We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful luxurious hotel we have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful luxurious hotel we have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been staying at Blakelow Farm cottages for 10 yrs we go every year for my birthday I would never stay anywhere else I feel so relaxed and pampered there. We have stayed in Candle and Christmas cottages both are totally gorgeous, perfect for a romantic weekend. Steve is the perfect host and really looks after you. The location is amazing in summer or winter close to all the major attractions, Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Lady Bower, Bakewell and much more. You WILL NOT be disappointed when you stay you will be if you don't! Can't wait to go again this year and celebrate our 10th year of going :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesslehairfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a week's stay in Cranberry Cottage which is stylishly decorated and furnished, and welcoming. All the rooms are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped - including fresh eggs from Steve's own hens.

The Welcome pack which includes biscuits, chocolates, and 'Blakelow Bear' was much appreciated.

Blakelow Farm is a good base for exploring the Peak District and has wonderful views.

Steve is a charming host and carried our bags for us on arrival.

Overall a very relaxing stay in a lovely cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NB_Kent42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you are looking for a self catering holiday with an extra special touch - I cannot imagine you finding anywhere better than Blakelow Farm. We have just returned from a week in Candle Cottage; truly the most romantic of these luxury converted properties, which include cottages suitable for anything from one to 4 geusts. The owners have been running Blakelow Farm as holiday accommodation for about 10 years now and they really know how to make a holiday perfect....when you arrive there is a welcome pack with fresh bread, milk, butter, chocolates, biscuits, eggs laid by the hens who live here at Blakelow Farm, and a snifter of sherry in an attractive decanter to tempt your appetite. Kitchen facilities are top quality for those who like to cook in - for those who don't there is comprehensive information about good local pubs and restaurants to visit. In your cottage you'll find a key to a little outhouse which is well stocked with fresh eggs, sausages, bacon(from their own pigs), luxury toiletries, books, DVD's and useful leaflets about local attractions.
There is too much to praise about Blakelow Farm to mention it all here....all I can say is if you are thinking about a self catering holiday in the Peak Districk don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the bouquet of herbs in the kitchen to the table laid with candlesticks and flowers every detail has been thoughtfully and carefully taken care of. You have your own terrace and feel very private, Steve welcomes you with charm and a hamper that has eggs from his own chickens. The area has wonderful walks and is close to some of the finest country houses including my favourite Hadden Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked "Christmas Cottage " online, using both the recommendations on TripAdviser and also the very good Blakelow Farm website. We kept our fingers crossed - hoping that it would look something like the pictures that were in the brochure and that it would meet our expectations....after spending a wonderful week there.......I can honestly say that it surpassed our expectations and that it is the best Holiday cottage we have ever, ever stayed in......anywhere!
Arriving on a rainy and windy August night at 10pm directly from Manchester Airport we were met as soon as the car arrived in the driveway by Steve, who assisted us with our copious luggage and got us settled in. The welcome basket and fridge containing basic provisions was a lovely touch, and our request for firm pillows for the main bedroom was also met.
Christmas cottage is beautiful, with fantastic views across to Chatsworth and a secluded patio area overlooking the garden and fields beyond. The quality of everything in the cottage is of the highest standard, whether it be the bathrobes, crockery or even the outside chairs!
Steve as host is attentive, available but also discreet. He even apologised about cutting the grass in case it spoilt the tranquility of the place......and said he could do it later! The are lovely touches everywhere, like a picnic bench at the top of the field - with a pathway cut through the long grass so that you could easily walk up. A well stocked DVD library and outdoor games for when the weather is good.
Did I mention the peace.....aaahhhh! So quiet and tranquil - not even the distant thunk of a farm generator which you usually get with a country cottage.
There is so much to see and do in the area, be it grand houses like Chatsworth or Haddon Hall, plague villages (!), Go Ape in Buxton or general walks. There is a good pub rambling distance away, and The Fountain cafe in Bonsall Village which does a good breakfast if you don't fancy cooking. Did we mention the chickens.....they were a hoot and the best guard chickens we have ever seen!
We honestly didn't want to leave - and we do plan to return. As there is also a single occupancy cottage it would be a great place to visit alone.

Room Tip: Christmas Cottage has a wonderful view across the valley, an upstairs shower room with loo and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fabulous relaxing weekend in a wonderful property, in a picture-perfect location. Very nice welcome from Steve and the hamper was a lovely treat, filled with yummy goodies - and much appreciated after the drive. Very clean in all rooms, with amazingly comfy beds (we slept 10 hours!), total peace and quiet, we couldn't bare to leave. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
5.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star, luxury self catering holiday cottages Blakelow Farm in the beautiful Peak District National Park.We are the ideal location to explore the White Peak which is latticed with pretty villages. Our holiday cottages have an atmosphere of informal luxury - houseguests can experience a unique ambience of rich warmth and friendliness, in which the finer things in life can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing