We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corner Chippy

Corner Chippy
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Take away fish and chip shop, centre of Tideswell.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This our local chippy and how lucky we are. Friendly service and the most excellent quality traditional chip shop produce. The best locally by far. Strongly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips and friendly owners and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We had excellent, tasty, non-greasy, well-cooked fish and chips from this chip shop on the evening we arrived for a long weekend based in Tideswell in the Peak District. It was a horrible rainy stormy evening when we arrived and the warm lights and centrally-located convenience of the Corner Chippy were a wonderful sight! The owners and staff were very friendly and chatty and we were served up two generous portions of cod and chips without delay! Very enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We visited The Corner Chippy on a Thursday evening for a late tea. We liked the traditional look of the shop. The owners were very chatty & friendly & the shop was very clean. The fish, chips & mushy peas that we ordered were cooked fresh for us. We took them back to our cottage in Litton & they were absolutely delicious. I will certainly visit this traditional fish & chip shop again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Crispy fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Lovely cooked to order fish and tasty chips. Took our supper back to the holiday cottage round the corner, despite a little confusion about our order (which was wrapped and unwrapped a few times to check that it was indeed - fish n chips!), it was steaming hot crispy and gorgeous. Didn't try the other chippy but hear that's good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Epheses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Fishcakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I'm A coach driver from Bognor Regis and bevery time i@m near Tideswell I always buy their Yorkshire Fishcakes and bring them back to Bognor Regis because my wife is a Yorkshire Girl and loves them as do I, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Chippy also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Corner Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing