We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly but warm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I may be writing this several months after our visit but the time has not diminished the memory of a really superb stay at the Old Shoulder!
The house itself is so welcoming. When we arrived on a snowy March late afternoon we were so pleased to find it felt so warm and homely..in fact we both remarked as we walked through the door that it felt like we were visiting friends! And how right we were, meeting Steven and Julie is just like seeing old friends again and they could not be more welcoming!
The room was so comfortable and Steven gave us loads of information on the village and surrounding areas.
We attempted to leave the village to go to a concert in Derby, but the snow defeated us and we retreated back to the Old Shoulder to thaw. It was my wife's birthday but we were very comfortable as the bottle of champagne we put in the fridge was chilled, and Steven and Julie had noticed and supplied a pair of champagne glasses!
Any way, their hospitality was superb as was the accommodation. We had a super weekend, meeting locals and enjoying walks in the snow. When it came time to leave Steven helped myself and my fellow guest Ian to dig our cars out!
Highly recommend this gem to you, we will be back!!
PS: fantastic breakfast!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Of all the wonderful reviews we have received - and we love them all - this one is very special. To hear that you still remember your stay so clearly and fondly after almost eight months is very rewarding. The weather was certainly challenging but good to hear that it was worth the effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Old Shoulder of Mutton for 3 nights at the beginning of October. Steve and Julie are excellent hosts, and their accommodation is beautiful. It's a wonderfully relaxing base from which to explore the local countryside. Steve gave great recommendations for dining, and he also gave us great tips on the house we're doing up (we went with the Karndean, Steve).

Room Tip: We had the garden room. Low ceiling. Beautiful bathroom and view. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you Amanda for taking time to write a review of the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It's also good to hear that you have gone with the Karndean - you just can't beat good materials - we've been very satisfied with it. Hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

stayed here for a wedding in august 2013. one of the best weekends of my life, and the experience at the inn was a huge part of it! Julie and Steven were such wonderful hosts, making us all feel completely at home. Julie ironed my dress for me as we were in a rush to get to the rehearsal dinner, and Steven brought the bridesmaids ice cream as we were hanging out in the dining area the night before the wedding. they were very helpful the day of the wedding, it felt like a home away from home. the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious! I wish I could go back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabeea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you Rabeea for your feedback. We all had a great time that weekend - the wedding preparations were great fun - and very hectic. It would be good if you do get chance to come back to the UK in the future for a more leisurely visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I visited The Old Shoulder of Mutton with three friends. We booked all three bedrooms for four nights for a cultural visit to Derbyshire. I had spoken to Stephen White (the owner) on the telephone several times and always found him pleasant and helpful.

He and his lovely wife Julie have been running this delightful B&B pretty much full time for the last two years having previously offered B&B on weekends only. The village is very pretty and their cottage offers guests a warm welcome.

Accommodation is in two double bedrooms (one overlooking the pretty garden) and one twin bedroom. Each bedroom is comfortably furnished and the bathrooms are lovely with all mod cons, showers and baths. There are good bath products and tea-making facilities in each bedroom. The beds are very comfortable and everything in the house is spotlessly clean. There is also a comfortable sitting room on the first floor for the use of guests. It has a small fridge for milk and we made use of it for our own items too. There are plenty of magazines to browse through and even rugs are provided should a guest feel chilly.

Steve and Julie cannot do enough to make their guests feel at home. They are a truly lovely couple and always on hand to offer advice about what to see and do in the area and to advise guests on the best routes to their destinations.

Breakfast here is excellent starting with tea and coffee, orange juice and followed by fresh fruit, cereals and granola. There is then a choice of full English breakfast items - all beautifully cooked and presented.

My friends and I had a most wonderful stay and cannot recommend this lovely place highly enough. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely but one of the doubles overlooks the pretty garden. The other double ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferstendik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this most comprehensive review. The place does work particularly well for groups booking all three rooms. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope there is enough here in the Peak District to persuade you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a fantastic time here when coming up from London for the weekend. Stephen was good enough to wait up for us after several accidents on the M1 meant we arrived very late. Julie's breakfasts are something else, made from locally sourced ingredients they are a great start to the day. Finally I recommend asking about the 'Peak District Driving Tour'. We decided to do the first 30 miles on the way home and stopped several times to take in the great scenery.

Room Tip: We had a loft room overlooking the garden which was lovely. It had an excellent shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks Ben for your excellent review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for keeping us up to date with your progress on the dreadful journey you had up to the Peak District. We trust it was worth the effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was at the Old Shoulder of Mutton in August 2013 with my bridesmaids for the weekend of my wedding as well as my wedding night. We had an absolutely wonderful experience- Julie and Steven were so welcoming and accommodating, going above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and felt right at home. They even prepared an impromptu (and delicious) meal for me late on the night before my wedding as I had missed dinner! The cottage is adorable and set in the very charming village of Winster. Everything in the house is in pristine condition. Rooms are well decorated, luxurious and comfortable. The breakfast every morning was delicious and there were so many options to choose from. I have absolutely nothing negative to say and would hands down recommend this lovely B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great- you can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you Carina for your review. It was indeed a most memorable weekend - especially all the excitement on your wedding day. We lost count of all the bridesmaids;~)) Great fun. We wish you both a wonderful time together and hope that you get chance to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a break in the Peak District. Stephen and Julie must run the smartest, most comfortable and friendly B&B in England. The house and accommodation is stylish and luxurious with everything needed to make a stay perfect. The welcome with oven warm cake and coffee was a brilliant touch and most welcome. Breakfast was a triumph of great cooking using really excellent local produce- we were recommended some great places to eat and interesting sights to visit. We can't wait to return and can heartily recommend the Old Shoulder as a base to explore the Peak District.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tmlb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

It is very rewarding for us to see people enjoying their stay at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. It is also good to see you getting the best out of the Peak District which has so much to offer. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
3.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
499 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range: £138 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Shoulder Of Mutton Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing