We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT AGAIN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

I couldn't have asked for anything better than what I received, the cottage was lovely with excellent decoration and little touches to make it even more cosy. With 6 inches of snow on the ground outside it was amazing, a little difficult to get to with the snow but I was kept up to date right up to the front door by Steve which was great. With views across the valley, fresh peak district produce such as eggs, butter etc, the log burner crackling in the back ground and the welcome hamper on arrival, the only word I can use to describe it is PERFECT. With the owners willing to do that little bit extra to make things extra special, Blakelow is top of my recommendations list and we will definately be back again! Thank You so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

From the minute we arrived and right through to our departure we were made to feel at home, being welcomed by Stephen on arrival. Candle Cottage was a beautiful and very cosy hideaway with the Derbyshire Dales and Peaks right on our doorstep. Everything that we could have possibly needed or wanted was in the cottage and even more items such as walking guides, books and DVD's provided in the Utility Barn. A fantastic holiday cottage setup by Stephen; Blakelow Farm laid eggs were even provided in our welcome hamper along with freshly baked bread, locally made butter, chocolates and shortbread. We couldn't give this resort anything other than our highest recommendation. It's just a shame we didn't have any snow during our stay (I guess that is out of Stephen's control to organise!). Everything you could possible want from a holiday in unspoilt UK countryside. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishermans_Friend_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Thank you so much to Steve who helped to make our weekend away amazing.The attention to detail in the cottage was brilliant,we felt so at home we only ate out once.The whole place was lovely, the cottage was immaculate and had a welcome hamper upon arrival and fresh eggs from the hens.We went on long walks and came back to the cottage and made full use of the logburner.We would highly recommend the cottage to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambsRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Candle Cottage back in July when we got married at nearby Hartington Hall. It couldn't have been a more perfect romantic location for our honeymoon, and our host Steve helped to make our wedding day extra special. He kindly, without being intrusive, asked us whether we would like him to decorate the outside of the cottage for us. When we left for Hartington Hall in the morning, the doorway had been decked with ribbons and flowers, and when we returned in the evening it was also lit with fairy lights, which made it look magical. There was even a wedding gift and a card waiting for us on the table inside. The rest of our stay was just as perfect, from the gorgeous welcome basket on our arrival and the useful utility barn with its tasty frozen meals for when you don't feel like cooking, to the friendly resident farm animals. We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at Candle Cottage!

Room Tip: Candle Cottage is the perfect romantic cottage for couples.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in Cranberry Cottage but next time would gladly stay in any of the accommodations for two or four people on this beautiful property on Bonsall Lane near Winster. This was an extraordinary example of what we can only call "the uber cottage holiday experience". We have stayed in many cottages across England and Wales and Blakelow Farm and its proprietor Steve Ogan combine all the desirable elements and do each one to perfection. We drank in peace and quiet through every pore. Slept motionless in dreamy, noiseless comfort. We're as warm as we needed to be (which is saying something because we are from Barbados and we are used to being warm!) We had music, free WiFi and electronic media on tap. We had fun playing chef in our stylish, well equipt kitchen and relaxed in our cosy but downright elegant living and dining space. We did a couple of gorgeous walks starting from our cottage door, and there were literally hundreds more readily accessible from a short drive away. And of course there was Steve, the most helpful, thoughtful and empathetic of hosts....also reputed to be a wizard in the kitchen when doing dinners for guests by special request. We are saving that delight for our next visit!

Room Tip: They are all exquisite. If things like having a bath as opposed to a luxury shower in a wet room, o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for the second time in Christmas Cottage. The first time was wonderful and one always wonders whether the second time will be as good - it was!

Blakelow Farm is immaculate and deserves all of its high ratings. The cottages are simply stunning and contain everything which you will need for the perfect week away! I would like to say that it is like home but it's actually better - we didn't want to leave!

Christmas Cottage has an amazing view down the dale towards Chatsworth House in the distance. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed two breakfasts outside on our private terrace which overlooks the surrounding fields.

The cottage was very clean and is equipped to a very high standard. The owner goes the "extra mile" with finishing touches - a welcome hamper of local produce and a teddy bear, instructions on how to light the wood burning stove, bathrobes and even a change of all towels mid-week.

Location is perfect - so many attractions are within a 45 minute driving radius - Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Crich Tramway Museum, the Monsal Trail, the High Peak Trail, Peak Rail and Carsington Water!

Very highly recommended - its better than most 5 star hotels!

Room Tip: All cottages look perfect, but Christmas Cottage is the only one with an upstairs shower and toilet...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
13.8 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing