We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for walking the Dales” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse and Jockey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horse and Jockey
Ranked #4 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leics
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal for walking the Dales”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great village pub with nice atmosphere. No problem parking on the front, Very friendly staff especially with dogs. Excellent range of beers and wines. Could not fault the food. Rooms are ok and food value.
If you are over 5ft 6", room 4 is not for you, we banged our heads a few times, and the shower could do with a little TLC..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    42
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

At the Horse and Jockey for lunch. By far the best pub we have come across. The welcome and excellently friendly service mark this pub out. The food was first rate and generous, tasty portions, too. Would not hesitate to recommend and would like to come back and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just stayed at the Horse & Jockey for one night after not being able to get accommodation in Hathersage where the rest of our group were staying. We were not disappointed, the room was quirky and old fashioned (which I like) and also clean and quiet.
Breakfast is served from 8.30am but we needed to be on our way by 8.20am the next morning so asked if we could have breakfast at 7.45am which was no trouble and very delicious when it came. The evening menu also looks delicious and we wished we'd eaten at the pub the night before,instead of in Hathersage.
All in all a great little place with good food,beer,friendly staff and reasonable accommodation,couldn't ask for more :)

Room Tip: Room number 1 is nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haleyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in early July wished it could have been more. Friendly staff fresh well cooked food and the comfiest bed we've slept in and that includes our own at home. Small restaurant for evening meal (so need to book which we did) but can still eat in the bar area if restaurant is full. The room was good value for what was offered including towels toiletries biscuits tea coffee TV and free wifi. We even had a sofa and four poster bed. Will definitely stay at the Horse and Jockey if we visit Tideswell again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed at the pub on Saturday evening. The food was good quality and homemade. 11 of us sat down for dinner and 9 out of the 11 rated their meal as very good,. Unfortunately, the soup wasn't very flavoursome and the steak and stilton pie, that my husband ordered, was dry (looked like it had been sitting under the heat lamps until everyone's meals were ready).

My party of 3 were in room 6 - a family room, which was large and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The pub is old and the bedrooms could do with a lick of paint as there was mildew on the bedroom wall down the side of the wardrobe. However, that said, the room was fit for purpose and was reasonably priced.

8 of us sat down to breakfast the following morning. There were mini boxes of cereal, a perculator of coffee was available for you to help yourself to and the waitress brought us a large, fresh pot of tea. The waitress took our order for the cooked breakfast; couple of things:-

No fresh juice was available and we were not asked how we would like our eggs - it would be nice to have poached or scrambled, if required and the toast was only brought to us when some of us had almost finished our breakfast.

However, the breakfast was absolutely fine and set us up for the day.

Overall, the horse and jockey is a good value establishment and the food is lovely, homemade fayre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JueWilly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Staff very friendly. Food good and excellent value. They catered for 23 of us when we returned for my mum's birthday. Love the area and the pub/ B&B. Dog friendly which is a must for my husband and I. Would recommend if looking for basic B & B accommodation. Definitely not the Ritz but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Horse & Jockey is a lively village pub which seems very popular with locals. The menu offered a range of typical pub food at reasonable cost. The staff were quite friendly and provided good service. We would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
5.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockingham Lodge
Rockingham Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tideswell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Property: Horse and Jockey
Address: Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel Tideswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing