We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience we would like to repeat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Shoulder of Mutton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An experience we would like to repeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Steve and Julie without doubt provide very comfortable and clean accommodation. What sets them apart is the way they make a stay at the Shoulder of Mutton an experience. From arrival, it was clear that their approachable and friendly nature was just right, providing information and support when required. to help take advantage of the many things to do in the local area.
During our stay our car broke down and Steve was a great help with advice and help regarding where to take it and where to hire a car so as not to lose too much time from our holiday.
Should we return to the area, this would be without doubt our first choice

Room Tip: We had the room with the lovely big bath, but from conversations with other guests, the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are a very long way from Cornwall, so it's good to hear that it was worth the journey. We hope the car made it back home. Thanks also for the Room Tip. Our three rooms are all very different but retain the same style and quality. We hope that you do get back to the Peak District - you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
214
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B for our 10 year wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed. The hospitality of Steve and Julie is second to non - starting with the pot of tea and carrot cake as soon as your arrive. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for the day which is good because there is so much to see and do in the area. We stayed in the room with the big bath and would highly recommend it. It was extremely comfortable and has all the mod cons you'd expect from a 5 star room - great selection of toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, bath robes and plenty of hot water to fill up the amazing bath!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay in the Peak District. As you say, there is so much to do in the area and we are well placed for most of it. Please don't leave it 10 years to your return ;~)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I decided to stay here for a little weekend getaway for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Our hosts Julie and Steven have a beautiful and welcoming home where nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are superb, comfy, cosy with lovely little touches, there is also a nice guest lounge too. Breakfast was a real treat cooked wonderfully by Julie and set you up for the day. Our hosts recommended we dine at Stones in Matlock at the time of booking, a fabulous little restaurant serving really excellent food which we also highly recommend. There was even a little anniversary surprise arranged by Steven and Julie for us at the end of our meal, a really thoughtful gesture. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, an outstanding B&B in a beautiful area

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It's good to spoil yourself for a special occasion, and Stones is a great place to do it. It's also good to hear that the Old Shoulder of Mutton and Stones go so well together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We always wait a while after a break or holiday so that our review is truly objective. Time certainly hasn't dulled our view that Steve and Julie's B&B is outstanding. Great initial welcome with tea and cake in the residents lounge which is unusual for a B&B. So difficult to chose the best bit; great hospitality, tasteful decor, lovely room (we had the extremely comfortable "big bath" bedroom) and spotless cleanliness. And then there is the breakfast! Fresh fruit, cooked to order full English and big table hospitality with other guests. Have already recommended to our friends and booked return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandBandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Well you certainly picked out the key things that we concentrate on to 'get it right'. We will make sure that it will all be as good for you for your next visit - not too long now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We chose the Old Shoulder of Mutton because of its rating and location which it fully lived up to. Great welcome on arrival from Julie and Steve with pot of tea and homemade carrot cake. Steve and Julie were excellent hosts. Great accommodation and breakfasts. Steve helped us with suggestions and map of where to go. He also recommended Stones in Matlock for celebration dinner which exceeded all expectations. Would have no hestiation in staying here again or recommending it to friends.

Val and David Baker from Crowthorne Berkshire

Room Tip: Would recommend Super King Size which we were in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Peak District is a beautiful place with lots of things to do. From the athletic, the challenging, even dangerous pursuits to just relaxing and getting away from the every day. A hot cup of tea and a piece of homemade cake is always a great start. Stones is a fantastic fit with the standards that we want to deliver but you do have to book well ahead to avoid a huge disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Really lives up to its ranking. Julie & Steven are lovely people and have restored what is a beautiful B&B. The breakfasts were excellent and the room was massive. Probably the best B&B we've ever stayed at.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HannahLauraSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
It gives us such a thrill to see that we are ranked #1 by Tripadvisor out of 290 B&B's in the Peak District. It is also a great joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We are lucky that it is a lovely old building that is easy to enjoy - we just have to keep up the standard. Thank you so much for the recommendations. Almost all of your family will have stayed with us by the end of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This B&B is just lovely - fab décor, spacious & stylish rooms, and lots of fab finishing touches such as homemade cake & coffee on arrival. If you are looking for a high calibre B&B with a warm welcome that goes above and beyond expectations then this is the place for you. Julie and Steven are excellent hosts and will endeavour to make your stay a perfect one.

Room Tip: Our room had the big bath which was fantastic - big enough to share!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the Peak District National Park - just on your doorstep! Sharing is good - especially a bath!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
5.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.5 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Old Shoulder of Mutton
Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Shoulder Of Mutton Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing