We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
guildford
1 review
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed in Candle Cottage for four nights and will definitely be returning. Everyting was
first-class - the welcome from Steve, the wonderful hamper, the decor - we couldn't
have asked for anything more.

Magnificent!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Well, I couldn't tell you what the cottages are actually like, as we never got to stay there. I booked a long weekend online, using my credit card to secure the reservation, however, only four days before we were due to arrive, we were informed that actually we didn't have a reservation! I was concerned after not receiving a confirmation, and got in touch with them, only to be told that in fact they had not updated their online calendar at the time of our reservation and were already booked. I strongly suspect they later received a booking request for a stay longer than ours, and decided to take that instead. So we ended up in the stressful situation of trying to find something similar for a bank holiday weekend, four days beforehand. We were unable to find anything like it, and our weekend was spoiled.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakelow, Owner at Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
I have been very undecided as to whether or not to respond to this malicious review. However, as it is so misleading I thought I should:
- There was only ever a Provisional booking as when guests book online they receive the following automated response: Thank you for your booking request, we will review your request and will contact you shortly to confirm the booking. Please note that all bookings are provisional until confirmed in writing.
- Even though card details were given the transaction was never activated so the holiday was not paid for. I had taken a telephone booking and payment earlier that day, before I had a chance to alter the availability listing the Provional online booking was noted. I informed this person that I could not confirm their booking, however I did give them the details of another 5 star self catering business who may have availability as they had only just opened.
- This was a late availability booking so the provisional booking was made only a couple of days previous – so the comment “Last minute let-down” is again malicious as it had only been provisionally booked a few days before.
- When the online booking was made the person would have seen that there were only 3 nights available as the Mon – Fri had been booked for some time – again a very malicious comment re us taking a longer booking.
Steve Ogan - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

On arrival we received a wonderful, warm welcome from Steve; nothing was too much trouble for him. The cottage was magical. It was warm, (we were kept well supplied with logs for the fire), cosy and romantic. The table was beautifully laid with a fantastic welcome basket there for us, including eggs "from the girls". The entire cottage was spotlessly clean and the bed so comfortable, with really good quality bedding. We loved looking at the stars from the overhead window.
Even in February there are lots of things to see and do in the beautiful area but we were drawn back to the peace and beauty of the cottage where we enjoyed our evening meals with a well equipped kitchen. There is a good DVD library as well as ice cream to enjoy when watching! We are looking forward to our return.
If you want a complete break in the Peak District, with walking from the door and first class accommodation look no further than Blakelow Farm Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Blakelow cottages is a fantastic place to stay. Our weekend started by being introduced to Steve who is a lovely guy and instantly made us feel welcome, We stayed in candle cottage and were blown away by the attention to detail, style and atmosphere of the place. All weekend we were pampered (indulging in the complimentary welcome hamper provided by Steve) and relaxed and didnt once think about work!

I couldn't recommend this place enough and I urge everyone to try it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkiralfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Our second stay at Blakelow. As soon as your arrive Steve makes you feel so welcome. As you walk through the cottage door it literally takes your breath away. Steve's attention to detail is exceptional and the welcome hamper so thoughtful. Last time we stayed in Christmas cottage which has a wow factor - it was summer time and there was so much to do and see within a short drive. This time we stayed in Candle cottage and yes another wow factor, it is so cosy and romantic. Although our stay was in winter there were still plenty of places to go but it is so easy just to stay put and relax. The girls (Blakelow's Hens) always produce such tasty eggs, we savoured every last morsel. In Candle cottage we laid in bed looking out of the overhead window - the stars were so bright you felt you could almost touch them, fantastic. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveaduck2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We arrived in the snow and it continued could not use the car so we walked every day in the snow which was cold but beautiful. It was useful having a couple of villages near by
Steve was a great host and we were well looked after.The cottage was everything we hoped and was very clean classy and welcoming ,with everything you could need a bonus was all the goodies Steve had organised.We could not leave on our departure day because of the heavy snow so we were snowed in for an extra day which was not a problem in such a beautiful place.We have found somewhere special and will return

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpindlesCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

We returned to Candle Cottage at Blakelow Farm for our first wedding anniversary having had such a wonderful time there for our honeymoon. This time we could only stay for three nights but it was an amazing holiday. Steve gave us a fantastic welcome as ever and we settled in immediately. The new sofa is a great improvement (the leather one looked gorgeous but this one is easier to lounge around on!) Due to cold weather and a husband with bronchitis we spent most of the holiday in the luxurious surroundings of the farm. With an extensive DVD library, log burning stove and fully equipped kitchen we has everything we needed and more.
Can't wait for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing