here for two nights whilst we were walking in the area. Absolutely fabulous, warm and friendly welcome, spotlessly clean, superbly comfortable bed and a great choice for breakfast which was beautifully cooked. So pleased we chose to stay here and will come again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: the king size room had a really comfortable bed, best nights sleep in ages
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and myself and a colleague stayed here for 3 nights. As we were attending the nearby Hill Head quarry exhibition as exhibitors we had to be on the on the road by 08:00. Although breakfast isn't normally served until 08:00 our land lady accommodated us beautifully and served early. And what a wide ranging breakfast it was...Wow. She even packed up a breakfast for our colleague on the last morning so he could leave at 07:00
The rooms are lovely and she couldn't have been more helpful. We shall be back in 2 years when the exhibition runs again

Room Tip: The location is at the top of a hill in the village (which is stunningly beautiful) but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My wifey took me to merman barn for my 60th birthday weekend.What a brilliant choice she made.This place is superb & run really well by Linda & Andrew (mainly Linda lol). Could not believe how clean everything was it almost looked brand new. Bedroom we had was very large with the biggest bed I,'ve ever seen & so comfortable. Breakfast was superb 1st morning I had full English 2nd morning I had smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toasted muffin, best scrambled egg in the world (compliments to the chef. Linda). Absolutely loved the peak district & didn't want to go back to brum.So all in all thoroughly my weekend & will be returning next birthday weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevielee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just come back from Merman Barn after a 2 night break in the Peaks.What a lovley stay we had...Linda and Andrew made us very welcome. Our room was huge...and everything and more was there. Breakfasts are fabulous , lots of choice all cooked to order. Nothing was a problem. A pot of tea and home made shortbread welcomed us after our long drive. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Visited family in Tideswell with four other friends all staying here. Three rooms available, King double, double and twin. Stayed two nights in the double room with all facilities and spotless throughout . All rooms decorated to high standard in this tranquil setting. Linda a perfect host and serves an excellent breakfast of your choice enough to last you all day. A must for short or long stay. Private secluded parking for the 3 bed roomed guests. A car is useful due to location on slight hill but nice peaceful walk to Tideswell village. One of the nicest B & B we have stayed at, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smiffys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just come back after spending 2 nights at The Merman,don't know what can be said that hasn't been said before, but here goes. Nothing was to much trouble for Our wonderful hostess. Place was spotless,welcoming and very comfortable, real home from home. Room (2)was very roomy and the bed was enormous; walk in wardrobe was great. Fridge in room was a great touch for keeping things fresh,especially as We were lucky enough to have a hot weekend. Breakfast was wonderful,My Hubby said His Scrambled egg and salmon, was the best He's ever tasted, I tried the Oatcake for the first time,Very tasty.I would definitely recommend this B&B,and wouldn't hesitate to go back . Thank You Linda and Andrew for making Us feel so welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nettylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
7.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,604 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing