We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect 4* for £30”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't expect 4* for £30”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Some previous reviewers need to get real. I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. Room was a little tired but clean, tea tray fine, church bells charming and bathroom as expected. After a long walk shower was excellent and room cosy. Evening meal was ok, Better food available nearby but again, it was only £6.95. Breakfast excellent. Gerry and family very welcoming. Overall great value and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I don't know where the person before has stopped but that's not the star inn I remember, the rooms may be dated but were very clean I agree that the land lord and their family made me feel welcome and it also makes you aware on their website the bathroom is shared with their family.
The food it's great and reasonably priced and all the locals are lovely and welcoming would definitely recommend to stop here for the warm welcome and good food!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at the star inn for 2 nights, it was the worst b&b I have ever stayed in. I was put in the small single room. The room itself was right above the entrance to the pub, this is where all the smokers stand, with the window open just slightly the room stunk of smoke.

The room was very dusty, had cob webs on the wall and ceiling and was genearlly very old fashonied (and neglected). The hot chocolate and coffee sachets provided both expired the previous year. The bed creeks with the slightest movement and the room was not attended to in the day (ie towels / cups not replaced)

The only bathroom was shared with the 3 guest rooms and the b&b owners. It was very out of date and nothing like the picture on the website.

Wifi is not provided at all times as adveristed, they turn it off for a couple of hours during the pub quiz to stop their customers cheating! The quiz goes on quite late and the pub is generally quite nosiy. If you want to get to sleep before midnight then forget it.

The brekfest was greasy and you are seated in a dingy section of the pub that stinks of stale booze from the night before.

I almost walked out but couldnt find any other local accomadation. I probably would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car.

On the positive side the B&B owners were quite friendly but that does not make up for the dire accomadation. I certainly will not be going back and do not recommed staying there!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starinn55, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your visit, and we’d like you to know that the problems you highlighted with the room have been remedied.

The Wi-Fi is now advertised as unavailable during the quiz; this was an oversight on our part.

However, I feel that the bathroom is modern and up to date; it has not changed since the displayed photo was taken.

Our full English breakfast is the most popular, which is freshly cooked and is made to individual preferences.

I’d also like to mention that rooms can be cleaned during the day, but we will only enter guest rooms when asked to.

Thank you for your valuable feedback,

Landlord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

As the welcome here was warm and friendly, I'd love to be able to write an excellent review; I always aim to plug decent dog-friendly accommodation. Regrettably, I don't think I'd be tempted to stay here again despite the friendly reception and reasonable prices. The bed in room 2 was very uncomfortable. The other point not mentioned on the website is that the bathroom is not only shared between the three guest rooms, but also the landlady and family. There is a sign in the bedrooms telling you not to occupy it between certain times and you feel like you're imposing. The breakfast was fine, but nothing to write home about...value sausages, instant coffee, underdone toast and a carton of milk on the table. It's clearly a struggle for the proprietors to earn a living in the current climate, but with a little investment in the basics (a new mattress to start with!) they'd have happy customers returning here year after year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barneysboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starinn55, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback and reassure you that steps have been taken to improve our service.

We never want our customers to feel uncomfortable, and certainly not like they are imposing. As such we now advertise that the bathroom is also shared with our family, plus the old signs in the rooms have been removed. I’d also like to clarify the bathroom is no longer reserved at any time.

I also agreed with your opinion on the bed in room 2, which has been replaced since your visit.

However, I would like to mention that we do not use any ‘value’ products in any of our food. All our breakfast ingredients are all premium brands; though from your comment it appears the presentation of the breakfast could have been better.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you would reconsider staying with us again in the future,

Gerry Newman, Landlord

(ps sorry for the lateness of the response, we have only just claimed our TripAdvisor page.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 this past weekend, the rooms are a little dated, but comfortable all the same, but all we needed was somewhere to sleep, the pub itself is lovely and jerry made us welcome and suggeted places we might like to visit, the breakfast was the best i have ever had at a b & b, fresh and plentiful,the pub food was great too, we ate there twice during our stay and it was reasonably priced. overall it was a lovely relaxing break

Room Tip: we had the large room, normally for 2 adults and 1 child, but as our children are quite young they t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed with 2 friends for two nights at Tideswell and popped into the Star to see what the food was like so we could eat there later that evening. We had a lovely welcome off the owner and her family. The food was really delicious and we were made most welcome. So much, that the following evening we ate there again. Recommended for good food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellagio080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tideswell
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family-run country pub situated in the historic village of Tideswell.Tideswell is ideally located for hikers and walkers at the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park. We take pride in our friendly service, wide selection of drinks and high quality real ales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing