We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in Candle Cottage which has been fitted out to a very high standard. It is spotlessly clean. Steve is a very gracious host, always there to help if needed: we were very impressed with the courtesy and speed with which he despatched an item we had left behind.

The cottages are well located which, along with their overall ambience, makes for a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday at candle cottage and already wishing I had booked two! Steve was so friendly and has simply made these cottages stunning, from the gorgeous bd linens to the luxury towels and bathrooms the finishings on these cottages really make them five start.

Absolutely amazing place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rombo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Probably the best holiday cottage ever. Exquisitely furnished and decorated. Equiped with every imaginable item that anyone could require. Bed so comfortable with beautiful bed linens. Nicest suprise of all was gift hamper with chocs, wine, biscuits and the cutest teddybear. The location is superb, rural but within a few miles radius of some wonderful N.T. and privately owned properties such as Chatsworth. Matlock and Buxton also very close as is Crich Tramway museum. Cottage had plenty of information available about surrounding areas also books magazines, cards puzzles and DVD's. There was milk and fresh bread waiting for us and fresh eggs from the pet hens whole experience just brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoiraHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we have just returned from a wonderful week in Candle Cottage. I can't think of a single negative point. Steve has a wonderful set-up complete with hen gently tapping on the door to beehives and a pig!
The Cottage was a delight, very romantic and great attention to detail with thoughtful interior design.
We did some walks, thoughtfully provided in a folder and my husband loved poking around in the log fire.
We will return as Derbyshire as more to explore and we just loved the cosiness of the cottage and it's wonderful position high in the hills.
Helen and Michael B - Leeds

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have just returned after one week in Christmas Cottage. This has to be one of the most fabulous cottages in the UK and it is immaculately clean, wonderfully furnished and very well equipped.

The cottage has two bedrooms and a shower room / toilet upstairs and a bathroom / toilet downstairs. The sitting room is stunning with far reaching views to Chatsworth House and a wood burning stove which makes it incredibly cosy and welcoming.

The kitchen is top quality and opens onto a private terrace with table and chairs and views of the surrounding countryside.

The farm is situated on the top of the hill so the views are magnificent and one can walk many routes from the front door - the Limestone Way passes the drive! Many of Derbyshire's attractions are less than 30 minutes drive; Dovedale, Chatsworth, Haddon, Tissington, Kedleston etc - we even went to the Opera House at Buxton one night!

We already miss Blakelow with the chickens that visit the door each tea-time and Tyson the pig in his own field! I would recommend this 100% to anyone seeking peace and relaxation in luxurious accomodation - I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Christmas Cottage but they all looked equally as stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed in Candle Cottage for four nights and will definitely be returning. Everyting was
first-class - the welcome from Steve, the wonderful hamper, the decor - we couldn't
have asked for anything more.

Magnificent!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuildfordMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Well, I couldn't tell you what the cottages are actually like, as we never got to stay there. I booked a long weekend online, using my credit card to secure the reservation, however, only four days before we were due to arrive, we were informed that actually we didn't have a reservation! I was concerned after not receiving a confirmation, and got in touch with them, only to be told that in fact they had not updated their online calendar at the time of our reservation and were already booked. I strongly suspect they later received a booking request for a stay longer than ours, and decided to take that instead. So we ended up in the stressful situation of trying to find something similar for a bank holiday weekend, four days beforehand. We were unable to find anything like it, and our weekend was spoiled.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakelow, Owner at Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

I have been very undecided as to whether or not to respond to this malicious review. However, as it is so misleading I thought I should:
- There was only ever a Provisional booking as when guests book online they receive the following automated response: Thank you for your booking request, we will review your request and will contact you shortly to confirm the booking. Please note that all bookings are provisional until confirmed in writing.
- Even though card details were given the transaction was never activated so the holiday was not paid for. I had taken a telephone booking and payment earlier that day, before I had a chance to alter the availability listing the Provional online booking was noted. I informed this person that I could not confirm their booking, however I did give them the details of another 5 star self catering business who may have availability as they had only just opened.
- This was a late availability booking so the provisional booking was made only a couple of days previous – so the comment “Last minute let-down” is again malicious as it had only been provisionally booked a few days before.
- When the online booking was made the person would have seen that there were only 3 nights available as the Mon – Fri had been booked for some time – again a very malicious comment re us taking a longer booking.
Steve Ogan - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing