We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BoniScotl...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed in Ivy cottage with my partner for a short break and would highly recommend.
The owners Matt and Becky were very welcoming, friendly and informative.
The cottage itself was very clean and is beautifully and tastefully decorated.
The owners have though of everything and caters for all ages/members of a family staying there (games, toys for the kids)
All amenities very easy to use, the owners have developed a user guide for the cottage which is very useful. They also provide a wide range of information on the surrounding area ie places to visit, walks, maps etc.
Winster is only a small village with a local shop and two pubs, but places to eat and visit within a short drive.

Would recommend this cottage highly to all, we had a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Ipswich
1 review
“Excellent cottage that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely week. The location was ideal for accessing the south Peak District.
The cottage was cosy, beautifully furnished and very well equipped with plenty of room for the five of us to spread out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy w
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Peaks”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Starting with a very warm & friendly welcome from Becky, Ivy Cottage certainly lived up to our expectations, we were not disappointed. Situated in a lovely village central to where we wanted to go & see. It's a large cottage with plenty of space yet still feels cosy & homely, it was spotless, warm with everything we needed & more. The gardens were still very pretty & well kept. A welcome pack was lovely Thank You Matt & Becky especially the wine & choccies. Ivy cottage has to be the best holiday home we've chosen & we've stayed in lots over the years. An absolute Gem of holiday home. The glorious weather was a bonus !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveB56
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class holiday accommodation and destination”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Matt & Becky are friendly and efficient hosts making our booking, arrival and departure so easy and pleasurable.
Ivy Cottage is like no other self catering holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. The cottage is a huge space divided into beautifully appointed rooms each with their own cosy relaxing character. The beautiful solid wooden furniture throughout the cottage is of the highest quality and all the sofa's were so comfortable, it was difficult to know where to relax the most!
The kitchen had wow factor and provided us with every conceivable piece of equipment required. There was massive amounts of crockery, glasses and mugs etc all of the quality that made each meal we cooked feel special.

There is a huge full bookcase of books to chose from. Becky and Matt facilitate a brilliant book swap. They also provide an extensive amount of local information, walking books, maps and eating out recommendations. A good quality CD player/radio is available, Becky assures us that the music choice is all down to Matt! We would say good on ya Matt we loved it!! Well done on having a TV in almost every room as well!

Following our long walks, we really appreciated a soak in a bath big enough for two! The shower is huge with lashings of hot water, a truly relaxing experience.

Surrounding the property is the prettiest and fantastically maintained cottage garden. It was such a joy to look out onto, sadly due to our inclement weather, we didn't get to make use of the gas BBQ and beautiful terrace.

The cottage is located in a very special Peak village where the first ever National Trust property is located. We so enjoyed being able to complete long circular walks from the village. Although we didn't use the bus service it would appear that you could leave the car parked all week.
The two local pubs are warm and friendly, serving good local beers and great tasting decent pub food. They are not open all day and it is advisable to book for a meal at the Bowling Green.
Having a well stocked welcoming and friendly village shop and post office was a bonus too and a pleasure to use.
We would recommend this fantastic cottage for what ever size party, Becky and Matt have really thought of everything to make your stay feel special.
We really didn't want to leave this gorgeous 'home' and fantastic village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulie h
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and setting, very helpful owners”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and my family recently visited the beautiful village of Winster. We all had a fantastic break at Ivy cottage, which had everything we needed. It was clean, luxurious, with all the facilities and space we needed. The village has a lovely shop and pub and we enjoyed walking around. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful and eager to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.
Would highly recommend staying here and would definitely return if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Massive bath and luxury shower
Liked least: Honestly can't think of anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in an idyllic Derbyshire village”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I were looking for an old cottage, with full mod cons in a peaceful and relaxing village setting to share with friends. Ivy Cottage was perfect. We especially appreciated the powerful showers and deep bath, good quality furniture, wifi and the lovely basket of treats. The owners Matt and Becky are great -very professional, and friendly without being intrusive.
Winster is a quiet, friendly village with a community run shop selling good quality local produce.
There is loads to do around Winster. We were having a lazy holiday so we didn't do too much, however, we enjoyed Chatsworth House in nearby Pilsley, where there is an amazing farm shop with an excellent butchery and delicatessen, visits to Matlock and Bakewell (for bakewell tart flavoured ice cream - mmm!) and taking a walk to the Hermit's Cave at Birchover. Absolutely wonderful :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very professional - immaculate and well kept accommodation but with traditional feel
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all you could want easily found in the cottage
Liked least: leaving to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$78
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing