We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glad it's not nearer, we'd never be away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: .
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“glad it's not nearer, we'd never be away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

well worth the drive from Wilmslow which we have made several times now . Really great food served with a smile, cosy atmosphere in a lovely old genuine coaching house . Be warned Paul , [the chef ] WE WILL BE BACK! .Got to work our way through the menu! . Best Wishes to all from Sean & Margaret. xx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for leaving us a lovely review. Always a pleasure and glad you feel we are worth coming too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    44
    9
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“warm, welcoming and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Again we have been to our favourite pub and travelled from chorley for it. We had the cream of vegetable soup to start with and it was delicious. Then it was cheese pie and chips and I had scampi and chips again delicious. Had trouble moving afterwards as we were so full. Cannot wait to go again. Good food that sticks to the ribs and great beer with a great welcome, what more could we want.
Many thanks to you all we shall see you again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank izzy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Lovely to see you both again and to put the world to rights over coffee! Nice to be appreciated and thank you for taking the time writing your review on us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ate here a few weeks ago , went with family on motorbikes for dinner.
Hosts were very welcome and found us space to dump all our gear , we all had home made pies in one form of another and the food was delicious . some of the nicest pies we've eaten.
Service was great and staff were very friendly and welcoming as well.
Would definately recommend and will visit again
Well worth a try if your'e hungry

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatbob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are defiantly a place to dine if your hungry, we feel we give good size portions!
No problems at all with finding a 'home' for your gear, hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional family run pub with homemade food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a lovely meal on Saturday evening. They stop serving at 8.30pm but made allowance for that fact we came in late.

The food: My girlfriend is a vegetarian and was pleased to have a few options; choosing the vegetable curry which was tasty. I had the lamb rump which I can say was the nicest lamb I think I have ever eaten. Apparently it is from the local area and wherever it was from, it was delicious.

Really homely pub and the landlady was very hospitable and friendly. It was nice to see her family around and it gave a warm feel to the place.
This pub is a gem and definitely one I would visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cooper2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Lovely to read you enjoyed your meals and hopefully we will see you again if your in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stumbled across The Anchor during our visit to Tideswell and from the outside the pub looked lovely, outdoor seating (although no food can be served) lovely colours and well kept.

Upon entering the Anchor, I was taken back by with the décor and how lovely this place was.

My partner and I are regulars at the Anchor as well his and father and partner. The service is brilliant and the food - the BEST Sunday roast I have ever had, even better than how I make it.

Lovely dining area and a really warm friendly place to sit back wind down and enjoy some lovely home cooked meals.

Definitely worth a visit !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a lovely review. Hopefully we will see you soon for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing