We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views
Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Our dining table seats six.
Our modern kitchen is well equipped.
The warm and welcoming landing area.
Our Luxury Bathroom with separate shower, whirlpool bath and underfloor heating
Basin and mirror with shaver point and demister
Clean and modern our shower is pure luxury
View from the bedroom window
Quality teak garden furniture
Savour the views whilst relaxing in comfort.
Well-maintained enclosed garden
Sunset from the terrace
Snowy dawn from the bedroom
Tideswell Church St John the Baptist, February 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pjwCheshi...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A delightful cottage set in a small elevated terrace and enjoying superb views of the countryside. The front garden has been recently hard landscaped and provides an ideal retreat after a day's walking in the fabulous white peak. The cottage provides good and comfortable sleeping accommodation with 2 double and 1 single bedroom. However for overall maximum comfort throughout the cottage I would recommend a maximum of 4 adults and 2 being ideal. The bathroom facility is excellent with Jacuzzi bath and power shower. A welome pack is provided on arrival and the bottle of white wine left in the fridge is a particularly nice touch. The dining kitchen is well equipped although I would suggest investment in a new frypan is overdue ( preferably non stick). The free provision of a notebook computer is excellent for those guests that don't have their own mobile communications and the wi fi connection is good. Central heating works well and the log burner in the lounge is a cosy addition. Overall this is first class accommodation, furnished to a very good standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed and helpful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Swift Cottage and hope to see you again one day in the future.

Thank you also for drawing our attention to the condition of the larger of the two frying pans provided (the other saucepans and smaller frying pan provided are a good quality, stainless set purchased less than 6 months ago). We have a policy of continuous improvement and endeavour to ensure all utensils, furniture and decor are maintained to the highest standards. As soon as I read your comments I purchased a new, quality Tefal armatal non-stick 28 cm frying pan with a large silicon turner and offered to drop it off for use by the incumbent guests. They declined my offer but the new frying pan and turner will be in place for the incoming guests' arrival on Saturday 7th July. We will be reviewing all kitchen utensils and replacing any which are nearing end of life this weekend. Thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2012
Thanks for this excellent review, Suzie! Really glad you enjoyed your stay in Swift Cottage and your time in Tideswell and the surrounding area. We hope to see you and family again one day in the future - ideally accompanied by better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bookwormm...
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous central cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic place. We stayed here with our 4 year old, 1 year old (in a travel cot) and my parents in law. All enjoyed the cottage and its location. Very easy access in to the village for the great cafes, pubs, shops and facilities, such beautiful views and lovely walks direct from the door step. The cottage is well equipped, homely, clean, modern and very well designed for families with a cot and highchair if required, doors and stair gates to prevent access to stairs, and lots of games, dvds and books for families. Luckily for us the weather was also well behaved so we enjoyed the most of the beautiful garden and terrace all weekend. Lovely neighbours next door who our 4 year old got quite chatty with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful views, comfortable rooms, clean and modern, well equipped, family friendly
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2012
Hi - thanks for taking the time to write this great review! Glad you and family (4 adults, toddler and one year old) all enjoyed the cottage. You certainly had the best of the weather so far this "summer" and we were pleased you were able to make the best of the garden and patio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickhambrook
Reviewed 31 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gadgetgir...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Despite the torrential rain at the end of April, we thoroughly enjoyed our week at Swift Cottage.

The cottage has everything you could wish for; linen, towels, all kitchen gadgets, DVDs, books with info on the local area, and even a laptop and wifi so you can look up local attractions.

The new bathroom had a whirlpool bath, which I took advantage of after walking 8 miles of the Monsal Trail (8 miles may not be a lot, but it is with a dog and an 18 month old!).

Comfortable beds, plump pillows, snuggly duvets, a sofa perfect for vegetating, and fantastic views from the front windows! Even the next door neighbours were lovely! Did I mention the welcome pack with wine, milk, bread and sticky toffee pudding...?

Most useful for us was the stairgate at the top of the stairs, so we could let our 18 month old roam around without worrying about him falling down the stairs.

The only improvement I could think of would be a little more space in a cupboard to put some food, but other than that, I really can't fault the cottage, and would recommend it to anyone.

ps - if anyone finds a yellow foam banana, please let me know! My boy hid it so well we couldn't find it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful bathroom
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ormskirk
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing