We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place - lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mary B
1 review
“Great place - lovely stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Warm welcome from the owner; everything tidy and clean. Even good weather provided. Certainly hope to stay again and would recommend to friends wanting to stay in the Peak District.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage itself and location
Liked least: Nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
667hayley...
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway with baby”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful few days at The Old Barn. The layout was perfect for an extended family break, with a separate room for our five-month-old baby meaning we could all relax and enjoy our evenings once he was asleep. Sharon was so helpful in the run-up to, and during, our stay, and generously offered for us to check out at any time on our final day, effectively enabling us to have an extra day's holiday! Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Patchy wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
586bernad...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous Christmas in a fabulous barn!”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband, our two children and my sister spent a wonderful Christmas at The Old Barn. Sharon kindly provided us with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree and baked us a most delicious lemon drizzle cake. The Barn is tastefully decorated with all amenities. It is located in a very pretty village not far from the lovely town of Bakewell, whose tarts are delicious, so well worth a visit. We enjoyed some lovely local walks which were perfect to help all the festive food go down. Sharon is a really lovely lady who was very happy to answer all my queries and we had a really lovely stay. We hope very much to return.

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeLeics
Leics
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the old barn in september
This was our second visit here...still fantastic.
From the warm welcome with homemade cake ( ps I want the recipe) to every attention to detail, you could not find a better choice of accommodation. We stayed as a couple for a quiet romantic retreat but equally it would provide a fabulous choice for a family getaway.
Perfectly situated on the outskirts of lovely Winster within walking distance of the local Bowling Green pub and other village amenities.
The location is perfect for walking, cycling or just a relaxing holiday.
You could not ask for nicer or more knowledgeable hosts. Their advice on where to go and what to do made our holiday so special.
We will return again!

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeke R
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend & Wedding”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were up in Derbyshire for a wedding in Matlock / Bakewell and this cottage was perfectly located in the middle of the two. Our party consisted on one couple and two friends.

Upon arrival we were met by the owner Sharon who was lovely and welcoming, even cooking a lemon drizzle cake for us! The cottage itself is very spacious, warm and light. It was even better in person than it looked in the pictures.
It was not hard to find as the directions given in the confirmation email were spot on and Sharons communication was also excellent.

There is a small well stocked shop selling local farm meats & eggs, as well as a local friendly pub where we ate on the first night.

I am looking forward to returning here in the future.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and space of the apartment.
Liked least: No phone signal!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I came to stay for a few days with our children for our honeymoon. The barn is spacious and private enough for a large family, and is wonderfully kept with all of the amenities required to keep lots of people of all ages entertained. The village has a well stocked shop and is only 10 minute drive to Matlock if you need more.
The hosts were welcoming and friendly from the moment we inquired to the time we left. They answered all of our questions very quickly and made everything very easy. They had even prepared a little welcoming package for us on arrival, which was a very sweet touch. They left us to ourselves, but we always knew we could ask if we needed anything at all - the perfect balance.
We all absolutely loved our stay. I could not recommend this place highly enough, whether for a large family like ours or a quieter retreat, its perfect for anybody wanting to spend some time relaxing in a beautiful part of the world. We would certainly stay here again if we were returning to the same place without a doubt.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely residence in a picturesque and relaxed village
Liked least: Having to ever leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMBear
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited the Old Barn in August 2015 and had a wonderful weekend. The cottage was exactly what we were looking for, beautifully maintained, cosy, clean with a lovely outside seating area. Although the cottage is attached to the owners house you don't feel overlooked at all, we felt genuinely welcome and it was great to have someone nearby to ask things! Freshly baked cookies and wine on arrival were very much appreciated and a really lovely touch :)

We had dinner at the Bowling Green which we all enjoyed and there is a lovely village shop a few minutes walk away. We took the bus into Bakewell from outside the barn which was very easy and only took around half an hour. Overall I would strongly recommend the Old Barn for a visit to the Peak District, Sharon was a wonderful host and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.