We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
View of the cottage, and its neighbour, from the shared back garden, which is fully enclosed.
Have a great night's sleep in the king size bed.
Twin beds in the large second floor room
Wild primroses in the garden
Nearby attractions include Chatsworth House
... where the gardens are stunning
Each Autumn there is a sculpture exhibition in the gardens.
Also nearby is the Chestnut centre, an otter and owl sanctuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gingerh60...
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Everything we needed was there. Quirky and interesting cottage. Enough road parking so no problems there. Pubs in villlage do food so we didn't need to cook. We wanted to do somehiking and we could just walk out the door from here. We would certainly return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSL-300
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay in the Peak District”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Tideswell is a good base from witch to explore the Peak District. The village has a number of shops including a co-op which is open until 10pm. St John the Baptist church is worth a visit.

1 Primrose Cottage is well equipped with lots of local information. The owner is very helpful. We had a really enjoyable stay - thank you.

The only word of warning is if you have problams with stairs this is not the place for you as the steps are steep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thanks for your kind comments and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonor w
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We are a family with two children aged 9 and 11. The cottage was warm, comfortable and had everything we could need. Arriving to find a pint of milk, tea, coffee and a packet of biscuits was a lovely touch. We enjoyed exploring the village and eating in the local pubs and bistros and doing some of the local walks-only the snow hindered us going further afield but that was awesome anyway! Would highly recommend the cottage and would love to come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thanks for your lovely review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you can come again, perhaps when there's less snow!

Thank you for looking after our cottage so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect christmas holiday for our family”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This was a lovely warm and comfy cottage for a 4 night Christmas break. The location was the main attraction as we have family locally so wanted to hook up with them for the many festive events (brass band and carols playing in local caverns with free mulled wine being a highlight!). The cottage was just right for us, really warm, woodburner roaring in the snowy evenings, comfortable and beautiful main bedroom for us. Its not a pristine house (no shower, dining room bit old fashioned in decor) but easy to relax in and hot baths were all we wanted after long walks on the moors. Slight niggle was lack of basics - only enough dishwasher tablets, laundry liquid and matches to last 1 day, and i didnt think to pack those. Shop in village open Christmas Eve luckily! All in all, none of us wanted to leave...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter g
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A good value cottage in a very convenient location.”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Has all you will need. Warm and comfortable. Easy access to shops and food outlets. Perfect stay for the White Peak Way. Shower is a bit useless but bath is fine. I'm a bit worried about the cooker; it should shut off the gas when the lid is put down but it does not, the mechanism has been overridden or, more likely, bent through misuse!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2017
Thanks for your comments and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We’ll get the cooker checked out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had an excellent break in Primrose Cottage in Tideswell. Everything you need for a comfortable stay, loved it. We had a meal in the pub next door which was also excellent.

Left replacement soap and loo roll!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thanks for your kind comments Jackie! I hope you'll be able to stay with us sometime again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda F
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely area”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is well equipted for all requirements, and some. Best equipted holiday let I've been too.
The only thing that would be good would be a shower curtain as there is a shower attachment on bath but you wet athe floor when using it.
The village is really pictures and has all amenities you need with lovely fish and chips .
We used the local village shop delivery service and all items where really good quality and came when we arrived.
I will say if you have mobility problems the cottage would not be suitable as the stairs are very steep and there is a flight of stairs to go in ahead garden as well

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing