We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fantastic!'”

Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a trip on a motorcycle sidecar into the heart of the beautiful Peak District. Choose from a range of carefully designed trips to experience the countryside and heritage of the area. Tailor your trip to take in pubs, cafes, photo opportunities, visitor attractions or just sit back and enjoy the ride. An ideal gift for a special event.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Fantastic!'”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a wonderful way to spend a (fortunately sunny) afternoon, with Fred (ex-Harley biker) on the pillion, and me (definite non-biker) in the side-car. Fred has suffered a stroke but Bill was most understanding and helpful, and answered all his technical questions!
We thought we knew the Peak District, but Bill took us on side roads that we did not know existed. It was wonderful to see familiar views from a different perspective, all aided by Bill's helpful commentary. It was good to break the ride with a short walk to the top of Mam Tor. Resplendent in our 'biker gear', we got some funny looks from the hikers in their shorts and tee-shirts!
Another 'highlight' was the tea stop at The No-Car Cafe just below Rushup Edge.
When we were dropped back at the car park in Castleton, we could have done the trip all over again.
Thanks for a truly memorable experience Bill.
Vivien and Fred

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPurvis, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Viv and Fred,
Thank you for the review. It was great to see you both enjoying your afternoon out on the bike. I hope you'll plan a return trip on foot next time to re visit some of your favourite routes and find the No Car Cafe again.
Cheers
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bikers unite”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Brilliant, just brilliant. Went to places we had never seen before. Last time I was on the back of a bike was well,over 30 years ago. Yippee, loved it. The look of surprise on my husband's face when Bill rode up the driveway was worth a million dollars. Transported back to a time when life was more relaxed. An experience truly not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joroco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPurvis, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi
Thanks very much for your review.
I'm really pleased you found the ride in the sidecar relaxing, as you can then focus on soaking up all the lovely countryside we have in the Peak District.
Hope to see you again
All the best
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sidecar Safari Experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Sidecar Safari was the highlight of our holiday, we have been to the Peak District many times but Bill took us to places we had never seen before and the views from both the back of the bike and sidecar were fantastic, Bill was great and even persuaded Adele to ride on the back of the bike, which she thoroughly enjoyed, We are not bikers ourselves but would recommend this experience for everyone to try, Thanks Bill for a great trip, Glyn and Adele.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPurvis, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the review. I'm pleased that we managed to find some areas you hadn't visited before, even as seasoned Peak District visitors. Great idea to walk your way back to Tom & Douglas' Barn in Parwich after your lunch. Hope you both come back soon. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I apologise that it has take me soooo long to write a review Bill! So my partner and I did a 10 day road trip around the UK and this was by far the best experience of it all. Firstly, due to traffic we were late for our meeting time but Bill was fantastic and understanding. So we dressed up in all our gear (all provided) and set off on the awesome motorcycle which was very comfortable, Steve and I took turns in the sidecar. Bills knowledge on the area is second to none and we felt very safe and in good hands. Our camera had run out of battery but Bill kindly let us use his one for the trip. The pictures we took will be tresured for ever as well as this experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_Taylor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPurvis, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thanks very much for the review. I don't mind how late they are, as it's still great to get positive feedback. Good to know that your trip was such a hit and that you've taken some special memories of the Peak District home with you. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Only Way to Travel !”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Bill comes armed with jackets, helmets, scarfs and gloves and the fun begins with dressing in the gear before you even sit on the bike. We set off on our tailor made trip from outside our hotel. The sidecar felt as stable as sitting in a car. The pillion seat is wide and comfortable . Bill does all the work, you just perch there and enjoy the absolutely stunning scenery. He is a mind of local information. We stopped several times for icecream, tea and photo shots.
I would highly recommend this venture for any age group. It is worth every penny. Bill puts you at your ease and you feel completely safe. If you are like us you will smile from the start of the ride to the finish. Thanks Bill. Sarah and Jane.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPurvis, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Jane, thanks for your great review. I'm really pleased you both enjoyed your ride around the area. We were blessed with some fine weather and great views, not to mention the Hilly Billy ice cream. The Peak District has lots to offer so maybe we'll see you again sometime. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing