We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cottages in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
BoltonUK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cottages in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Blakelow Cottages (Cranberry Cottage) for 6 days in mid May. The welcome we got from Steve on arrival was excellent, and the cottage was immaculate. It was well equipped, perfectly laid out, and very comfortable. The cottage is in a great location for visiting this bit of Derbyshire, with Chatsworth very nearby, and also close to Bakewell and Matlock.

The cottages are in a very peaceful location, with Steve and Phil's hens running around, and 4 pigs, some of whom seem to find their way into the freezer in the form of excellent bacon. There are also fresh Hens eggs to buy to make an excellent breakfast if that is what you fancy.

We would recommend Blakelow cottages without hesitation, and will be returning

Best bit - lunch at Charlies in Baslow. Worst bit? Trip to Matlock Bath - don't go there unless you want to ride the cable car, or you are a biker with a slot machine fixation and a hunger for fish and chips . . .

The rest of Derbyshire is stunning!!

Room Tip: If you want a cottage for 4 people, Christmas cottage is bigger and would give you more room, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JABBoltonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Blakelow Farm Cottages 6 years ago and after a discussion one evening about the best holiday cottage we had ever stayed in we decided to book Blakelow Farm Cottages again....we have just returned and can honestly say after staying in many cottages over the last 6 years, Blakelow Farm is still by far the best!
Stevens hospitality and an amazingly well equipped beautiful cottage ticked every box, and also ticked boxes we hadn't even thought of! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need; if you wanted to rustle up a culinary masterpiece it would be no trouble. We shopped at the Chatsworth farm shop, not the cheapest shopping, but fantastic food and great service and well worth the cost. We sometimes shy away from staying somewhere that's also the owners home, but Steve has just the right mix of making you feel very welcome, but also respecting his guests privacy. Sadly the weather wasn't good when we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful walks as much as we would have liked. The Bowling Green Inn in Winster and the Fountain Tea Rooms in Bonsall are both well worth the walk (even in the rain). We stayed in Candle Cottage; every detail is with relaxation in mind, so whatever your expectations you cannot fail but return home feeling relaxed and recharged. We have already rebooked to return in August and have a feeling it won't be 6 years before we book again!

Room Tip: Candle Cottage is a perfect romantic hideaway for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidM_SandyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was brought to Blakelow Cottages by my partner, Andy, as a belated birthday surprise weekend! And what a wonderful present! From the moment we pulled into the drive & Steve's genuine warm welcome, it was obvious this is indeed a very special place to stay!

We were in Cranberry Cottage which sleeps 4. The layout is very well done & as other reviewers have stated Steve has decorated & equipped the cottages to a five star standard!

The cottage has a lovely private deck - and given the fantastic weather we were so lucky to have, we put it to good use! The only visitors we had were the two lovely lady hens who liked to share whatever nibbles we were having on the terrace!

Steve helped Andy with all the other arrangements. Even confirming reservations at the great restaurants he had recommended as well as organising taxis for us each evening.

To offer holiday cottages to the high standard that Steve does, you have to love what you do & that is evident in the way you are treated whilst staying here! Steve felt there was a bit of an issue with the aroma in the cottage when we arrived - previous guests had obviously cooked a curry type supper the night before that had left a faint aroma - despite Steve's best attempts to eradicate it. We were not worried about it at all as it was only a faint smell - but returning back after dinner we found a complimentary pack of his home smoked bacon as way of apology! A lovely touch to show how proud & conscientious Steve is of his cottages.

The location is brilliant for exploring the Peak District - close to so many great things but a fantastic get away from it all, tranquil & luxurious setting. Can't wait to return & do more exploring!

Room Tip: Cranberry Cottage has the most private terrace I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from our fourth holiday at Blakelow and it is still fantastic. Since our last visit we have actually stayed in two other cottages in the "Premier Cottages" brochure, however Blakelow spoils you so much that other cottages are simply in a lower league.

What makes Blakelow different? The location is simply stunning, on a hill, way above the Derbyshire Dales with far reaching views to Chatsworth in the distance. There are pigs and hens. However the real difference is the attention to detail and quality given by Steve who owns and manages the cottages, unlike other locations he does not leave cleaning and maintenance to "the staff" and the difference really shows - nothing is too much trouble.

Again we stayed in the two bedroom Christmas Cottage which has an upstairs shower-room / WC as well as the best views towards Chatsworth, a log-burner and the most private outdoor deck. The cutlery and crockery are top-notch as are the fabrics and furnishings. If you like John Lewis this is the place for you!

If you love the outdoors as well as cosy, six star luxury, Blakelow will not disappoint. We really have not stayed in a better cottage anywhere and look forward to our annual return trips!

Room Tip: All cottages are fabulous, however Christmas Cottage probably has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Blakelow Candle Cottage for 1 week in April 2012 - whilst the weather was persistent this did not dampen our Hoilday. Steves attention to detail and helpfulness is second to none. The setting of the cottage lends to a truly romantic & relaxing holiday as does the cottage itself - steeped with wonderful luxurious & homely touches. I fell in love with the girls - Whitney, Aretha, Connie & Patsy and loved them greeting us at our door. Steven has obviously great knowledge of the local area - restaurants etc and very kindly drove us to Fischer in Baslow another example of the 5 star service you can expect to receive when staying at Blakelow. Upon arrival you are gifted with a welcome hamper including a bear, the bathrooms are fitted with lovely soft fluffy towels - fresh cotton sheets on the beds and robes. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thespoonerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was a last minute decision to go away for our anniversary and we were very lucky to find such a lovely place. The farm is set on its own, but you are not far away from Matlock and you have a view of Chatsworth down in the valley. Although the farm is set on its own, we were one of four cottages along with the owners house surrounding a small courtyard, so you didn't feel isolated, but it felt private. We stayed in Candle Cottage which is very cosy and well decorated. The welcome hamper was lovely especially the toy bear you are given! Everything is very clean and the dining table is set out beautifully for your meals. There is a walk to the top of the owners field set on a hill which is impressive. There is a bench at the top where, on a clear day, you can sit and admire the views. Both my husband and I were very impressed and hopefully will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just hot back from a long weekend staying in candle cottage for our first wedding anniversary. We had a lovely stay, everything was great and the attention to detail really makes the stay. Fresh eggs on arrival and bacon and sausages from the Blakelow pigs made for a delicious breakfast. We could have quite happily stayed in the cottage all weekend. Excellent views and very rural and peaceful but not far to drive to get anywhere yo visit. Loved the chickens pecking on the door in the morning for their breakfast too! Steve has a great manner and balance of making guests feel welcome without being intrusive and was there when you needed him. This was a really great place to stay and may make this a yearly occurrence!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star, luxury self catering holiday cottages Blakelow Farm in the beautiful Peak District National Park.We are the ideal location to explore the White Peak which is latticed with pretty villages. Our holiday cottages have an atmosphere of informal luxury - houseguests can experience a unique ambience of rich warmth and friendliness, in which the finer things in life can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing