We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place for the Single Traveller”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Magical Place for the Single Traveller”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I was apprehensive about going on holiday alone for the first time but at Blakelow I needn’t have been. There is such attention to detail to make you feel welcomed and at home that I never wanted to leave.

Right from the very first time you enter the driveway and Steve is there to help you unpack and settle you in, you feel an amazing calmness about the place. He is there throughout your stay to check if there is anything you need and generally bring a smile to your face.

Chestnut Cottage, opened in 2010 for the single traveller, is a wonderful haven of cosy charm with all modern amenities on hand. The décor is classy and tasteful and there are high quality furnishings, as you would expect from such an establishment.

The welcome hamper is a fabulous touch to make you feel special – wine, chocolates, bread, cookies, butter and eggs from the hens – as well as having tea, coffee and milk waiting after your journey.

The location is great for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Matlock and the Peaks.

I would recommend Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages to anyone and I really hope that I will be able to go back one day myself.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furryferretderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Superb location, within easy travelling distance of the whole of the Peak District, ideal for walking and sightseeing. The cottage was so relaxing and well presented that you didn't need to leave. Steve is a superb host and his attention to detail is first class. Our 5th visit and we plan to go back next year. Steve does amazing special event meals for guests and the food is locally sourced and wonderfully cooked.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westage-on-sea Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks staying at Blakelow. We stayed in Cranberry cottage with our teenage son and my elderly mother stayed in Chestnut cottage. The place is perfect! The cottages are stunning and the location is fantastic. Steve is a great host and a big thanks to him for taking the time with my mum. Cottages have been decorated to an exceptionally high standard with everything that you could need and wish for. The arrival hampers are excellent and a welcome sight after a long journey. The whole place is definately 5 star and one of the best self-catering that we have stayed in. We will return! Once again thanks Steve for a lovely 2 weeks.

Turner family

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Our third visit to Blakelow, the last being over the New Year - a winter wonderland outside but cosy and welcoming inside.
This visit was better than ever and the weather mainly sunny and warm. On arrival the usual friendly welcome from Steve along with a delightful hamper; eggs from the farm's chickens and ducks; fresh flowers and fresh herbs for the Pimms!
Great visits out to the beautiful Peaks and Dales, Buxton, Bakewell, Criche Tram Museum and a quick visit to Meadowhall couldn't be resisted.
Self catering in the cottage is delightful as the facilities and dining area are so beautifully presented however this time we decided to treat ourselves to a meal cooked and served by Steve. The cottage was transformed for our last night into a 5 star restaurant and the food was to match - it really bowled us over. A shame the evening entertainment - the England match - was such a let down.
A memorable and very enjoyable week in Christmas Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed at cranberry cottage late April early May. Attention to detail was amazing, very much a 5 star cottage. The owners have thought of everything, so many lovely 'touches' around the cottage, a lovely welcome basked with wine, chocolates, bread, local butter and the best eggs we've ever tasted! Steve was very friendly, nothing is too much trouble, he even delivered the Sunday papers to our door! A perfect base to explore the peaks and it really doesn't matter what the weather is doing because the cottage is fabulously cosy. We will absolutely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Attention to detail was everything... It was so nice to arrive somewhere that someone had so thoughtfully prepared. We were staying for 3 nights in Cranberry Cottage, and to discover dressing gowns in both bedroom chest of drawers; a small amount of sherry in a decanter; a hamper that included a bottle of wine plus fresh bread, an Easter egg, biscuits and fresh eggs, milk and butter was wonderful. Everything was designed with our relaxation in mind. We have often 'done' self catering, but never to this standard. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSaxham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was our second stay at Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages (Christmas Cottage), but the first with our two teenage children. Once again we were treated to an absolutely marvellous experience. To be staying in Christmas Cottage on Christmas day with snow all around was a dream come true.
The attention to detail was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the goodies in the hamper we received on arrival.
The cottages are superbly situated, with plenty of local walks, interesting villages and attractions such as Chatsworth House nearby.
We cannot wait to return, to explore the Peaks and wallow in Steve and Phil's hospitality.
The McKale family.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevnClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
11.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing