We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely christmas break in ivy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
119 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
blakey193...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely christmas break in ivy cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

me and my family enjoyed christmas week break in the lovely ivy cottage in winster , the cottage is well equipped with eveything you would want, plenty of space , every room in cottage beautifully furnished, fantastic bathroom especially walk in shower , we were made very welcome when we arrived, would stay again

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything about the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonie_ma...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It was a delight to revisit picturesque Ivy Cottage during Advent and catch up with good friends before Christmas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Another wonderful weekend in Derbyshire. We settled in on Friday straight from work and went to the nearby Bowling Green Inn for supper, local beverages and plenty of laughter. On Saturday we made bacon sandwiches in the well-equipped kitchen before taking an invigorating walk to Birchover via the Nine Ladies Stone Circle. In the evening we stayed in and enjoyed home cooked food and celebrated the 50th birthday of one our little group of 6.
All the Christmassy finishing touches made Ivy Cottage quite magical. It is comfortable, spacious and manages to retain it's old-fashioned charm despite the inclusion of all the modern appliances we are used to.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Christmas touches
Liked least: The mattress in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjelbould
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent Hosts, excellent attention to Detail, rooms very comfy, Not far from Chatsworth, Matlock, Bakewell. Shop & Post Office in the Village

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoniScotl...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed in Ivy cottage with my partner for a short break and would highly recommend.
The owners Matt and Becky were very welcoming, friendly and informative.
The cottage itself was very clean and is beautifully and tastefully decorated.
The owners have though of everything and caters for all ages/members of a family staying there (games, toys for the kids)
All amenities very easy to use, the owners have developed a user guide for the cottage which is very useful. They also provide a wide range of information on the surrounding area ie places to visit, walks, maps etc.
Winster is only a small village with a local shop and two pubs, but places to eat and visit within a short drive.

Would recommend this cottage highly to all, we had a very pleasant stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Ipswich
1 review
“Excellent cottage that exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely week. The location was ideal for accessing the south Peak District.
The cottage was cosy, beautifully furnished and very well equipped with plenty of room for the five of us to spread out.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy w
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Peaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Starting with a very warm & friendly welcome from Becky, Ivy Cottage certainly lived up to our expectations, we were not disappointed. Situated in a lovely village central to where we wanted to go & see. It's a large cottage with plenty of space yet still feels cosy & homely, it was spotless, warm with everything we needed & more. The gardens were still very pretty & well kept. A welcome pack was lovely Thank You Matt & Becky especially the wine & choccies. Ivy cottage has to be the best holiday home we've chosen & we've stayed in lots over the years. An absolute Gem of holiday home. The glorious weather was a bonus !

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveB56
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class holiday accommodation and destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Matt & Becky are friendly and efficient hosts making our booking, arrival and departure so easy and pleasurable.
Ivy Cottage is like no other self catering holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. The cottage is a huge space divided into beautifully appointed rooms each with their own cosy relaxing character. The beautiful solid wooden furniture throughout the cottage is of the highest quality and all the sofa's were so comfortable, it was difficult to know where to relax the most!
The kitchen had wow factor and provided us with every conceivable piece of equipment required. There was massive amounts of crockery, glasses and mugs etc all of the quality that made each meal we cooked feel special.

There is a huge full bookcase of books to chose from. Becky and Matt facilitate a brilliant book swap. They also provide an extensive amount of local information, walking books, maps and eating out recommendations. A good quality CD player/radio is available, Becky assures us that the music choice is all down to Matt! We would say good on ya Matt we loved it!! Well done on having a TV in almost every room as well!

Following our long walks, we really appreciated a soak in a bath big enough for two! The shower is huge with lashings of hot water, a truly relaxing experience.

Surrounding the property is the prettiest and fantastically maintained cottage garden. It was such a joy to look out onto, sadly due to our inclement weather, we didn't get to make use of the gas BBQ and beautiful terrace.

The cottage is located in a very special Peak village where the first ever National Trust property is located. We so enjoyed being able to complete long circular walks from the village. Although we didn't use the bus service it would appear that you could leave the car parked all week.
The two local pubs are warm and friendly, serving good local beers and great tasting decent pub food. They are not open all day and it is advisable to book for a meal at the Bowling Green.
Having a well stocked welcoming and friendly village shop and post office was a bonus too and a pleasure to use.
We would recommend this fantastic cottage for what ever size party, Becky and Matt have really thought of everything to make your stay feel special.
We really didn't want to leave this gorgeous 'home' and fantastic village.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing