We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I decided to stay here for a little weekend getaway for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Our hosts Julie and Steven have a beautiful and welcoming home where nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are superb, comfy, cosy with lovely little touches, there is also a nice guest lounge too. Breakfast was a real treat cooked wonderfully by Julie and set you up for the day. Our hosts recommended we dine at Stones in Matlock at the time of booking, a fabulous little restaurant serving really excellent food which we also highly recommend. There was even a little anniversary surprise arranged by Steven and Julie for us at the end of our meal, a really thoughtful gesture. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, an outstanding B&B in a beautiful area

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It's good to spoil yourself for a special occasion, and Stones is a great place to do it. It's also good to hear that the Old Shoulder of Mutton and Stones go so well together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We always wait a while after a break or holiday so that our review is truly objective. Time certainly hasn't dulled our view that Steve and Julie's B&B is outstanding. Great initial welcome with tea and cake in the residents lounge which is unusual for a B&B. So difficult to chose the best bit; great hospitality, tasteful decor, lovely room (we had the extremely comfortable "big bath" bedroom) and spotless cleanliness. And then there is the breakfast! Fresh fruit, cooked to order full English and big table hospitality with other guests. Have already recommended to our friends and booked return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandBandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Well you certainly picked out the key things that we concentrate on to 'get it right'. We will make sure that it will all be as good for you for your next visit - not too long now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We chose the Old Shoulder of Mutton because of its rating and location which it fully lived up to. Great welcome on arrival from Julie and Steve with pot of tea and homemade carrot cake. Steve and Julie were excellent hosts. Great accommodation and breakfasts. Steve helped us with suggestions and map of where to go. He also recommended Stones in Matlock for celebration dinner which exceeded all expectations. Would have no hestiation in staying here again or recommending it to friends.

Val and David Baker from Crowthorne Berkshire

Room Tip: Would recommend Super King Size which we were in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Peak District is a beautiful place with lots of things to do. From the athletic, the challenging, even dangerous pursuits to just relaxing and getting away from the every day. A hot cup of tea and a piece of homemade cake is always a great start. Stones is a fantastic fit with the standards that we want to deliver but you do have to book well ahead to avoid a huge disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Really lives up to its ranking. Julie & Steven are lovely people and have restored what is a beautiful B&B. The breakfasts were excellent and the room was massive. Probably the best B&B we've ever stayed at.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HannahLauraSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

It gives us such a thrill to see that we are ranked #1 by Tripadvisor out of 290 B&B's in the Peak District. It is also a great joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We are lucky that it is a lovely old building that is easy to enjoy - we just have to keep up the standard. Thank you so much for the recommendations. Almost all of your family will have stayed with us by the end of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This B&B is just lovely - fab décor, spacious & stylish rooms, and lots of fab finishing touches such as homemade cake & coffee on arrival. If you are looking for a high calibre B&B with a warm welcome that goes above and beyond expectations then this is the place for you. Julie and Steven are excellent hosts and will endeavour to make your stay a perfect one.

Room Tip: Our room had the big bath which was fantastic - big enough to share!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the Peak District National Park - just on your doorstep! Sharing is good - especially a bath!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We chose the Old Shoulder of Mutton based on its #1 ranking. We were welcomed to our room with a pot of tea and a slice of cake by Steve. Breakfast was a dream - we had the full work seated at a communal table with the other guests. Steve provided us with a map and directions for a great 20K hike around the area including a liquid lunch in a nearby village pub. All in all a great couple of days when we never touched our car.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you Martin for taking time out to write a review of your stay at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. That was one heck of a long walk you did, but the variety is amazing. Fabulous views, pre-historic stone circle, two small villages (with pubs), dales, rivers, massive stone outcrops and even some good weather! Great to meet you both and we hope that you get the chance to do it all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are regular visitors to this part of Derbyshire, we love everything about it, it's easily accessible from all parts of the country but still unspoilt.

We chose this accommodation because of the amazing reviews and we weren't disappointed.
The room was immaculate, with hand made furniture and top quality refreshments and luxurious bathroom with quality towels, robes and toiletries.

Steve and Julie have renovated this former pub to the highest standards, retaining and restoring lots of original features. We loved the curved walls, latch doors and the massive inglenook with woodburner in the dining room.

We were welcomed with coffee and cake and Steve and Julie were the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and informative without being intrusive.

Breakfast was wonderful with excellent quality food cooked to your requirements. Fresh juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, choice of cereals and cooked breakfast. When booking I had asked if they could purchase me some lactose free milk, they were thoughtful enough to get me the lactose free yoghurt as well.

Steve booked a table for us at the local, the Bowling Green, it had a real country pub atmosphere with excellent locally produced food and well kept quality cask ales.

All in all a perfect weekend. Doubt our word? Try it yourself you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the end room with the super kingsize bed, it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK_KMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the quality of the refurbishment. We're proud of it. We are very aware that different people want different things from their stay. It's all about you - not us - so we try hard to accommodate special dietary needs - just let us know. We hope you get chance to return - you're not far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
8.3 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
996 reviews
7.7 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
294 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#6 of 160 in Peak District National Park
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
6.6 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
15.0 mi away
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Rambler's Rest Guest House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range: £123 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Shoulder Of Mutton Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing