We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great springing off point for the peak district”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jengilmor...
Leeds
1 review
“A great springing off point for the peak district”
Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Beautiful cottage, well decorated and maintained with lovely gardens. Wasn't expecting the welcome basket but it was indeed welcomed! Fabulous shower in the main bathroom too and that must be one of the biggest baths I've ever seen!

We would certainly consider staying here again if we were revisiting the area as there were too many places we didn't manage to get to in our short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great overall experience
Liked least: Not much in the village itself
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelEdw...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A well situated luxurious cottage in the Peak District”
Reviewed 7 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Our 4night stay at Ivy Cottage certainly exceeded all our expectations. From organisation, to stay and through to our departure, Matt and Becky were great and nothing too much trouble. The standard of accommodation was luxurious and exceptionally clean. A beautiful cosy cottage, with a home from home style yet with a mix of modern and traditional design. The facilities were perfect for our needs (4 adults, 1 teenager, 2 youngsters and 2 babies). The location was perfect for short runs out, being near to Matlock, Chatsworth House and the heart of the Peak District. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Ivy Cottage or returning again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2011
Many Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage and its great to get feedback from our guests. It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Matt & Becky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anonymous...
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent facilities & good base for exploring Peak District”
Reviewed 29 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Really well equipped large house with spacious bathrooms (esp. main shower) plenty of room for younger ones to have a room or two to themselves. Welcome goodies were appreciated & the white wine chilled nicely in what later came to be known as the 'beer fridge'. Excellent service (linen, spare batteries, local tips etc) over our 2 week stay. Plenty of short / local walks to delightful pubs in nearby villages alternatively Winster itself has a public tennis court / football pitch just down the road, a real hit with our kids. This was our first visit to the area and there were loads of places to visit including, of course, Alton Towers...Leave yourself enough time to get everywhere as the roads, unsurprisingly, aren't that fast.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage with all mod cons. A hard to find gem.”
Reviewed 14 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Stayed here awhile back and would love to return. I keep checking the availability calendar for some dates that are free.

I stayed at the cottage with my son and daughter and my friend came with her daughter. We had plenty of space and it was ideal that we could all spread out and have our own room. One bedroom had an ensuite shower and the main bathroom was absolutely stunning and so luxurious. 5 star plus.

We did have a little TV trouble in the living room but Matt quickly came and sorted it out for us. Operator error as usual.

We were within easy distance to visit Chatsworth House and we found a great chippy in Darley Dale. We also visited Bakewell and the Eyam plague village museum.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valjo
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location Lovely, cottage average,”
Reviewed 8 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Ivy Cottage is ideally situated in the Peak District to have a lovely break away from everthing.
The cottage is well equipped and has everything that you would need, It is also however full of rules. The first thing that I noticed when I walked through the door, was a sign to say Remove Your Shoes- Surely this should be up to your guests?.
There was a least 5 No Smoking signs, along with numerous other rules dotted around the cottage.
I personally felt that the cottage was far to big and we only used two rooms in the downstairs area.
It took my husband two days to figure out how to use the fire-place, before this the rooms all felt cold.
We never used the garden room, as we were unable to get the TV to work.
Not exactly what you would expect from a cottage that cost over £600 ( plus £50 deposit) for a week.
People need to be aware that if they want to recieve their £50 deposit back, that they need to sacrifice a days holiday to clean the cottage from top to bottom.
Myself and my family cleaned the cottage to the best of our abilities, to be told that the bathroom was not cleaned well enough and they had to get the deep cleaners in, which resulted in the cottage not being ready for the next guests. ( Guests can not check in before 4pm anyway). I found this unbelivable as it not a huge bathroom and they never mentioned any other problems with the rest of the cottage.
I feel that it is a con to get a extra £50 out of the guests, and no matter how hard you clean Becky and Matt would look out for faults.
Myself and my husband are both pensioners and my mum is 88 years of age. I did have my daughter with me who had a sick little boy with her, we did our best and were made to feel inadequate and dirty.
Becky contacted me on the phone, and her attiude was abrupt, rude and downright upsetting.
Me and my family will not be returning and Ivy Cottage won't be getting recommended to anyone by myself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2011
Thank you for your comments. We thought long and hard before deciding that we were unable to refund this bond on Ivy Cottage, this is only the second time that we have ever had to do this in over three years of letting it. The entire cottage was left in such a filthy and unhygienic condition, particularly all 3 bathrooms/wcs, that we had to hire in an additional cleaner for the day to ensure that we had the cottage ready and in the usual impeccably clean condition that we present it in, for the next guests arriving later the same day. This additional cleaning cost left us unable to refund the bond. Whilst we do not expect our guests to spend all day cleaning the cottage, we do expect our guests to take care of the cottage and to leave it in a reasonable condition. I am afraid this was not the case after this stay.
Both arrival and departure times are clearly stated on both the booking terms and booking confirmation. As stated Ivy Cottage is a very large cottage and we therefore need the time in-between guests to prepare the cottage to the exceptional standard we present it in.
We leave a detailed information booklet in the cottage and we are contactable 24/7 during guests’ stays to answer any questions or difficulties guests may have with operating the cottages many facilities. However, if we are not asked for help or advice, then we cannot give it. We did ask on several occasions if you had everything you needed and you did not address any of your concerns with operation of the TV (one of 5 available in the cottage) or the gas fire to us. If you had then we would have been able to help.
We will continue to provide the highest quality of luxury accommodation at a reasonable cost and are satisfied by the feedback from our guests that this is not only achieved but also exceeded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2011
Many thanks for your great comments. We work very hard to provide a luxurious and relaxing stay at Ivy Cottage and it is very satisfying to get your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;