We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Winter Wonderland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was our second stay at Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages (Christmas Cottage), but the first with our two teenage children. Once again we were treated to an absolutely marvellous experience. To be staying in Christmas Cottage on Christmas day with snow all around was a dream come true.
The attention to detail was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the goodies in the hamper we received on arrival.
The cottages are superbly situated, with plenty of local walks, interesting villages and attractions such as Chatsworth House nearby.
We cannot wait to return, to explore the Peaks and wallow in Steve and Phil's hospitality.
The McKale family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevnClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed in Candle Cottage, it has a serious WOW factor from the moment we stepped through the door already decorated for Christmas. We were made to feel welcome and at ease straightaway by Steve who even brought us some hot mulled wine when we arrived which was fantastic as it was freezing outside! On our last evening we had a meal in the cottage cooked for us by Steve and it couldn’t of been better. It finished off perfectly a wonderful 3 days.
It was the perfect location when my fiancé proposed in front of the fire on our first night made our stay so special.
We will definitely be returning to Blakelow Farm.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We chose Candle Cottage at Blakelow for our honeymoon and have just got home from the most amazing week. The farm is stunning and has all the facilities you could wish for and more. The cottages are beautiful and so luxurious - the welcome pack made us feel so welcome and pampered! The cottage has all you could need including log burning stove for when the weather turns! The farm's environmental credentials are admirable but still maintains the 5 star feel of a luxurious break. The area is fantastic and the farm is a stones-throw from Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth, Tissington and High Peak cycle trails and Hopedale. It is also a short drive from the North of the Peak District and the cities of Manchester, Sheffield, Derby and Nottingham. All in all we couldn't have asked for more, would highly recommend these cottages and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

From the moment we arrived, which saw a really warm and friendly welcome, to the moment we left, everything about this was perfect. The cottage (we stayed in Candle Cottage) was absolutely beautiful, and the setting was isolated and stunning, but only 5 mins drive from the nearest shops, etc.
It was the perfect place for me to propose to my girlfriend, and I the cottage is now a major part of that particular weekend.
We will certainly be going back too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sclare08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

From the moment we arrived at Blakelow Farm Cottages we were made welcome by the owner Steve. The peaceful location was stunning with views across to Chatsworth House.
We stayed in Cranberry Cottage which was immaculately decorated and had everything you could possibly need for a self-catering break.
Steve provided us with butter, milk, fresh herbs, eggs laid by his very friendly chickens and a luxury hamper.
There was ample parking, storage for bicycles and a book/DVD library for rainy days. For walkers, there were plenty of routes from the doorstep including the Limestone Way.
We wouldn't change anything about Blakelow Farm Cottages and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing