We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cream tea I've had for ages!”
Review of Vanilla Kitchen

Vanilla Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: See the web site!
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best cream tea I've had for ages!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We called at the Vanilla Kitchen today and ordered scones with cream and jam also tea for 2. The large scones were freshly made and were delicious! Definitely home-made! There were tubs of Rhodda clotted cream and little pots of strawberry jam. We got 5 cups of tea from the teapot. The cost.... £10.30, price seemed a little on the high side but we have paid about the same in Cornwall and it was very, very nice. We were served by a very friendly lady, who said the owner was busy baking more scones as the batch she had made at 9.30 that morning had already been sold! There were cyclists sitting outside, resting before the next stage of their journey, all looked to be tucking in, didn't hear any complaints! Keep up the good work, we will be back! Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carben123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    44
    14
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Often stopped by here for takeaway sandwiches (have a cottage close by) but disappointed by the selection recently. Seem to have gone back to standard fare since the change of ownership. Ordered Coronation chicken baguette, it was solely a baguette with sandwich filler & no salad. Pity to find a downturn as Tideswell is promoting itself as a foodie centre

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A little gem in a lovely village”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stopped here for coffee and cake whilst on a walk in the area. The coffee was fantastic and so was the cake , but the piece was huge! I had to take half of it out with me. Excellent value and good to sit outside on a nice day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HOW MUCH”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was charged £6-75 for beans on toast and a cappuccino my a not too friendly owner. When the other people owned this cafe i got scrambled eggs as well at that price. When I left I said thankyou goodbye and didn't even get a reply. Well many cyclists have used this cafe over the years and if this owner doesn't change her attitude they aren't going too like my mate and I.
At the Florist cafe in Ashbourne I had smoked salmon scrambled eggs 2 crumpets and a fantastic coffee for £6-50.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank stevemanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having researched several tea-rooms around the Tideswell area, we were delighted to see that the Vanilla Kitchen stayed open until five o'clock on a Sunday afternoon. With this in mind, we organised our day out so that, after a days walking, we could reward ourselves with a tasty meal at the end of it, in the pretty village of Tideswell. It was a beautiful, sunny day and we thought this would be a perfect ending to a lovely day out.

Imagine our disappointment then, when we arrived at Vanilla Kitchen at five minutes past four, only to be told they were no longer serving anything other than cakes because of the time. Why not make this clear on the web-site, then people will know exactly what to expect? How misleading! The sparse variety of cakes did nothing to inspire us and, in any case, because we had deliberately not eaten during the day, thinking we were going to treat ourselves later on, we were, by this time, really hungry so wanted something more substantial than cake to eat. We decided, therefore, not to stay and had to return home and start cooking. Not the end to a lovely day out we had envisaged. Clear advertising would have been appreciated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vanilla Kitchen also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Vanilla Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing