We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing b & b !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

There is not much we can say about this place that hasn't already been said by previous reviews but can't not take time out to say just how wonderful The Old Shoulder really is, possibly one of the nicest b & b's we have come across. Steven and Julie have created a beautiful, boutique b & b, and are truly perfect hosts. Winster is a beautiful village and the two pubs within walking distance well worth a visit. The quality of service, rooms, breakfasts and general comfort can not be faulted in any way. The Peak District has many wonderful villages, and ask Stephen for his driving route, which takes you through Tissington and Longnor to name but a few which creates a perfect day of exploring via car. No doubt we will be back at some point, as a base for house hunting in this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!

Steven and Julie, thank you for the most wonderful stay, delicious homemade cake and scones, beautiful home/garden, delicious breakfasts and your lovely kind company!

Everything in the reviews is absolutely right, we booked after trip advisor recommendations and were not disappointed.

I would highly recommend the Old Shoulder of Mutton for the most fantastic time,Steven and Julie have an amazing knowledge of the local area, and are there to offer you advice, or just to leave you to it, to make the most of your stay.Don't forget to ask Steven about his Vintage car.... if you're lucky to stay when Steven is offering a day trip in his Vintage Car do not hesitate to say YES. It is the most wonderful day out, a once in a lifetime opportunity and what better way to see the fabulous views!!!!

What really stood out to us, is how relaxed we felt, a real home from home. You are lovely people!


We had such a wonderful honeymoon here.. :) thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAnderson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review - and for being our photographic models for our "Vintage Adventure Tours" which should be up and running next year. Didn't we have a great day? You will be pleased to hear that the Local Authority are very enthusiastic to get the old Ford registered for Private Hire - it will be the FIRST in the UK!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My mom and I travelled to Winster in July 2013 from Canada to celebrate her 60th birthday. My maternal grandmother was born in Youlgrave, not far from Winster, and we decided to visit the area she grew up in. Winster is a beautiful, historic village right in the middle of the breathtaking Peak District.

After arriving at the Old Shoulder of Mutton, Julie and Steven greeted us with a relaxing cup of tea and absolutely delicious cake. We sat in the back garden and enjoyed the sunshine and flowers. Our room (the one overlooking the garden) was fantastic - everything was in pristine condition. I am fairly tall and found that the slanted ceiling took a bit to get used to, but Steven did warn me that I may have an issue with it! I'm glad that we picked the garden room after all because the view was so nice.

I cannot say enough great things about Steven and Julie. Not only did they offer to make dinner reservations for the night of our arrival at a nearby restaurant, they also provided a great tour route of the Peak District that Steven, himself, designed. Perhaps my favourite memory is from when Steven took us up the clock tower to help wind the 300+ year old clock (see photos). What an experience! We had to climb up several ladders and levels, navigate through the bells (yes, real church bells!), and use our muscles to wind the clock. After successfully winding the clock, we went to the roof of the tower and saw the best view of Winster and the surrounding Peak District.

We will DEFINITELY be staying at the Old Shoulder of Mutton in the future when we visit England to retrace our ancestors' steps!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisakendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had 3 nights at this lovely place with its fantastic garden. The hosts offered to book our evening meals at local pubs and restaurants and even emailed us to warn us when their nearest local's chef was on holiday. They were able to advise our fellow guests about weather conditions for walking. We were able to come and go, and as we were attending a local wedding and evening reception, we didn't have to worry about late night returns. The breakfasts were great with eggs from the hens across the road and lovely bacon. We would certainly come again for the next family event. The B&B has a booster for phone signals - the village has poor reception otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights on our wedding anniversary. We were greeted warmly by the hosts who very kindly booked us a table for dinner at a nearby pub as we hadn't managed to organise this.

The village is really pleasant and a delightful escape from city living; and the walks in the surrounding countryside were very relaxing.

The rooms were full of characterful, chunky furniture and were spotless.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious and involved 2 courses and it took a good 12 mile hike to manage to walk it off.

I would definitely recommend this B&B, and the overriding memory is of the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medicmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent 3 fabulous nights at The Old Shoulder of Mutton. The owners are incredibly welcoming and have created something that is of a very high standard. We stayed in the big bath room and it was immaculate. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Can't really find a fault with this place very welcoming helpful hosts from organising dinner reservations to a route around the dales
They provided a great breakfast, clean rooms, comfortable beds a good shower, the little extras like bottles of water provided in the rooms were a nice touch.
They were knowledgable and informative providing useful information for our all too brief stay.
Nothing much to say really would happily recommend them and will hopefully return soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in a garden view room and while it didn't cause us any problems the sloping ceiling mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range: £122 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Shoulder Of Mutton Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing