We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cottage Above and Beyond.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked "Christmas Cottage " online, using both the recommendations on TripAdviser and also the very good Blakelow Farm website. We kept our fingers crossed - hoping that it would look something like the pictures that were in the brochure and that it would meet our expectations....after spending a wonderful week there.......I can honestly say that it surpassed our expectations and that it is the best Holiday cottage we have ever, ever stayed in......anywhere!
Arriving on a rainy and windy August night at 10pm directly from Manchester Airport we were met as soon as the car arrived in the driveway by Steve, who assisted us with our copious luggage and got us settled in. The welcome basket and fridge containing basic provisions was a lovely touch, and our request for firm pillows for the main bedroom was also met.
Christmas cottage is beautiful, with fantastic views across to Chatsworth and a secluded patio area overlooking the garden and fields beyond. The quality of everything in the cottage is of the highest standard, whether it be the bathrobes, crockery or even the outside chairs!
Steve as host is attentive, available but also discreet. He even apologised about cutting the grass in case it spoilt the tranquility of the place......and said he could do it later! The are lovely touches everywhere, like a picnic bench at the top of the field - with a pathway cut through the long grass so that you could easily walk up. A well stocked DVD library and outdoor games for when the weather is good.
Did I mention the peace.....aaahhhh! So quiet and tranquil - not even the distant thunk of a farm generator which you usually get with a country cottage.
There is so much to see and do in the area, be it grand houses like Chatsworth or Haddon Hall, plague villages (!), Go Ape in Buxton or general walks. There is a good pub rambling distance away, and The Fountain cafe in Bonsall Village which does a good breakfast if you don't fancy cooking. Did we mention the chickens.....they were a hoot and the best guard chickens we have ever seen!
We honestly didn't want to leave - and we do plan to return. As there is also a single occupancy cottage it would be a great place to visit alone.

Room Tip: Christmas Cottage has a wonderful view across the valley, an upstairs shower room with loo and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fabulous relaxing weekend in a wonderful property, in a picture-perfect location. Very nice welcome from Steve and the hamper was a lovely treat, filled with yummy goodies - and much appreciated after the drive. Very clean in all rooms, with amazingly comfy beds (we slept 10 hours!), total peace and quiet, we couldn't bare to leave. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I couldn't have asked for anything better than what I received, the cottage was lovely with excellent decoration and little touches to make it even more cosy. With 6 inches of snow on the ground outside it was amazing, a little difficult to get to with the snow but I was kept up to date right up to the front door by Steve which was great. With views across the valley, fresh peak district produce such as eggs, butter etc, the log burner crackling in the back ground and the welcome hamper on arrival, the only word I can use to describe it is PERFECT. With the owners willing to do that little bit extra to make things extra special, Blakelow is top of my recommendations list and we will definately be back again! Thank You so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

From the minute we arrived and right through to our departure we were made to feel at home, being welcomed by Stephen on arrival. Candle Cottage was a beautiful and very cosy hideaway with the Derbyshire Dales and Peaks right on our doorstep. Everything that we could have possibly needed or wanted was in the cottage and even more items such as walking guides, books and DVD's provided in the Utility Barn. A fantastic holiday cottage setup by Stephen; Blakelow Farm laid eggs were even provided in our welcome hamper along with freshly baked bread, locally made butter, chocolates and shortbread. We couldn't give this resort anything other than our highest recommendation. It's just a shame we didn't have any snow during our stay (I guess that is out of Stephen's control to organise!). Everything you could possible want from a holiday in unspoilt UK countryside. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishermans_Friend_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Thank you so much to Steve who helped to make our weekend away amazing.The attention to detail in the cottage was brilliant,we felt so at home we only ate out once.The whole place was lovely, the cottage was immaculate and had a welcome hamper upon arrival and fresh eggs from the hens.We went on long walks and came back to the cottage and made full use of the logburner.We would highly recommend the cottage to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambsRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Candle Cottage back in July when we got married at nearby Hartington Hall. It couldn't have been a more perfect romantic location for our honeymoon, and our host Steve helped to make our wedding day extra special. He kindly, without being intrusive, asked us whether we would like him to decorate the outside of the cottage for us. When we left for Hartington Hall in the morning, the doorway had been decked with ribbons and flowers, and when we returned in the evening it was also lit with fairy lights, which made it look magical. There was even a wedding gift and a card waiting for us on the table inside. The rest of our stay was just as perfect, from the gorgeous welcome basket on our arrival and the useful utility barn with its tasty frozen meals for when you don't feel like cooking, to the friendly resident farm animals. We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at Candle Cottage!

Room Tip: Candle Cottage is the perfect romantic cottage for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing