We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staying at the Old Shoulder of Mutton is much more than a bed for the night: the accommodation is comfortable, high quality and immaculately clean but it is the thoughtful service, attention to detail and touches of indulgence that make it extra special. Julie and Steven offer a welcoming home and a wealth of local knowledge to enable their guests to get the most from their stay. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the single large breakfast table and guest lounge offer opportunity to share experiences and enjoy the company of fellow guests. Our visit was memorably perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for your great review - and photos! You have identified the essence of what we offer - this is our home and our guests are welcome to stay with us. We want you to have a relaxing time and to do the things that will entertain you, that's why we provide loads of information in advance of your stay so that you can have a plan and not waste your valuable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
218
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a 3 night stay at the Old Shoulder of Mutton, in the beautiful village of Winster.

The accommodation is just wonderful! Our room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, with the little touches making it the best B&B we've ever stayed at e.g. chocolates in our room, bottled water everyday, amazingly fluffy dressing gowns, great products in the bathroom, fantastic bath & shower (I could go on!).

Breakfast is fantastic - exotic fruit salad freshly prepared everyday, home cooked 'Full English' or Eggs Benedict, juices, cereals, toast, tea, coffee....more than enough to set you up for the day. Also, all ingredients are locally sourced and come from a nearby farm shop.
Steve & Julie were so welcoming and perfect hosts - offering us help with our luggage on arrival and providing us with Tea/Coffee with cake in the gorgeous 'cottage garden' to the rear of the property. We could come and go as we pleased without feeling we were 'disturbing' anyone, and they were always on hand for advice - providing us with a great walk and also a beautiful 'scenic driving route'.

I would thoroughly recommend the Old Shoulder of Mutton - Five Big Shiny Stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKatFishwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I want to stay there! ;~)) We do try to keep it local - even down to Julie's award winning marmalade! We do hope that you get the chance to return to Winster and the Old Shoulder of Mutton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Absolutely amazing stay at Steven and Julie's beautiful home. Tranquil and relaxing, we couldn't have chosen a better Bed & Breakfast. Steven & Julie were wonderful and extremely welcoming and helpful. The room and bathroom were immaculate with fresh flowers displayed throughout the house and in the room. The view from our room was just incredible and the garden was so beautiful. We stayed for two nights but I so wish we could have stayed longer and taken a guided tour in Steven's vintage car. Very short drive to Haddon Hall & Chatsworth House. Everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilinka_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
It was good to have you stay - and the first stop on the first visit to the UK for some of you. It's difficult for us to imagine that the other guests from the US at the same time lived 2700 miles from you. So pleased we gave the right impression of our beautiful country. Thank you also for the great photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had such a great time at this beautiful B&B! Steven and Julie made us feel like we are old friends. Everything about The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been done with a great amount of care, including the detailed booklet of local restaurants and nearby places to see. It was fun sitting in their beautiful garden drinking tea from Julie's lovely dishes from the Darby pottery. We were lucky enough to take a tour in Stephen's 1929 Ford...what a special experience! We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Stone's in Matlock and delicious fish and chips at the local pub. We will definitely be back on our next visit to England!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpoznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Old Shoulder of Mutton. I guess when you travel almost 6000miles to get here then you deserve to have a great time. You certainly did a lot in your brief stay with us and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed you trip out on you Vintage Adventure Tour - we had a lovely time around the White Peaks. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK and look forward to your return trip. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A wonderful welcome. Exquisite and unusual rooms. Extremely comfortable and our hosts were delightful. We went with 4 friends and made good use of the comfortable sitting room: what a bonus. Don't delay. Book today. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ARetiredTeacher_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great feedback - we really appreciate it. You took best advantage of the guest lounge. It is brilliant for groups as a meeting place before going out, or somewhere to chat and pass the time of day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's always nice to write a good review but even better to write an equally good repeat one. Julie and Steven were again most welcoming and maintain their very high standards of accommodation, cleanliness, hospitality and of course a wonderful breakfast. Steve is a vintage taxi driver (the car that is ;-) exploring the little known scenic roads in the area so be sure to ask him about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandBandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was great to see you both again for your second stay this year. You certainly picked a wonderful weekend to coincide with the Winster Secret Gardens. It's good to hear that your clock collection is growing - I may have to get another for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There are many reviews here talking about the super accommodation, attention to detail, charming hosts and excellent breakfasts so I will not reiterate that other than to say it's all true! Instead I will focus on what a fantastic family holiday we had taking part in the activities Stephen pointed us towards. On our first day we took a tour in his vintage Model A Ford around the southern peaks. This was lots of fun and a fantastic way to see the area and benefit from Stephen's local knowledge - highly recommended. On another day we went clay pigeon shooting at a nearby farm, again great fun and with excellent tuition. Our final organised activity was a super guided walk up Mam Tor. An excellent holiday enjoyed equally by parents and two teenage sons!

Room Tip: The room with the big bath is super.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pinetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We are delighted that you took full advantage of the special events that we have selected for our guests - things that you would not normally do. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your Vintage Adventure Tour and hope that you get chance to write another Tripadvisor review for the trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
5.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
3.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,668 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Old Shoulder of Mutton
Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Shoulder Of Mutton Winster, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing