We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub grub”

Horse and Jockey Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
shropshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“pub grub”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Meals were of ok sort, i had lamb shank and felt like it was bought from iceland and warmed up. The dessert was nice though. Thd pub itself is quaint and typical of a village pub.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    87
    39
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A great British pub”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ate here three times whilst on holiday. Food was tasty and wholesome. Very much traditional pub fare. It was the atmosphere we liked with locals drinking there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic Country Pub”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful little pub in the heart of an absolutely stunning little village. Our room was large and nicely appointed with period furniture and a modern ensuite bathroom. We had a large four poster bed - a bit of a novelty. The room was very comfortable. Like a lot of pubs there was a little noise from patrons but that's part of the character, at least they didn't move the empty beer barrels at 7am. The pub itself is a classic and well worth a visit even if you're not staying there. The meals were pretty good - typical pub fare. The only negative was both the late breakfast at 8:30am and the poor service at breakfast. It felt like we were a bit if a bother wanting breakfast right at 8:30am and compared to many places there was poor attention to the details at breakfast. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this pub and the village of Tideswell. PS. Don't miss visiting the cathedral church - it is stunning.

Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had dinner here on our first night in Tideswell, the menu had a lot of options and it tasted good. The pub was quiet when we went in, and the service was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Good value, good food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We ate there twice during our stay in Tideswell. The food is excellent although on the second visit we were in the upstairs restaurant which was very squashed and there was only Strongbow on draught. Apart from that a good night

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Jockey Restaurant also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Horse and Jockey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing