We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently stayed at Christmas Cottage for a short break. Would happily have stayed longer (or moved in permanently). From the first foot through the door it was clear that this wasn't your standard holiday cottage - the owners are clearly interested whether their guests are comfortable have a good time. There are quality furnishings with everything you need; it's spotlessly clean, with lots of little extra's such as a welcome hamper, cosy dressing gowns, fresh eggs from their own hens, loads of maps / information etc. etc. We used the DVD library (not the usual free ones which come with the daily papers, but new & up-to -date ones which we hadn't seen before). Hardly used the car - did a few local walks (well sign posted, beautiful views). Can recommend the café in the next village, Bonsall - (think it was called The Fountain).The weather was good & we were lucky enough to see the view of Chatsworth from the lounge window. Overall, it was like staying with friends, in their beautiful home with them trying to make sure that you have a great time. Have already recommended & would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in circa 20 cottages across the peaks and this one without question was by far the best!! The attention to detail was outstanding and I couldn't find I single fault with any of the facilities, Steve and the girls (Aretha and Whitney the chickens) make the stay worth every penny. This cottage cluster is a MUST if you are looking to stay in the peaks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclean281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Despite living just over five miles away, certain things were getting to me at home, I was close to becoming unwell with stress so had to find some privacy, but not go off on a long trip. I am so glad I found this place!

Steve was a lovely host - there when you needed him (but not intrusive) and often helpful beyond the call of duty. My solo cottage (Chestnut) was immaculate and tastefully decorated; facilities were also superb. The view down the Derwent Valley to Chatsworth, Sir William Hill and the moors to the West of Sheffield is amongst the best in Derbyshire if you take the relatively easy walk up the nearby hill to see over the telegraph wires. I heartily look forward to returning, next time with company!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very friendly, but unobtrusive, welcome from Steve. Cottage was clean, very well appointed, warm, comfortable, in a very scenic location and is definitely amongst the best available. An example of how all holiday rentals should be run.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Christmas cottage (17-21 February). Fantastic comfort, warm welcome from Steve and everything in the cottage total class with top quality furniture, finishings etc.
We couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here over the new year ! The only thing we would complain about is the horrible wet weather! Which no one can do anything about.So we lit the fire and cozyed up In the beautifull cottage and watched the films which are provided. Can't fault anything about blakelow cottages . All done to a very high standerd! Have every thing you need and a lot more. The hampers are wonderfull, and the eggs are lovely, from the girls.
Thank you ever so much for all you did Steve.
See you soon. Michelle and Andy Cooper

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed a week at Blakelow cottages and to say the place is superb is an understatement. The Cottages are beautiful, the attention to detail is outstanding, steve is a wonderful host, the girls (chickens) were very talkative and fun, the countryside is stunning....you get the point:)
We couldn't recommend this place enough, me and my wife went for our 4th year wedding anniversary and it was a perfect getaway from our busy lives. We got to unwind in front of the log burner and also got to watch some films of which there is a large selection of. The welcome pack was a nice bonus, as was Blakelow bear.
If we could give more than 5 stars to rate this place we would.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing